We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not up to the mark”

Aldershot Military Museum
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Aldershot
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Not up to the mark”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

We visited the museum as the venue is included within the Hampshire Culture Pass and was in the general direction of our lunch venue we much enjoyed a number of months ago. So we did not read the reviews other contributors had taken the effort to write prior to our visit. If we had done so, we would had not bothered.

Therefore, prior to writing my review, I took time to discover that Simon H had expressed my thoughts almost exactly on 29/11/13. The only additional point I would make is the about 50% of the internal exhibits relate to the army and that very little or no information is given on the machinery stored within the barn or grounds, which makes for a very speedy visit!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    45
    8
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not really up to the mark”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Other reviewers have used phrases like "doesn't punch above its weight"and "non pretentious" which tend to damn the museum with faint praise. Sadly, although the museum does indeed have period charm and friendly staff, it will disappoint many, particularly children. Indeed it doesn't punch above its weight but the Aldershot Military Museum is at the home of the British Army and I think a lot of people will have pretty high expectations.

It could be better without a great deal of investment but needs a bit of ambition and imagination. There is a good collection of tanks and other vehicles for people to look at but people visiting museums in 2013 usually expect to be able to get inside and pull a few levers. There are a lot of interesting exhibits inside but very little of it is interactive. Much of the museum is rather dry for today's visitors.

I know it isn't a theme park but anyone who visits museums on a regular basis will be disapointed by the lack of interactive exhibits or imaginative curation. Budgets are tight and the museum may rely on volunteers for much of its work but other museums do better and the Aldershot Military Museum is definitely overdue a rethink of its provision

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Military History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

The Aldershot Museum is a great place to go for Hands on experience. It also contains the history of Aldershot Town and its close ties with the Army. Not too large but a good way to spend a couple of hours browsing. The staff are very helpful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank wbelgum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very small but perfectly formed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Yes this museum is tiny - you can be around in 40 minutes though you could probably stretch this out to an hour, but it's still very good. It doesn't try to punch above its weight, either - it's non-pretentious and that's what gives it its charm. It goes to show you really don't need to always pander to the masses or have expensive gimmicks to make a good museum.

As it's so small it's hard to review, but if you're in the area with a few pounds to spare (£3.20 August 2013), do go and see it. There are a few good displays and recreations and some good artefacts too, and outside there are some tanks and guns. Unfortunately I'd been to Bovington the day before so was a bit 'tanked out' but was still interesting and good to see.

There's also 'Monty's Shed' although that was lost on me I have to say, however there was a field gun, a jeep and an ambulance in it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank onesometraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Tanks Galore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

If you are interested in anything military this is the place to go, lots to see and good value. Different buildings with a variety of military pictures, displays etc, outside plenty of tanks.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aldershot Military Museum also viewed

 
Aldershot, Hampshire
 

Been to Aldershot Military Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing