We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Afternoon Out”

Aldershot Military Museum
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Aldershot
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice Afternoon Out”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Visited with young children. The staff are volunteers and are all very pleasant . There are a couple of quizzes to do for the children which keeps their interest. The museum it's self is not that big but they have packed a lot with plenty for the kids to try, the vehicles are interesting though seen better days. Layed out all on one level so accessible to all with ramps at entry and exit. No hot food here but a variety of hot and cold drinks, some cold snacks too. We took a picnic, there are tables outside the entrance or picnic benches behind the barn on the far side of the car park. Cost of entry is only £3.00 per adult allow 2 hours for a visit. An enjoyable time had by all. I see great potential here to celebrate our great British army at the home of the British Army, just needs a bit of investment to bring things further along.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    45
    9
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good day out”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Interesting and enjoyable for family visits. Great insight into UK military and one of the best military museums I have visited

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Harra123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very interesting and good value”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We've been here a couple of times and don't get bored. There is plenty to look at and the staff are helpful.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank HantsUK2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good place to visit”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I was stationed in Aldershot during the late `60`s and early `70`s so found the place interesting. Plenty of local interest there. However, was a bit disappointed in the condition of some of the vehicles, .many looking the worst for wear , some TLC wouldn`t go amiss here. Otherwise an interesting experience.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
177 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“An interesting local museum”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Having spent a couple of hours at this Museum I think it is important it is remember it is Aldershot Military Museum rather a wider military museum. The museum itself is fairly isolated within the military area and could be better sign posted, however when we found it there was plenty of parking (we parked just outside). The entry fee is a fair reflection of the time to be spent there and what to see, and £8.40 for a family ticket (2+2) is reasonable. The main part of the museum is set in two historic barrack blocks, the first containing the ticket office, an area for drink and snacks and then the history of Aldershot/Farnborough. The second is dedicated to the Army in Aldershot. In addition there is reconstructed barrack block and a barn used by Montgomery as well as a selection of Military vehicles across the site. Overall I thought the museum was good, very informative, and as the name suggest focusing on the local area and the associated military history. That said I do think local Government cut backs may have had an affect and certain aspects could be a little more professional, notably the displaying of the larger exhibits could be better. This is a not a large museum and is locally focused, so whether a longer dedicated journey to visit is questionable. However I do feel this type of museum is important, and in view that we all enjoyed our visit and I recommend it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dun123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aldershot Military Museum also viewed

 
Aldershot, Hampshire
 

Been to Aldershot Military Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing