We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food”

Johney Gurkha Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 79 Restaurants in Aldershot
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$25
Cuisines: Nepalese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Here at nameste Johney Gurkhas we try to provide you with excellent service as much as we can and fulfil your satisfaction with plenty of choices for all kinds of people. We like engage with our customers and get to know them more so we can always provide them with the service they want and need from us. So whenever you like , please do visit this family friendly restaurant suitable for bookings , birthday partys , just a eat out or a romantic and currylicious dinner for 2 and please let us know more about how you felt dining in our restaurant and share your experience with us.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Good food service poor however pleasant waiter but it wasnt busy yet he seemed to nit be aware if customers, I was enjoying food till a chef not in whites came out of kitchen and wentito loo and loudly cleared his throat so disappointed in this disgusting. We dud tell the waiter who I believe owns the restaurant, off putting shame yumny food

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andreacrosby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    62
    12
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The best curry house in Aldershot”
Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

Went here on Friday night to what is known locally as Johny Gurkhas(JG). Well done to Sartoj and colleagues who recommended some brilliant food, namely raja hot lamb and chana rice- absolutely superb. All very reasonable and they also do a we'd and Thursday banquet which is very popular.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank JAGR2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmswell
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Gurkha food.”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

never eat here before,enjoyed the experience very much.helpful and friendly staff.the food we all chose was well presented and tasty.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
444 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Great food and fantastic value”
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We took advantage of the midweek banquet special offer - £9.95 for starter, main, side dish and rice or nan - but the ordinary menu prices are so reasonable, you could come any other day and still get great value for money here.

There's a really big range of vegetarian main courses (but not many vegetarian starters), and lots of interesting vegetable side dishes which are a bit different from the usual selection you get at most Indian restaurants. There's a short, but very reasonably priced wine list, and the house wine we tried was nice.

Both our starters (Nepalese lamb kebab and onion bhaji) came with really fresh salad, fresh lime wedges, and a very high quality relish tray, with clean, fresh pickles. Our main courses were both substantial portions (spiced hot chicken and vegetable dhansak), which we had with a spinach side dish and a really good raita, containing tomatoes, cucumber etc.

The only slight disappointment were the rice and nan which were rather greasy and didn't taste as fresh as the rest of the food.

Service was very friendly and attentive. It did get slower as the evening wore on and the restaurant filled up, but arriving early was definitely a good idea.

Overall this is a great place to eat. Food quality is good and prices are very reasonable. However, the stairs are fairly steep so if you have limited mobility, it might be best to check before you arrive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Neatham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“sam and joney gurkha”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

we went for benquet meal deal 9.95 .I read review here and i lIKE to try it. so i went there with friends thursday evening .
food was so testy fresh and didnt have to wait that much long as other says that more then one hour bla bla .thank you very linda for your recommendation .Food and service was great .
thursday it was so busy but all we got our food on time we like the man ( sammy) the manager.
.He is so polite and honest .We seen that all customer loves him like a famely member .
any way due to food and service we will be back but one think we dont like there is decoration its totally death .we love johney gurkha .

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 421sofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Johney Gurkha Restaurant also viewed

Farnborough, Hampshire
Farnborough, Hampshire
 
Aldershot, Hampshire
Aldershot, Hampshire
 

Been to Johney Gurkha Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing