We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“more like staying with friends”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St Mary's Hall Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 16 Alton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paignton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“more like staying with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

It was my first visit but hopefully many more, having tried previously several times before but they were fully booked,I was not dissapointe & stayed for 6 nights, visiting Friends and family.This is the best B&B I have ever stayed in and there have been quite a few. Joan & Jack make you feel so welcome and nothing is too much trouble, everything you could imagine is provided ,the breakfast is varied and delicious,joan,s homemade jam is well worth the visit alone.The garden room where I stayed was wonderfull and so comfortable overlooking a lovely garden.If you visit Alton area try St Marys Hall first,I can,t recommend them enough,but no guarantee you will get in as they are so popular.Joan even gave me a lift to catch my train home.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceolnamare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
50
101
40
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

This is our second visit to St Mary's - and the standards are as high as ever. Joan is a wonderful hostess, a wonderful cook - and an amazing housekeeper. We stayed in the Garden Suite as before, and you would never know that a year had passed, it was as fresh and clean as if we'd simply been out for the day.
I can't praise St Mary's highly enough, and I look forward to a visit same time next year!

Room Tip: The Garden Suite is large and quiet with loads of space - for you and your luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosnorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

This is our fourth visit to St Mary's Hall this year and it has only got better. The warmth of the welcome is wonderful. We stayed for a week this time and visited the surrounding area. Nothing is too much for Joan and we can't recommend the B&B highly enough. You will not be disappointed if you decide to stay here, it is fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

We were very fortunate to have stumbled upon this wonderful B&B in Alton. It became part of our itinerary when previous accommodation didn't work out. We were equally lucky that we could reserve three nights here, as it's popular - for good reason!

The best part? The owners, Jack and Joan. They are, without a doubt, the most hospitable, warm, and helpful owners we have encountered in all our B&B stays. Joan is a wealth of information and shares it cheerfully and freely. We got tips on not only what bus to take but where to sit on the bus and what landmarks to look for. The maps and brochures were also appreciated, but it was the personal touch that really impressed us.

The rooms are unique - only four of them and each is different. St. Mary's Hall is a converted church, and the owners have retained a lot of its original charm - from stained glass windows, to the tower and the odd, but charming configurations of the rooms. Our bedroom wasn't big, but it was scrupulously clean. The bathroom was stocked with amenities. Each room has its own lounge area which we particularly appreciated. After a long day sightseeing, we could relax in a larger room, with a TV, access to bottled water, a small library and more.

Joan encourages her guests to eat breakfast together (although doesn't insist on it), and we enjoyed meeting the other guests around a big table and sharing stories and travelling tips. Food was delicious - we especially appreciated the bounty of fresh mixed berries!

The location is good - only a few minutes' walk to the High Street and the bus is just around the corner. It's in "Jane Austen Country", and the walk to the museum and other JA sights is pleasant and scenic. Alton is a short bus ride to Winchester, which we enjoyed as a day's outing.

Overall, can't say enough about our experience here. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you're really tall, you might find it a bit tight squeezing into the tiny shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gomall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hackensack, New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

I began my trip to the UK in Alton and stayed at St. Mary's Hall. It became clear to me throughout my stay that every detail had been carefully considered. I was greeted by the owner as I stepped out of the cab and taken to my lovely room overlooking the beautiful English garden. Everything was exceptionally clean and convenient to suit my needs. I felt so comfortable at St. Mary's, as if I were at home.
The breakfast was delicious and included local and homemade ingredients. Joan and her husband were so warm, hospitable and informative.
I would recommend this B & B to anyone staying in the area and I would definitely stay there again. It was certainly one of the highlights of my trip to the UK.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyAwareness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Joan welcomed us as soon as we arrived at St. Mary's Hall. Before showing us to our room, Joan visited with us about our trip and talked about the surrounding area. We stayed in the Garden Suite, which is across the little courtyard from the house. Everything was very clean, and the breakfast was perfect. For Jane Austen fans - St Mary's Hall is close to the local attractions. We will definitely be keeping this B&B on our list for return trips. We loved it!

Room Tip: The Garden Suite is separate from the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2MissouriTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

We stayed here as an alternative after a previous disaster with the Travel Lodge near here and my word what a difference. Spotlessly clean, this is high end and worth every penny. We stayed in the large annexe and were only sorry that the weather was cold and wet and we couldn't take advantage of the lovely patio and garden. Joan gave us a lovely welcome and has paid great attention to every detail in the running of this b& b. Breakfast can be whatever you desire with fresh fruit, cooked, cereals, toast and tea or coffee, all made freshly for you. The room was large and beautifully furnished a definite 5 stars. The b& b is located fairly centrally to Alton has ample parking and is only a short walk into town. Stay here and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolynkernow48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
0.5 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#2 of 3 in Alton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alton House Hotel
Alton House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Alton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
8.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Three Horseshoes
The Three Horseshoes
#1 of 1 in East Worldham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#5 of 16 in Alton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
2.0 mi away
White Hart
White Hart
#1 of 1 in Holybourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Mary's Hall Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Mary's Hall Bed and Breakfast

Property: St Mary's Hall Bed and Breakfast
Address: 18 Albert Road | Butts Road, Alton GU34 1LP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Alton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gold Winner at the 2011-14 Beautiful South Awards. As recommended in The Times, a beautifully converted church in a quiet town location with Jane Austen's House, restaurants, pubs and transport all within easy walking distance. All rooms refurbished to a very high standard. Plus a spacious guest lounge with satellite TV/DVD player, free WiFi and fridge. Four Star accredited, plus Visit England's Silver Award. We have welcomed visitors from across the UK and from 30+ countries around the world, who visit the local attractions or stay whilst on business. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St Mary`s Hall b&b
St Mary`s Hall Hotel Alton
St Mary's Hall Bed And Breakfast Alton, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing