We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 mins walk from Jane Austen's house”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St Mary's Hall Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 16 Alton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“10 mins walk from Jane Austen's house”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This is a delightful place on the side of Alton that is only 10 minutes walk to Chawton. Joan is the most welcoming, informative host you could ask for. The little Austen room is tiny but perfect for one. The Swan Hotel has a fab menu and there are several cafes on the Alton High Street that do a good coffee.

The trip from Heathrow is only 1.5 hours and hassle-free if you catch the bus/coach from Heathrow Terminal 3 to Woking. It will take 40 minutes and the bus runs directly to the Woking train station. There is a direct train to Alton that took only 40 mins. No mucking around with luggage on the Tube, plus a real saving in time and ticket costs by not travelling into London and then back out. The one ticket covers both legs of the journey.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pv_3181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
51
104
41
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed here for one night only in the Garden suite. It was a large room and the most impressive bathroom I've ever seen and experienced.Attention to detail was evident. Hosts are uber-friendly and helpful and make a great breakfast. The pub they recommended for dinner had some of the best food we experienced on our trip. Good off street parking. My only problem, and I really hate to say it because I know they spent a lot of money on the beds, was that we felt they were far too soft. We both had a poor night's sleep, (sorry we lied) but then some people like a soft bed. If you are staying in or near Alton, then this place is a great choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmanay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We originally wanted to stay in Chawton, but the b&b didnt have enough room for us, which turned out to be a blessing. From the moment we arrived Joan the owner, could not have been a better hostess and breakfast delicious. 2 of us stayed in the Garden suite, which was a private space just across from the house. It was super spotless, tastefully decorated, with a big sized bathroom and king sized bed. We also had a fridge, which on the first night did wake me up, but a flick of a switch soon sorted that out. The location was fab. We were in walking distance of Alton town centre, Chawton village and a hop, skip and bus stop away from Winchester. This is definitely on my list to re-visit.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

St Mary's Hall is a wonderful place to stay in the village of Alton, Hampshire. The welcome was so hospitable. All amenities are great and the hosts, Joan and Jack, are truly delightful people. There is an attention to detail for visitors which we found very impressive. I cannot recommend this place more highly if you are visiting this area. Seeing is believing.

Room Tip: The Tower room is sumptuous in every aspect, but has sloping ceilings. Could be a problem if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MerseysideMargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

A very warm welcome and friendly reception after a long day. Room and surroundings very clean, fresh and well maintained. As a business traveller, this accommodation probably out performs other hotels in the price range.
Breakfast carefully prepared and tasty. Thank you Joan!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vardar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We (mother and two adult daughters) stayed at Joan's place for three nights in June and really enjoyed our visit! St Mary's Hall exceeded our expectations. The place is extra clean, comfortable, beautiful and very well located. Joan herself was a marvelous host: welcoming, warm, friendly and helpful. Since we had two rooms downstairs we also had the shared living room for ourselves. Breakfast was plentiful and very good!

Furthermore, Alton was absolutely great and fulfilled our expectations. Alton, Chawton and Winchester were worth visiting!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

All the basics are done brilliantly: clean, comfortable, quiet, convenient for Jane Austen enthusiasts who want to see Chawton, superb breakfasts with locally-sourced foods, and a lovely private patio that gets the afternoon sun. The Garden Suite is very private, spacious, and with an amazing bathroom and ingenious shower. Best of all, Joan Mossop is a wonderfully warm, helpful host. Note that the bathroom for the Knight room is across the hall and that sound insulation from the Tower Room (above) is not 100 percent!

Room Tip: Go for the Garden Suite or (I suspect, but haven't seen it) the Tower Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
0.5 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#2 of 3 in Alton
461 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alton House Hotel
Alton House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Alton
364 reviews
4.1 mi away
Travelodge Alton Four Marks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
8.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England
2.2 mi away
The Three Horseshoes
The Three Horseshoes
#1 of 1 in East Worldham
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Mary's Hall Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Mary's Hall Bed and Breakfast

Property: St Mary's Hall Bed and Breakfast
Address: 18 Albert Road | Butts Road, Alton GU34 1LP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Alton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gold Winner at the 2011-14 Beautiful South Awards. As recommended in The Times, a beautifully converted church in a quiet town location with Jane Austen's House, restaurants, pubs and transport all within easy walking distance. All rooms refurbished to a very high standard. Plus a spacious guest lounge with satellite TV/DVD player, free WiFi and fridge. Four Star accredited, plus Visit England's Silver Award. We have welcomed visitors from across the UK and from 30+ countries around the world, who visit the local attractions or stay whilst on business. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St Mary`s Hall Hotel Alton
St Mary`s Hall b&b
St Mary's Hall Bed And Breakfast Alton, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing