We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the very best!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St Mary's Hall Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 16 Alton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wallington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the very best!”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Without wishing to sound too effusive, St Mary's Hall truly is one of the very best B&Bs you will find. We were warmly welcomed by Joan & Jack when we arrived. Our room (the Tower Room) was very comfortable; the bed exceptionally so. The en-suite bathroom was designed to a very high standard and the shower was particularly good. We weed given sound advice about local hostelries and eateries. There was a choice of breakfast ranging from full English to smoked salmon & scrambled eggs with a strong focus on quality local ingredients. Nothing was too much trouble, from providing secure storage for a bicycle to assisting with taking our bags to our room. There is an obvious passion for making guests feel welcome and comfortable which is evident in the attention to detail and we had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
50
104
41
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I can't recommend this place enough! Joan and Jack are very friendly, welcoming and accommodating hosts. From the minute arrived we felt like we were in our own home. The beds are extremely comfortable with lovely linen (we stayed in Knight) and the shower room was beautiful. The stain glass window near the shower means you start your day with a rainbow.

Nothing was too much trouble for Joan. The breakfast was all locally sourced and delicious as well as being prepared just as you want it. The surrounding area, even though it's in the middle of a housing estate, is peaceful and well situated for both walking and vehicle access to town and other local attractions. We particularly enjoyed the use of the communal lounge area with DVD and TV so we could relax in the evenings. The garden is also beautiful but we didn't get much decent weather to enjoy it. If you want a lovely B&B and to feel like it's a home from home then you won't go wrong here!

I will be coming back!

Room Tip: We stayed in Knight as it was the only one adaptable into a twin but the other rooms all looked grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Just been back to St Mary's Hall again and found it just as good as ever. Joan & Jack were wonderful hosts as always. The rooms are spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable. Breakfast is a treat, cereals, fresh fruit and full English, just a perfect start to the day.
In summer the garden is a great place to sit and relax with a beer or glass of wine, either before
going out to eat or when you get back.
Will be back as soon as we're back down south.

Room Tip: We always have the Garden Suite it's detached from the main house and is very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2014

A visit to Alton for a wedding. A very warm welcome greeted us from Joan & Jack a most hospitable and family couple. After a long tedious journey the cool beer and cup of tea was most welcome and were immediately at ease as we were treated like a member of the family. The ambiance of St Mary's Hall is unique and all décor and presentation very tasteful. We choose to stay in the Knight room and found it very comfortable and well equipped. The shower room was modern with a flair of up to date living. The garden was well preserved and managed with ample parking and seating arrangements. Very impressed and I'm sure we shall return in the foreseeable future and wouldn't have any hesitations in recommending it to any future guests.
Val & Adrian

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fr0st1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed here 3rd July 2014 and I can highly recommend this lovely place.
Attention to detail first class, beautifully clean with a very warm welcome and where nothing is too much trouble, if you, like me, want to stay in places where every effort is made to make you feel welcome and appreciated then this is the place.
An absolute 5 star rating for this fabulous B&B

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Strug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I've stayed in Alton at St Mary's before whilst visiting family and, once again, the stay was brilliant. You really could ask for more from Joan and Jack, from the acres of bed, amazing breakfast and even a beer to welcome me (much appreciated after cycling there from London).

They also let me keep my bike in the garage which was a nice touch and really couldn't have done more to help us and make us feel at home in this beautiful location.

Plus I'm pretty sure Alton must be the sunniest place in England as it has always been roasting hot when I've been. beautiful.

An absolute gem of a place which makes for an accessible and welcome break to the country when the 'Big Smoke' gets too much!

Already planning my next stay...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank super_special_ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beds
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

I have been staying here annually for a number of years. This year was the first time my partner came with me. The rooms are immaculate, you have use of a conservatory with tv and dvd. Also use of the beautiful garden. Parking is right by the garden. The breakfast is just wonderful. My partner was very impressed found it so relaxing. Joan and Jack are the perfect hosts. I am always sad to leave this little slice of perfection but happy knowing I shall return.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IonaBeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
0.8 mi away
Alton House Hotel
Alton House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Alton
362 reviews
0.5 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#1 of 3 in Alton
458 reviews
4.1 mi away
Travelodge Alton Four Marks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
2.2 mi away
The Three Horseshoes
The Three Horseshoes
#1 of 1 in East Worldham
134 reviews
2.0 mi away
White Hart
White Hart
#1 of 1 in Holybourne
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Mary's Hall Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Mary's Hall Bed and Breakfast

Property: St Mary's Hall Bed and Breakfast
Address: 18 Albert Road | Butts Road, Alton GU34 1LP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Alton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gold Winner at the 2011-14 Beautiful South Awards. As recommended in The Times, a beautifully converted church in a quiet town location with Jane Austen's House, restaurants, pubs and transport all within easy walking distance. All rooms refurbished to a very high standard. Plus a spacious guest lounge with satellite TV/DVD player, free WiFi and fridge. Four Star accredited, plus Visit England's Silver Award. We have welcomed visitors from across the UK and from 30+ countries around the world, who visit the local attractions or stay whilst on business. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St Mary`s Hall Hotel Alton
St Mary`s Hall b&b
St Mary's Hall Bed And Breakfast Alton, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing