We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning quintessential English pub!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Anchor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Anchor Inn
Ranked #6 of 16 Alton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Stunning quintessential English pub!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

What a beautiful country pub! Gorgeous spacious rooms, modern bathroom and beautiful Ren bath products to boot. I also loved the added thoughtful touch of two yummy flapjacks with the tea facilities!

My boyfriend and I only stayed here for one evening (a Saturday) and dined in the pub for dinner. There was a fantastic ambiance and the food certainly did not disappoint! It was amazing!

I would also recommend looking in room handbook, there are also some local country walks mentioned which we enjoyed doing.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Where_Magic_Happens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    33
    24
    14
    6
See reviews for
33
66
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

We met family here for a birthday celebration and stayed overnight.
Unlike some of the other reviewers, we found the staff helpful and friendly, so have absolutely no complaints on that front. There was a delay in our evening meal order being taken, but given that we were a large group and it was a busy Saturday night, I can understand if the kitchen didn't want our orders coming through before they could deal with them all together. In any case, we were able to have drinks whilst we waited and had plenty of time to peruse the excellent menu! When the food arrived it was well worth the wait; beautifully presented, quality produce and faultlessly cooked. Our whole party were very happy with their meals.
The Anchor advertises "Deluxe Accommodation" and we certainly found our room to be just that. Stylishly decorated to feel informal and comfortable yet modern and clean at the same time A really comfortable bed, downy quilt and crisp, clean and white bed linen. There are thoughtful touches such as a cafetiere and ground coffee on the hospitality tray, fresh milk, water and juices in the mini fridge, and all complimentary.
The bathroom was small but well appointed with a fabulous shower, fluffy towels and good toiletries.
Breakfast was served in the bar and there was a good selection of standard breakfast items to chose from so that we could all "pick and mix" to have exactly what we wanted. The quality of the food was good and the service was efficient.
All in all a great place for food and accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryjslt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
114 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights at the Anchor in the Richard Hillary room which I would thoroughly recommend. It was a lovely spacious room although you could injure yourself on the beams if you were tall! It was tastefully decorated, and there were nice touches such as the apple juice in the fridge. The bathroom was well appointed with a great shower and lovely Ren toiletries. As you are over the bar, and in an old building, you do get some noise, but it is not too bad. My parents in law stayed in the Rupert Brooke suite which had beautiful views over the countryside. We ate in the restaurant on both nights- it is a very atmospheric room. There was a wide selection of choices, and the food was great. The bar is a lovely place to spend an evening, and there are some very good local ales. Breakfast service was a little slow but the food was good. Lovely to have fresh orange juice. Overall service was very friendly, but it did seem sometimes they were a bit understaffed. I would definitely stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MillicentDDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medway
Level Contributor
160 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

The booking was easy, but you need to book well in advance to get the best rooms.
The hotel is also easy to find being just off the A31 between Farnham and Alton, however you need to plan your arrival outside the lunch hour ‘rush’ at weekends to find a car parking space.

The outside character of the inn is a perfect setting for what you will find inside, but in two differing styles. The small pond and the garden area are most definitely worth a second look.

The reception is in the bar itself, however one word of warning from the very beginning – mind your head on the beams. This set the ambiance of the inn itself and if you get the time have a wonder round and look at all the pictures and artefacts virtually ‘littered’ everywhere including along the corridors to the rooms. The ‘adult’ gents washroom is of particular note The staff could not have been friendlier and were most helpful, however again time your arrival as they seemed rushed off their feet at times (private party in the back room going on when we arrived). It is worth noting as well that if there is any fault or concern then raise it soonest, as the staff take action sooner rather than later (an excellent point that more expensive hotel could well take on board).

The room itself could not be faulted, right down to the home made cake in a tin available on arrival (which was a nice touch that would have been nice to have seen on the second day of the stay as well). It was a large size room, well laid out, clean and warm. The bathroom shower was of particular note, not only large but the shower head was truly exquisite just to stand there under it. The silence, once the restaurant has finished for the night until ‘rush hour’ the following morning was exceptional – hardly any cars and no background machinery, aeroplanes noises or distant activities that one associates with modern living.

Breakfast was a delight, just so long as you like a full ‘English’ or parts off, as, other than cereals, the choice is somewhat limited. That said it is cooked totally to order from local sources and was exceptional right down to the last piece of toast.

We will return one day and have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this inn to all as being good value for money in all aspects.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WWTravellerKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

I took my boyfriend here for his birthday the other weekend and it was lovely. I just found it online and had never been to Hampshire before but the area is lovely and The Anchor is great. The staff were friendly, the room was really nicely done, clean and had a great shower! We ate in the restaurant which was delicious and then rolled upstairs to bed! Would highly recommend it. I imagine it would be even better in the summer!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmm42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

The place is located in a relatively remote and beautiful setting and feels like an oasis in the middle of nowhere. The selection of food and drink are marvelous and the accommodation felt luxurious and of high standard. The architecture is phenomenal and I recommend everyone to read about the history of The Anchor.

There are a few detractors though when taking the price into account and I would have expected a cleaner bathroom and bedroom (which where certainly not cleaned thoroughly). Staff is extremely well trained, friendly and very busy. But the constant buzz can create a rushed atmosphere especially when enjoying the last sip of your drink while candles are being blown out around you.

Room Tip: Try not to book Siegfried Sassoon, which is directly above the restaurant with no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JensLondon10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

I went here with a friend for a drink on a summers evening. Sat outside with open views of the Hampshire countryside and it was delightful. No kids play equipment, so there were no kids running about. It was full and although busy didn't feel crowded. There is a large and, I'm told very good restaurant which is usually busy, but I haven't eaten there myself. Lots of character, old beams etc. good place for an evening for two to eat or for a drink.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
2.3 mi away
Alton House Hotel
Alton House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Alton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
2.5 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#2 of 3 in Alton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
8.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
White Hart
White Hart
#1 of 1 in Holybourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Three Horseshoes
The Three Horseshoes
#1 of 1 in East Worldham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
19.3 mi away
The White Horse
The White Horse
#1 of 1 in Chilgrove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchor Inn

Property: The Anchor Inn
Address: Lower Froyle, Alton GU34 4NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Alton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Anchor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Around 6 miles from Farnham, The Anchor Inn in Lower Froyle is a traditional country pub with rooms and restaurant in an idyllic waterside setting. Each room has en suite bathroom with shower and handmade Bramley toiletries. There is a flat-screen TV, hairdryer and tea and coffee facilities in all rooms, and the elegant suite has its own balcony with outdoor seating. Full English breakfast is served each morning. The 2 Rosettes restaurant offers decadent fine dining and pub classics, using locally sourced and seasonal produce. Close to the borders of Hampshire and Surrey, this inn is 2 miles from the South Downs and around 12 miles from Basingstoke and Farnborough. Guildford is less than 25 minutes' drive east of Lower Froyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Anchor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchor Inn Alton, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing