We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peppa Pig Day” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mid Hants Railway Watercress Line

The Mid Hants Railway Watercress Line
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Alton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Mid Hants Railway, also known as the Watercress Line, operates steam and heritage diesel trains between the picturesque market towns of Alton and Alresford in Hampshire, south west of London. As well as standard travel this preserved railway runs popular special events throughout the year along with Countryman and Watercress Belle dining trains and the Real Ale Train.
Liss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Peppa Pig Day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Took the grandchildren and we had a great day. Peppa Pig was in a tent at Alresford Station and it would have been nice if she was walking on the platform. But the rest was fantastic. The petting farm at Ropley Station was wonderful and the people running it so kind to the children. The train rides were, as usual, great. Thank you to all the volunteers who help keep the line running.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    499
    201
    39
    26
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
130 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Lovely day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Went on Sunday 15th June to the second day of "War on the Line". This is a yearly event and we try and go each time. You could imagine it being during the Second World War, airmen and air women, soldiers and sailors. American jitterbug going on outside and all manner of typical 1940's attire worn by many people just to get "In the mood". It was very enjoyable and of course the train is wonderful, just like when I was a little girl. Lots of wonderful vintage cars and also a fire engine. What we missed was a fly past of Spitfire planes. But we had to get back to a restaurant we had booked and were already late, so we were sorry to miss the highlight of the day really. You are issued with an identity card, great fun as you are asked several times to show this, just like in the war. Worth a trip, free parking at Ropley station on the field.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank nan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford Kent
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Real ale train trip (Rat)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

This was our second journey on the watercress line both very enjoyable the volunteers that make the whole operation possible deserve much credit.
This time it was a Saturday night all tickets sold out and a Real ale train trip for the price of a day trip on the train.
The train does 2 completes journeys from Alton to Alresford in the evening.
We booked early, received a discount and first pint was free.
The cask ales served were sediment free and chilled in the old fashioned way with water soaked clothes draped over.
Two breweries wares were on offer "Ballards" & "Botley" both local to the area. We also had a beer from the local Alresford brewery as there was some clouding issues with the Botley beers.
Although the beers on offer were slightly warmer than I would prefer this did not spoil the enjoyment.
For £5 I bought a watercress Rat beer jug and it is an object to be enjoyed :) wish I had discovered the T shirts but it's an excuse to return.
Food wise very reasonable prices but the best choices sell out quickly so my advise is to eat on the journey out and not to wait until the third trip.
A journey we must do again because for sheer value for money it is hard to beat!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Renda2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The war line”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Had a brillant time on sunday 15 june, All station doing there bit for the 1940s war time.staff were so friendly

Helpful?
Thank holldolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great little Steam Railway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

I travelled on here recently. The staff were very friendly and it's a nice little experience of a bygone era. Definitely worth it if you love steam trains.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank warthog4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mid Hants Railway Watercress Line also viewed

 

Been to The Mid Hants Railway Watercress Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing