We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Reception”
Review of The Market Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Market Hotel
Ranked #13 of 16 Alton B&B and Inns
Alton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wedding Reception”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We had our wedding reception at the Market Hotel and we could not have asked for more. The venue was decorated to a high standard and the staff were brilliant. The food was exceptional and cooked to a high standard. We chose the Market Hotel because it is so beautifully decorated, and as we had a smallish wedding (35 sit down) it felt cosy and intimate. We had a DJ in the evening and about 40 more guests and everyone said it felt like a real family affair. We booked all the rooms for our guests which were again beautifully decorated and met up for a family breakfast (with some extra family members joining us) and which none of us could fault. Well done to Tara and Jamie for making our day so special and for pulling our all the stops. We could not have asked for more and would certainly go to the Market Hotel if we wanted to book another family function.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngelaK688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    4
    8
    9
    11
See reviews for
11
16
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ash, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2013

The Market Hotel, is a pleasurable visit, a refreshing family run Hotel/Pub, where you will receive great hospitality. The Shabby chic décor is a real change to Alton's traditional style pubs. next time you are in the Market Square, I can recommend you should try it out yourself. The Market is convenient to the local train station, only 10 min's walk away and is surrounded by local restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 397KT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I stayed hole week and love the room it bin done in lovey style . Barthroom was very nice nice tv and pub down stairs I could not here at all. the place to drink as well nice crowd and Alton love place to stay 5* all rounder

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ace1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

nicely decorated rooms with very nice thick duvets & comfortable beds. shops all around & plenty of places to eat so good location. 10 mins walk from the train station. however there are many pubs around & it can get very noisy late at night & this hotel is actually 3 rooms above a pub. would stay again

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adam k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We only stopped for one night, but really enjoyed it. The room was very light, airy, clean, comfy and had everything we needed. The breakfast we had was delicious and set us up for the day.

As the rooms are in a pub, there is some noise from the surrounding market place area at night, but this is only people talking and enjoying themselves and it did not affect us at all.

The Market Hotel pub is also a nice pub to drink in, and although we didn't eat there, the menu looked very good.

Would recommend this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RJB0133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
0.1 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#2 of 3 in Alton
458 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alton House Hotel
Alton House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Alton
362 reviews
4.5 mi away
Travelodge Alton Four Marks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Flossie's Bed and Breakfast
2.1 mi away
The Three Horseshoes
The Three Horseshoes
#1 of 1 in East Worldham
134 reviews
1.6 mi away
White Hart
White Hart
#1 of 1 in Holybourne
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Market Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Market Hotel

Property: The Market Hotel
Address: 3 Market Square, Alton GU34 1HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Alton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. and Priceline so you can book your The Market Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Market Hotel Alton, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing