We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky”
Review of The Market Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Market Hotel
Ranked #13 of 16 Alton B&B and Inns
yorkshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Quirky”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

First this not a typical hotel - more a very lively wine bar/ restaurant with bedrooms. It is very conveniently situated for the car park and other bars and restaurants but Market Square is difficult to find if you have luggage to unload - drive up Cross and Pillory Lane to the Square.
Our room was very pleasant with quirky decor and retro furniture Granny would have thrown away. 3 huge sash windows which could all be opened wide and a super bathroom modern with excellent powerful shower. Nice big bed - 2 singles put together.
However ..... As mentioned no mattress protectors- why not? Mattresses were past their best, one very squeaky. There was a large lobby between the bedroom and bathroom which had a motion sensor bright light which took ages to turn off - no chance of going to the loo without disturbing your partner and the window there had no curtain, blind or privacy film - very entertaining for anyone in the beer garden! The only place to hang clothes were 4 hooks on the wall - no hangers provided. I don't understand why - plenty of room for a hanging rail or wardrobe. Little niggles which could be easily sorted out. Also a shame about the pair of pants left behind the bathroom door!


I knew it would be noisy so had asked for a room at the back but this overlooked the beer garden / smoking area. There was also loud music playing but everything did quieten down after midnight and I brought ear plugs. It wouldn't suit anyone who wanted peace and quiet and going to bed early, but great for a young hipster couple.
Breakfast was good but served strangely very late on Sat and Sun, however we were able to arrange for it early on the day we needed to be out early.
Overall an interesting stay but it would'nt suit everyone.

Room Tip: Just stay up late or bring earplugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireCherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    4
    7
    9
    10
See reviews for
10
16
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Overall wasn't that impressed. Nicely decorated, but a couple of fundamental flaws which could be easily remedied to make the stay infinitely better. 1) the sheets were so incredibly thin that you could see the far-from-new mattress through. Having a mattress protector would have removed the thought that you were basically sleeping directly on top of a mattress upon which numerous other people have slept. Given the room was also really hot, this was pretty horrid. 2) the bathroom was serviced by a macerator, which basically meant that every time you had a shower, went to the loo or even ran the basin tap a loud (audible from the next door room) mechanic noise went off. When the neighbouring room had a shower it sounded like their alarm clock was going off. 3) the bathroom light took 7 mins to turn off (there was no switch, only a sensor) and the bathroom door was made of glass, so all in all, there was no way to not wake up your partner when using the bathroom at night! 4) if you have a room overlooking the market square then you will be kept awake by the bar / other bars which don't close until just after midnight. As I mentioned, it was incredibly hot, so it was essential to have the window open. 5) There may as well have been no curtains for all the good they did in blocking out light.

As I said, these issues could all be reasonably easily remedied. But as it stands, the rooms seemed very expensive for what they were and the rooms were not at all conducive to a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which does not overlook the market square as it will be quieter. Likewise, ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RC B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JT082010, Owner at The Market Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for your review, I can only apologise that your expectations were not met when you stayed with us. All our beds should have mattress protectors and I have spoken to our House Keeper about why your bed did not, this is unacceptable and this has been fed back to the relevant members of staff. With regards the macerator in your room, when we refurbished all the rooms to have their own bathroom, rather than 5 rooms sharing a bathroom, the plumbing was at the other end of the Hotel and not possible to connect to the mains. Having macerators in 2 of our rooms was not through choice, as this was costly, but the only way to give all our rooms en-suite facilities. No other guests have complained before about the noise from the macerator in their room or the adjoining room and I for one do not regard them as noisy but this is a matter of opinion. Similarly no-one has also complained about the length of time the bathroom light stays on but this can be easily rectified by us shortening the sensor time. We use these sensor lights to cut utility bills around the building and all modern hotels use the same, not to everyone's taste but they do, most importantly, save the business money. The variables of how hot an evening is or how noisy people are in the square are out of our control and maybe a bit harsh to criticise us, although they have an impact on your stay. I feel it's a shame that your felt nothing positive to review about your stay with us and that these points, apart from the bathroom light, were not raised with our staff who would have happily arranged some form of discount if they knew you were so unhappy with your stay. I suppose that's the great thing about Trip Advisor, the freedom to complain after the event with no face to face interaction with anybody. I hope our response has explained some of the reasons you did not enjoy your stay and again, we can only apologise for this.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alton hotels

Surrey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Popped for a spot of light lunch in the sun and had a lovely afternoon with very scrumptious food! Compliments to the chef! Nice decor, very clean and had a lovely feel to it. Helpful, friendly staff! Will definately recommend to friends and will be returning!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jc286cam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JT082010, Owner at The Market Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for your positive review. We are glad you enjoyed the food, decor and outdoor seating agree and I have passed on your positive feedback to our staff about the service you received. We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We have been to this bar / hotel several times from before it was refurbished and the changes have transformed the whole place. We decided to have our wedding reception there with guests and myself staying there also. The rooms were spacious and clean and the breakfast fab......
The bar staff and managers were very helpful in the planning of the reception providing a choice food which was also to a very high standard. There was plenty in fact we ended up leaving some. The service was great from the moment we arrived and even when the bar became busier towards the end of the night there was no problems in being served, we also had the roped off area which proved useful as we could chill out. The decor is chic and you can definitely tell the influence that the owners have in the modernisation of the place, its personal and a million miles away from the chained themed bars.
In summary, great service, fab atmosphere, cool people would definitely recommended the Market Hotel be it for a party or an overnight stay ........
Nicey & Noddle

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JT082010, Owner at The Market Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
To Nicey & Noddle,
Thanks so much for your lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and Wedding reception at The Market Hotel. We strive hard to provide a professional service when hosting a function and its always great to hear feedback which shows we are achieving our aims. The staff really enjoyed hosting your Wedding reception and commented what a lovely group of people attended and stayed at the hotel. We thank you again for your positive feedback and hope you enjoyed your Honeymoon!

Regards

Jamie & Tara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I work for a offshore oil and gas company and we had a long period of work in the Hampshire / Alton area , as a company we have used various hotels around the Alton and Basingstoke area but we found The Market Hotel to be by far the best place to stay. From the Staff giving us a near Family feel of welcoming when we first arrived to a warming goodbye for when we left.
The stay was over a long period of 2/3 months and the service never wavered from a high standard , the staff couldn't do enough for us .
The rooms were cleaned to a high standard every day , the decor of the whole hotel is in a fantastic "funky / trendy" design which works perfectly.
they have a good selection of drinks at the bar with offers on all through the week for curry nights , cocktail deals and so on.
I have stayed at the market hotel numerous times over the last year not just work related but also socially too as i have friends who live near by and it works in both aspects of work and leisure.
the only issue i could give this hotel is sometimes it can seem a little noisy but you have to bare in mind my stay was right over christmas and new years eve and the nights that seemed a little noisy were over these busy evenings .

Room Tip: The Station Approach + Beach View
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrismx72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edenbridge
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in this hotel quite a few times over recent months, as I commute a fair distance to work.

By evening it is a lively friendly shabby-chic set of bars with great decor and themed areas. Little notes like "free hot drink for all customers between 11:30 and 12:30 just because we care about our customers!" adds a special touch.

The decor is great - a right hotchpotch of stuff that makes the place far from ordinary and always seems to attract a friendly young crowd.

The rooms are all clean, simple, again funky decor and all the staff are really friendly and helpful. Location-wise it's good because the Market Hotel sits in between a Prezzo and Pizza Express in the central pedestrian square.

Breakfast is great, served between 7:30 and 8:30. I haven't tried the other food yet but expect it is good.

Highly recommended!

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank jandliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My husband and I chose The Market Hotel for the reception do for our son's christening and as the title suggests we just couldn't have asked for more of the establishment. Both management and staff were completely helpful, friendly and efficient. Every aspect of the day and party went perfectly. The food was absolutely amazing with everyone commenting on how delicious it was (not too mention reasonable for a hot buffet). We had an amazing time and were nothing but thrilled with the amazing service we received. This was an important day for us, the first as our own new little family, we wanted it to be a day to remember, and thanks to The Market Hotel it was made to be the perfect day to remember. Thankyou so much!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JT082010, Owner at The Market Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear valued customer,

Thank you for your positive feedback and comments on this special day for your family and friends. We pride ourselves of providing a great service and location for functions and we are pleased both you and your guests enjoyed your afternoon. I will pass on your positive feedback to my staff and I am glad you found them both welcoming and helpful. We are delighted to have contributed to your perfect day to remember and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Market Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
0.1 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#2 of 3 in Alton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alton House Hotel
Alton House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Alton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
7.8 mi away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Three Horseshoes
The Three Horseshoes
#1 of 1 in East Worldham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#6 of 16 in Alton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
1.6 mi away
White Hart
White Hart
#1 of 1 in Holybourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Market Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Market Hotel

Property: The Market Hotel
Address: 3 Market Square, Alton GU34 1HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Alton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Market Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Market Hotel Alton, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing