We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bit Dated, Noisy in rooms, good food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Alton House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alton House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alton
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Bit Dated, Noisy in rooms, good food.”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This hotel is pleasant but a bit dated, we were in room 39 right at the far end of the extension, room was very hot and leaving both velux windows fully open did not cool it down. The biggest problem was you could hear everything in the corridor and the private room next door was I assume used as a shower room for staff as it was v loud and at 6am was not well received.

The food in the evening was very good, I had a rib eye steak with pepper sauce, which was one of the best I have had, staff were attentive, if a little bored, there was not much going on, car park was full and seven people in bar and restaurant.

Room Tip: Avoid room 39
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    109
    85
    46
    26
See reviews for
75
110
19
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Grasmere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Where do I start .well the good points .I arrived around 2.-2.30 pm to a very nice lady called mel who had a lovley smile and she checked me in to room 26 which a as clean as you would expect from a 3 star hotel .everything was perfect and I could not faulit this hotel or anyone in it.the food was 2nd to none the service was 5 star even though its 3 star hotel .I was made to feel like family as it was nice to see some faces I knew years ago still there.i hope they did not mind me telling them the old storys of the old place.it was ideal to explore alton and go on the watercress line ..the weather made it as well as I could not have asked for better.i know thaqt a lot of people moan about this little gem but if you don't like it don't go back its only 3 stars not 5 and everyone makes mistakes there only human after all .I would go ijnto a rant here but trip advisor would not print it so ill keep it clean .I will say that this hotel could do with a few more staff ( take note powers that be)but with what they have they do a great job.im already looking forward to going back /special mention to.ann,mell(goodl luck with the baby)mell smith (dm)sam emma George ,
the other lady on reception.louise,sarah ,if I have forgottem anyone sorry.see you all next time .take care.

Room Tip: remember this is a 3 star hotel not a five star so don't expect a 5 star service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baggy4711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Paper thin walls made for a rather unpleasant experience as we were forced to listen to our neighbour's enjoying themselves at 1am. Thing is we could also hear their conversation afterwards, word for word, as if they were in the same room. Then there were the buckets outside our door to catch the drips from a leaking ceiling, and the awful service and disgruntled staff at breakfast too, which was rather farcical. It's all a bit dated, and staff seem to mostly be students who either don't know or don't care how to work in a hotel, including the cleaning staff who was wearing leggings and not much else! In all, not a great experience, surprised to see so many good reviews!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alton hotels

Dereham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

It may well look a bit like Fawlty Towers, but there is definitely no Manuel or Sybill in sight. Staff are all very pleasant and very helpful, and the food is tasty and very reasonably priced - very much like traditional pub-style fare. Single room (number 11) was too small really, it was impossible to work at the desk as the chair could not fit between the desk and the bed. Internet, although free (as it really should be if they want to attract business clients), was very erratic, and the bathroom was miniscule as well, with nowhere to store toiletries, especially when using the shower (shower door broken, but no problem). Noise from main road was not too bad, and all in all reasonable value for money using Late rooms special prices, but expensive if using hotel's own rates. Chef did well with my special request for an off-menu dessert, which Nick organised and which Debbie tried to enhance with an OTT strawberry!!

Room Tip: Go for a bigger room if you want space to work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PM02-08-44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I worked in the area and stayed at the Alton House Hotel every week day for three months.
(Mar 2013 > May 2013).

The hotel is in an ideal location for commuting to London/Winchester/Basingstoke.
It is clean, has spacious rooms, excellent food and has very reasonable room rates.

The manager and the entire staff are all very friendly and nothing seems to be too much trouble.

I will definitely use the Alton House again whenever I’m in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fly2work
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
208 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

There are a number of pubs in Alton, but Alton House is more orientated towards accommodation. The hotel consists of a number of rooms over two levels with a layout of the rooms that is somewhat of a maze but to some this might be a charm. There are conference and wedding facilities for those occasions. The bar / dinning room is modern and functional. There is a guest lounge at reception and plenty of parking.
The room we were allocated was large and clean, bathroom was also large with typical UK complicated plumbing.
The buffet breakfast was typical with plenty of choice and dinner was resonable with lots of choice from lighter meals to more formal mains. I think the hotel would best be recommended to the commercial traveller or for a group occasion in Alton
Overall while there has been some renovations there are signs of wear that lets down the presentation.

Room Tip: There are rooms at the rear away from the main road that will provide quieter conditions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theredman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I got married at Alton House Hotel at the end of May 2013.

From the word go the staff were very accomodating and very helpful even when the wedding planner wasn't around.

We stayed the night before the wedding in th cardinal suite, which was a very spcaious room facing the front of thr hotel. It was clean, light and comfortable.

The Restaurant food was incredible, it was all so tasty, a group of 6 of us had dinner the night before and two of them children even ate all their dinner. Knowing that the food was excellant, i could tell my guests would be in for a right treat the next day for our wedding BBQ (which didn't disappoint either.

I would like to say a special thanks to Ann, who even the night before was super fridnly and so lovely, on the day of the wedding she tended to the top table and was so polite and even produced me and my husband our first cork from a bottle of bubbly, was such a lovely touch, Thank You.

Breakfast the next morning, was usual help yourself to cooked items/cereals and fruits, They would bring toast/tea and coffee to your table.

I would agree with some reviews that it is sometimes hard to find someone for the bar to serve you but it didn't really phase me. Im british so i am born to Queue and wait.

The day went as smoothly as possible and Mel even helped sort out my DJ situation, which the day before the wedding i really didnt't need, the staff really do go that extra mile.

Our wedding day was perfect, so thank you Alton House Hotel for making it so memorable, and helping with lots of the finer details.

The new Mr & Mrs Ellis.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
0.4 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#2 of 3 in Alton
446 reviews
7.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel
6.8 mi away
Farnham House Hotel
Farnham House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Farnham
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
21.1 mi away
Manor House Hotel & Spa
Manor House Hotel & Spa
#11 of 11 in Guildford
739 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Three Horseshoes
The Three Horseshoes
#1 of 1 in East Worldham
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alton House Hotel

Property: Alton House Hotel
Address: Alton House Hotel Normandy Street, Alton GU34 1DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Alton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alton House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alton House Hotel Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing