We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were treated much better than expected”
Review of Alton House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alton House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alton
Brasilia, DF
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“We were treated much better than expected”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stopped by this hotel by chance. In mid July, my wife, my two boys and I were following some cities related to Jane Austen's life and work, without no reservation at all. The first good looking hotel we found, we stopped to ask for vacant rooms. Luckly they had a family room which was very comfortable for all of us. The boys even slept in a separate room. Our bed was very comfy too. But, that's not all. It was evening and we wanted to have dinner. We were so very well treated by the guy in the restaurant and bar, which unfortunatelly I don't know the name. He was very nice with our boys and with us, even though I was the only one who spoke English. We are brazilian. All the food we had was delicious in the restaurant. But the staff being so nice with us made it even better. Next morning, the breaktast too was more than expected. Apart from the buffet, we were also offered toasts or other hot dishes that they would prepare immediately. The lady was very attentive too. Although the stay costed a bit more than I had planned, it was worth every cent. Very welcoming hotel in Alton with free parking in front. I miss those days in England, and the White Hart was one of the best moments.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tarcisio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    113
    90
    48
    29
See reviews for
78
115
19
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This is a tired hotel in need of TLC, we had an overnight stay while travelling, glad it was only one night.

Staff were very indifferent, rooms a little shabby and carpets tired, however beds were very comfortable, breakfast buffet could be much better.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roughguidereader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

When we first walked in the room we thought that it looked fairly nice and clean. Then no flushing toliet, and when we complained to reception we got told it would be sorted in the morning. It's morning and still not flushing. We also found ourselves waking up thinking we'd been put in an oven. Oh yes the thermostat is broken on the radiator and to make that worse we are above the kitchen, so hot anyway on this hot day. It's also nice being woken up to load bass thumping music and staff shouting at each other. These things aren't new fangled gadgets the flushing toliet has been around for centuries and at the price of the room you expect that.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guy-Parslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alton hotels

Southampton
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Stayed overnight at this pleasant hotel -room and bathroom fine , bed comfortable and along our corridor it was very quiet and we did not hear any other guests moving around.
The breakfast food was good but a warning -everyone seemed to ascend on the breakfast area around 9-15ish every table was full -only 2 waiting staff on to serve all the tables - young lady was doing the best she could clearing tables, getting clients tea/coffee toast etc but as we had to wait for a table for 3 of us ( some couples had taken tables for 4 )I felt that perhaps there should be more staff on at breakfast time, especially as the hotel was busy.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElizSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flayosc, France
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I see there a wide variety of opinions about this hotel and having spent a couple of nights there I can see why. The room was decent enough though the plumbing in the bathroom not great, bed comfortable and quite a spacious room. Bar area lacking in atmosphere, comfort and decent simple bar snacks. We were initially told they were available until 9.30, then told they weren't and when we saw the menu were rather underwhelmed.
Breakfasts were good, traditional English and if you like big portions you will be happy enough. Service was friendly and welcoming, just rather a tired feel to the whole place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welshmanabroad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Arrived following a booking with Late rooms.com and was asked to pay in full for the room before we'd even seen it. Maybe they have a problem with guests leaving without paying, I don't know but seamed a little unusual and slightly abrubt.
The place is a little shabby but otherwise satisfacory and i guess reflects the state of the economy nevertheless it is obviously popular.
Good breakfast I must say & good parking

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magoireachtaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berks
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Stayed for two nights at the peak of the heatwave, lack of aircon. made room very hot, but we don't have heawaves that often so normally should not be a problem. It is on a main road so traffic noise is inevitable but seemed to quieten down by midnight.
The room was a good size but the bed was a very small double, with a very soft mattress.
Breakfast both mornings was very good, although a buffet, the food was fresh and not the usual dried out offerings one expects at a buffet.
We ate in the restaurant one night and again the food was good, very good service and a bonus of being able to have coffer on a comfortable settee away from the table.
All the staff we encountered were very friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jupiter24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
0.3 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#2 of 3 in Alton
458 reviews
4.9 mi away
Travelodge Alton Four Marks
7.5 mi away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alresford
209 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Three Horseshoes
The Three Horseshoes
#1 of 1 in East Worldham
134 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#6 of 16 in Alton
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alton House Hotel

Property: Alton House Hotel
Address: Normandy Street, Alton GU34 1DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Alton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alton House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alton House Hotel is a country house hotel set in the idyllic market town of Alton, Hampshire. We offer good quality en-suite accommodation, excellent conference and meeting facilities and we are a well renowned wedding venue. Our hotel has an excellent restaurant and bar area for residents and guests to enjoy. Our award winning gardens provide an excellent venue for summer weddings and functions in the sun. The hotel is only two minutes walk from the railway station and town centre. Guest parking is free, just register your vehicle at reception. The hotel is close to the main cities and towns of Basingstoke, Winchester, Bordon and Petersfield with easy access to the M3 motorway. Local attractions include the famous Jane Austen House, the Watercress Steam Railway, the Curtis Museum, Gilbert White’s House and St Lawrence Church. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Alton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alton House Hotel Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing