We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm friendly welcome”
Review of Alton House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alton House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alton
Bishops
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Warm friendly welcome”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We arrived at the hotel and unfortunately our booking hadn't been received from the agent but the reception staff got straight onto it and could not have been more helpful.
Yes the hotel may be a bit tired looking but what it lacks in decor it certainly makes up for in friendliness and great food.
Even though the staff were a little thin on the ground in the evening we still received great service and were not kept waiting.
The rooms were quite large and very comfortable. All in all a very nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    111
    87
    46
    26
See reviews for
76
111
19
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Large room and hotel in good location.
Only downside was an outside stair way outside our room and some slightly noisy fellow guests returning in early hours.
Good to have on site parking so close to town.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

OK from the outside, but inside is showing its age a bit. Shower not working well. Breakfast OK, but dishes were not being replenished - if we'd come down towards the end of breakfast time we'd quite likely have ended up with less choice (and we were only given half a cup of coffee each!). Bed was comfortable thankfully.

Room Tip: Don't have one over a party!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thebin16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alton hotels

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel was ok it had good facilities for the wedding although I think they could have made more if the outside area for photos. The rooms were a good size, the bathroom was clean although water pressure appeared to be a problem. Breakfast had a good selection.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Tired, chipped, stained room. Wifi advertised but payable in room - free in bar area though. Breakfast passable but not fantastic. Staff disinterested with a couple of exceptions.

The real issue for me was the front door, locked at midnight and only opened by the laughably surly night porter if you call him on the phone (but that's fine because we all have mobiles now, right?)

I won't be back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank the992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Really enjoyed our short break here . Everyone of the staff were very helpful and very friendly, food good, rooms cosy, clean and comfortable This must be our fourth visit here, we used to live in Alton and it is an ideal place to visit our friends We will be back next Spring

Room Tip: Try room 42 or 44 Both have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WelshWebbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed for two weeks and I THOROUGHLY enjoyed it. Single room, comfy bed and bath with shower. Staff couldn't be more helpful when I had to cancel and re-book. Front desk attended to my every need. DELICIOUS "Full English" breakfasts with eggs to order. WONDERFUL "Sunday Lunch". Only downside - having to go to Lobby to connect to free internet. I normally stay in "McHOTELs" worldwide, with a lot more "Decor" and "modern fittings and appointments" but this was a real treat! Alton town, Sainsbury's, Laundromat, train station and what must be seven pubs all within walking distance. For Drivers, easy access to main "A" roads, that connect to Motorways. Great home base for touring south east,and train direct to Waterloo. Bottom line - Price was VERY reasonable. Recommend - UNRESERVEDLY!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellinVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
0.3 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#2 of 3 in Alton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
7.5 mi away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
6.8 mi away
Farnham House Hotel
Farnham House Hotel
#4 of 6 in Farnham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
The Three Horseshoes
The Three Horseshoes
#1 of 1 in East Worldham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#6 of 16 in Alton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alton House Hotel

Property: Alton House Hotel
Address: Normandy Street, Alton GU34 1DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Alton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alton House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alton House Hotel is a country house hotel set in the idyllic market town of Alton, Hampshire. We offer good quality en-suite accommodation, excellent conference and meeting facilities and we are a well renowned wedding venue. Our hotel has an excellent restaurant and bar area for residents and guests to enjoy. Our award winning gardens provide an excellent venue for summer weddings and functions in the sun. The hotel is only two minutes walk from the railway station and town centre. Guest parking is free, just register your vehicle at reception. The hotel is close to the main cities and towns of Basingstoke, Winchester, Bordon and Petersfield with easy access to the M3 motorway. Local attractions include the famous Jane Austen House, the Watercress Steam Railway, the Curtis Museum, Gilbert White’s House and St Lawrence Church. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alton House Hotel Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing