We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super large room extensive menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Alton
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“super large room extensive menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Hi I stayed at the Swan Hotel Alton and opted for the superior room which was vey large and had a lounge incorporated. Room was spotless as was the bathroom . The restaurant facilities were excellent breakfast and dinner menu's extensive and good value . All day bar facilities and good parking a bonus.

Room Tip: choose the superior room well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    151
    103
    68
    38
See reviews for
74
186
26
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

As what we presume is an old coaching inn, it has been updated sympathetically. The reception welcome was pleasant. But there was no offer of help with luggage. The floor of the reception was an old tiled floor spoilt by splodges of chewing gum adherent and quite old looking. Could no one try to remove them? I think we were in one of the furthest away rooms, and yes progress is windy and up and down, but to be expected given the age of the building. As I opened our room door I exclaimed "it is as hot as hades". We tried to open the window, but the sash was broken. We wedged the window open with the waste bin, which by its dented appearance had been put to similar usage before. The room was clean and tidy and the bed linen simple and appealing.

The bathroom was tired. The tap over the sink dribbled when turned on at full capacity. The shower curtain was mildewed. When I took a shower before going out for the evening, I discovered that there was an old sliver of soap in the higher soap dish, so had obviously not been cleaned properly. The toilet brush container was also stained and dusty. The lights took a good 10 minutes before it was light enough to do anything useful.

There was a desk fan, which made such a terrible racket, we tried to lessen the vibratory noise by standing it on top of a hand towel.

Sleep was difficult due to the remaining heat. By the time we checked out the room was a pleasant temperature and had the window been open all day before we checked in, it would have been a much more pleasant stay. We had to sleep with the curtains open to try and get some cool night breeze into the room.

After a poor night of rest (despite comfortable beds) we went down for breakfast. The menu looked appetising and the staff serving were very helpful and hardworking. I ordered Eggs Benedict whilst my spouse had scrambled eggs and smoked salmon. The waitress came back to say they had "no sauce" for the Eggs Benedict so I opted for kippers instead. Toast was quickly on our table, but was not crisp. I do not know if it was made fresh, and maybe it was, but it was crammed into a toast rack so tightly that the steam had no where to escape so just made the toast soggy and unappealing. My kippers were so overcooked as to be like orange cardboard cut-outs of kippers. I sent them back. The scrambled eggs were also so overcooked as to be dried out. The smoked salmon was lovely. My second batch of kippers was also lovely.

As we checked out, the not quite so welcoming as previous day receptionist asked me how my stay had been. As I ranked up the list of problems, I was told that lots of windows were broken. They had to remove them to replace the sashes. So why had they not been mended? "I can only report it!" When I moved on to the subject of breakfast, I was assured that all the food was cooked freshly by the chef. If that was the case, was the chef unable to make a Hollandaise sauce? "We buy it in!" Would not any chef worthy of the name check every plate of food before leaving the kitchen? No reply to that one. Was the chef unable to make Hollandaise?

So with a little more effort, this could be a lovely place to stay but I feel that the minions are working really hard with little effective management to ensure that all the little niggly things are sorted out BEFORE the guest checks in.

Room Tip: Not at the front of the hotel, very noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selseysilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We booked one night at the Alton as we were visiting friends in the area. We arrived early but the receptionist showed us upstairs and we were delighted with the Jane Austen room which had a four poster bed. The room looked onto the High Street but we heard no noise in the evening. The dinner was very good and the breakfast was delicious and served very promptly. The staff were all very good and we would be more than happy to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine644369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOVER
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Having spent the preceeding five nights at another hotel from this chain, we were disappointed to find the menus for both were identical. A little more variety would have been nice.
This is an old hotel and the rooms we stayed in (16 and 25) were far from an ideal home from home. In summer these rooms are far too hot. The sash window in 25 did not work. If you open the secondary double glazing to try and cool the rooms then you have to put up with foul language and shouting from the "chavs and yobs" that this nice little town seems to attract at evening and night. At times they were even allowed into the hotel bar. Various receptionists were unable to tell us how to call room to room from the hotel telephones. There were no proper instructions about this in the room welcome packs. Also room documentation indicates breakfast ends at noon, I do not think that this is correct. The modern wicker chairs at the back of the hotel need a good steam clean the dirt transfers to your clothes, and ashtrays at outside-side of the hotel were never emptied. We need to spend a little more money next time when we visit this area.

Room Tip: If its a hot summer bring an electric fan
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MOSCOW_PETE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellenstein, Grevenmacher, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

This could be such a good place if it were not for the penny-pinching attitude of senior management. On our arrival it was clear that the stand-in hotel manager, a very capable Polish lady, was rushed off her feet with her regular duties and obliged to assist her colleagues in everything. The room was spacious and comfortable enough, if not entirely clean, but the worst aspect of our stay was the slow pace of service in the dining-room. The staff were courteous if inexperienced, but our order was overlooked leading to a one-hour wait for food. Again, this was clearly due to the shortage of staff. We would stay in the hotel again, but would certainly not dine there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Reviews for this hotel seemed very good in comparison to the hotel wedding we were guests at, so we chose this hotel to stay in, as it was only a 5 minute walk away.
We were greeted by a very friendly receptionist and were directed to a very nice room with a four poster bed - lovely. Although overlooking the high street the noise was minimal - and was no bother to us (as city dwellers we are used to a darn sight more commotion!). The hotel is old and is creaky and the floorboards are squeaky - but you get used to it. Our group arrived early in the afternoon and sampled the lunchtime menu. The service was very good and genuinely friendly. A range of ciabatta rolls and fish and chips were sampled - fair fayre as they say. The house sauvignon blanc was very good, but my partner was not impressed that the IPA 'ran out' and on a warm Friday afternoon too! Perhaps the bar manager needs to check his barrel stocks a bit more often!
After a lovely sleep we ventured down to the breakfast room, and like all the other areas, was clean and comfortable. Unfortunately, breakfast service is where the hotel lets itself down. Food orders were taking promptly - but that's where the promptness stopped. A coffee was requested and when, after nearly 20 minutes of waiting, the waitress (when asked if coffee was coming soon) apologised, then simply went to the breakfast bar and picked up a percolator and poured the coffee - to which my friend advised "well if I'd know it was there I could've done that" - which was responded with a "hmmmm"...There weren't signs/posters indicating what was on offer at the breakfast bar - it's all well and good if you (the hotel staff) know, but if your guests don't know it just winds them up. I did enjoy playing 'guess the cereal' and ' is this milk semi/full fat or skimmed?' and even more fun with 'just cos the colour of the juice is orange doesn't mean that it's orange juice' !!
We ordered a couple of their 'full English' breakfasts that, for reasons we still don't understand, put the kitchen into - according to out waitress - "a bit of a 'tizzy' and that's why it's taking so long", but we were the only people in the room waiting for food...?? The tea they supplied was weak and warm and the 'full English' breakfast - when it finally arrived - was not really worth waiting for. The hotel is ideally situated in the high street, with safe (and free) parking. Shame about the breakfast - but would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starsaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Selected this hotel for a meal in this rather quirky village/town. Very atmospheric and quaint place and the meal deal was pretty average, but fine.
Sadly they appear to have quite a problem with co-ordinating the delivery of meals and drinks the most importantly the bill.
In fairness there were some new staff and cetainly not a shortage of staff either. We were asked 3 time by different staff if our meal was OK - gettting slightly irritated by the 3rd time!
Whilst we had a fairly pleasant experience it was noticable this whilst we were dining there we noticed a nearby family group where they fogotten the drinks, a german couple who were waiting for there bill and appear to have been sat down out of the resturant area whilst they sorted it out and yet another gentleman who was given someone elses bill and similarly plonked down whilst they sorted it out!
Come on guys sort it out its such a shame for a lovely busy place for you not to.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magoireachtaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
0.4 mi away
Alton House Hotel
Alton House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Alton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
7.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel
9.0 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alresford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Langrish House
Langrish House
#1 of 3 in Petersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
8.1 mi away
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
2.0 mi away
The Three Horseshoes
The Three Horseshoes
#1 of 1 in East Worldham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel

Property: Swan Hotel
Address: High Street, Alton GU34 1AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Alton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Swan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan Hotel Alton near Farnham and Basingstoke, is located in the Hampshire town of Alton with easy access via the A31 making it an ideal base if visiting Farnham, Aldershot, Winchester, Basingstoke. The Swan Hotel dates back to the 16th century and was a main stage on the old London-Southampton coaching route, and the Swan Hotel has been catering handsomely to passing traffic since the 16th century. Tradition has it that the poet Edmund Spenser, Sir Francis Drake, Queen Elizabeth I and the Earl of Essex all broke their journeys here. Another famous guest was Lord Nelson. Our guests include many people of sense and sensibility - that is to say, devotees of Jane Austen, who make their pilgrimage to her cottage in the Chawton, where Sense and Sensibility and Pride and Prejudice, were both written, during their stay with us. The cottage now is a popular tourist attraction and museum dedicated to Jane's life and work. Today the Swan Hotel is popular with locals and travellers alike and along with the new refurbishment is an excellent base for exploring the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Alton, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing