We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 star wedding in a 3 star hotel!”
Review of Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Alton
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“5 star wedding in a 3 star hotel!”
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

We had our wedding at The Swan on 27th September this year. I was concerned during the build up to the wedding as the hotel did not seem very organised. This was until new management took over and I was called by one of the lovely receptionists and put in contact with the new events coordinator. Between the two of them our wedding was spectacular.

Any problems that arose were sorted out subtly and quickly. Our reception ran without a hitch (not that I as the bride noticed) and we were made to feel so welcome and special on our day.

Our room was spotless (they even gave us a card and confetti). Our food was lovely, although service at breakfast was slow. We had family staying at the hotel who all said the rooms were great and the only problem was some mistakes on the hotels system on checking out.

We cannot thank the staff enough and intend to come for lunch to show off the wedding pictures!









Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravelLoveBug75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    154
    103
    68
    38
See reviews for
74
188
27
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Where do I start stayed at the swan 20th sept . Everywhere was filthy dirty the room was disgusting I have never felt so dirty could not wait to check out would have gone else where if I had known this once lovely hotel had badly gone down hill .Where has the old managers gone? Have they took the old housekeepers with them the only ones I saw we're kids loitering on the landings .Green king seriously need to sort this out as this lovely hotel is going on downward spiral path such a shame .

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Grace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alton hotels

Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We have stayed here on the same weekend (Goodwood revival) for the last 4 years. We have encountered a problem or two (including a room being cancelled by their booking system) but each and every one of these were dealt with consummately by the staff.
Being a Greene King property the beers are a little predictable, and the restaurant has become a little more "generic" over the years but the quality is good while the range is not exciting.
Try and avoid a room at the front as apart from the locals being vocal until gone 3am on a Friday night the bathroom has clear glass on the upper half meaning buildings opposite with windows in the loft have a nice view in. Running the shower hot to steam up the windows flew in the face of the "kind to the environment, don't wash towels every day" request. The temperature scale on the shower is more of an average of the two temperatures it fluctuates between than a definite value.
Not sure if booking again for next year as the restaurant was a good reason to stay a 50 minute drive from Goodwood and the staff were always brilliant. We could get "Hunters Chicken" in a fair few places in between.

Room Tip: Avoid the original rooms at the front (noisier from locals plus noisy floor with other guests walkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MC_PetC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sardinia, Italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Staff in general were friendly. Free and functional wi-fi. Room was clean and spacious with tea, coffee, biscuits available in the room. Fittings in the bathroom were a bit worn-out, but still functional. Unfortunately, the hotel used Made-in-China cheap toiletries which didn't make a good impression. One could hear the noise of footsteps or of other fellow residents opening the doors from the corridor when staying in the room, but that is a common problem with all old buildings. Breakfast was generous and good - cooked breakfast was fresh and well-made, though the breakfast buffet could be improved by not serving freezing cold croissants and viennoiseries. I'd recommend for a weekend-stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuwei42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at The Swan. We're glad to say that we have recently reviewed all of the toiletries that we use, and are in the process of changing them for a much superior product. We do listen and try to respond to all of the feedback that we receive so appreciate the time taken to leave it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Hi I stayed at the Swan Hotel Alton and opted for the superior room which was vey large and had a lounge incorporated. Room was spotless as was the bathroom . The restaurant facilities were excellent breakfast and dinner menu's extensive and good value . All day bar facilities and good parking a bonus.

Room Tip: choose the superior room well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

As what we presume is an old coaching inn, it has been updated sympathetically. The reception welcome was pleasant. But there was no offer of help with luggage. The floor of the reception was an old tiled floor spoilt by splodges of chewing gum adherent and quite old looking. Could no one try to remove them? I think we were in one of the furthest away rooms, and yes progress is windy and up and down, but to be expected given the age of the building. As I opened our room door I exclaimed "it is as hot as hades". We tried to open the window, but the sash was broken. We wedged the window open with the waste bin, which by its dented appearance had been put to similar usage before. The room was clean and tidy and the bed linen simple and appealing.

The bathroom was tired. The tap over the sink dribbled when turned on at full capacity. The shower curtain was mildewed. When I took a shower before going out for the evening, I discovered that there was an old sliver of soap in the higher soap dish, so had obviously not been cleaned properly. The toilet brush container was also stained and dusty. The lights took a good 10 minutes before it was light enough to do anything useful.

There was a desk fan, which made such a terrible racket, we tried to lessen the vibratory noise by standing it on top of a hand towel.

Sleep was difficult due to the remaining heat. By the time we checked out the room was a pleasant temperature and had the window been open all day before we checked in, it would have been a much more pleasant stay. We had to sleep with the curtains open to try and get some cool night breeze into the room.

After a poor night of rest (despite comfortable beds) we went down for breakfast. The menu looked appetising and the staff serving were very helpful and hardworking. I ordered Eggs Benedict whilst my spouse had scrambled eggs and smoked salmon. The waitress came back to say they had "no sauce" for the Eggs Benedict so I opted for kippers instead. Toast was quickly on our table, but was not crisp. I do not know if it was made fresh, and maybe it was, but it was crammed into a toast rack so tightly that the steam had no where to escape so just made the toast soggy and unappealing. My kippers were so overcooked as to be like orange cardboard cut-outs of kippers. I sent them back. The scrambled eggs were also so overcooked as to be dried out. The smoked salmon was lovely. My second batch of kippers was also lovely.

As we checked out, the not quite so welcoming as previous day receptionist asked me how my stay had been. As I ranked up the list of problems, I was told that lots of windows were broken. They had to remove them to replace the sashes. So why had they not been mended? "I can only report it!" When I moved on to the subject of breakfast, I was assured that all the food was cooked freshly by the chef. If that was the case, was the chef unable to make a Hollandaise sauce? "We buy it in!" Would not any chef worthy of the name check every plate of food before leaving the kitchen? No reply to that one. Was the chef unable to make Hollandaise?

So with a little more effort, this could be a lovely place to stay but I feel that the minions are working really hard with little effective management to ensure that all the little niggly things are sorted out BEFORE the guest checks in.

Room Tip: Not at the front of the hotel, very noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selseysilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We booked one night at the Alton as we were visiting friends in the area. We arrived early but the receptionist showed us upstairs and we were delighted with the Jane Austen room which had a four poster bed. The room looked onto the High Street but we heard no noise in the evening. The dinner was very good and the breakfast was delicious and served very promptly. The staff were all very good and we would be more than happy to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine644369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
0.3 mi away
Alton House Hotel
Alton House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Alton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
7.7 mi away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
9.0 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alresford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Langrish House
Langrish House
#1 of 3 in Petersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
8.1 mi away
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
2.0 mi away
The Three Horseshoes
The Three Horseshoes
#1 of 1 in East Worldham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel

Property: Swan Hotel
Address: High Street, Alton GU34 1AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Alton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Swan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan Hotel Alton near Farnham and Basingstoke, is located in the Hampshire town of Alton with easy access via the A31 making it an ideal base if visiting Farnham, Aldershot, Winchester, Basingstoke. The Swan Hotel dates back to the 16th century and was a main stage on the old London-Southampton coaching route, and the Swan Hotel has been catering handsomely to passing traffic since the 16th century. Tradition has it that the poet Edmund Spenser, Sir Francis Drake, Queen Elizabeth I and the Earl of Essex all broke their journeys here. Another famous guest was Lord Nelson. Our guests include many people of sense and sensibility - that is to say, devotees of Jane Austen, who make their pilgrimage to her cottage in the Chawton, where Sense and Sensibility and Pride and Prejudice, were both written, during their stay with us. The cottage now is a popular tourist attraction and museum dedicated to Jane's life and work. Today the Swan Hotel is popular with locals and travellers alike and along with the new refurbishment is an excellent base for exploring the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Alton, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing