We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little tired and some bad rooms, but great staff”
Review of Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Alton
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A little tired and some bad rooms, but great staff”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed six days at the Swan, the first two in one of the rooms facing the street which was very noisy. Although no particular events were going on in Alton, there were loud voices on and off till around 2:00 AM both nights. Since there was no A/C, we had no choice but to leave the windows open, and it made for poor sleep. After that we asked to be transferred to a room not facing the street which was much better - very quiet and also more spacious and comfortable.

It's a historic hotel and the appearance is a little tired, especially the carpeting. I didn't care much about that, but it would likely bother some people. The restaurant was okay - nothing spectacular or memorable, but nothing wrong with the food either. There was a good selection of fruit, bread, croissants, pain au chocolate, and cereal at breakfast in addition to the regular full English and some egg dishes. Service was good.

The staff deserve particular praise, including the very organized young woman at the front desk who managed to get a package to me despite it having the wrong last name and the wrong room number on it, and was always happy to help in any way. The maids did an excellent job and were quick to offer help if they saw us struggling with luggage or the door.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street can be very noisy. Some rooms are much larger than others, so it's worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littorea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thanks very much for your thoughts. The team will enjoy reading what you said about them and will no doubt look to improve on the other areas you mention
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    155
    103
    69
    38
See reviews for
76
193
26
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

just got back from staying at the swan. its an ideal location for those who want to explore the area. easy to get to from London. the hotel has free car parking for guests, which is great. the bar and public areas are well presented, for the most part, the staff friendly and the restaurant offering really good tasty meals at a very reasonable price. breakfast was great, very tasty and lots of it BUT the room we stayed in wasn't great. number 7, tired, stains on the wall paper as you came into the room. bathroom a tile chipped and just badly laid out. the toilet was separate and just horrid in a horrid little room. grotty. toiletries in bathroom weren't great. the company that owns the swan are a big company and just need to pay attention to detail to make it a memorable stay for all the right reasons.

Room Tip: don't ask me, cause it didn't work in my case!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissiechris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thanks very much for taking the time to leave your thoughts. We're glad you enjoyed your time in Alton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed for two nights as part of a two-day, Jane Austen walk from Winchester to Alton. We were warmly greeted and showed to our room just outside the main hotel building. The room was a very good size for a double room, more than enough room to swing a cat! The room was very comfortable and the bathroom fine.

We had to ask for some assistance with the windows and were helped with no problems. We then decided to have dinner at the hotel which was on average pretty good. We both ordered burgers with the beef burger better than the pork burger.

Both nights we found that the walls are too thin, we could quite clearly hear conversation and the TV from the room next to ours. In addition the floor above was so creaky any movement was loud. Adding carpets would get rid of this issue. However we were knackered after our days walk so didn't have a problem having a good nights sleep!

Access to the hotel is brilliant, the railway station is very close, the bus stop four doors down and the car park on the hotel site. There are lots of places around to have a meal or a drink, all within easy walking distance.

Overall a very comfortable hotel but the bottom floor bedrooms need to be sorted for noise coming through the walls and ceiling.

Room Tip: Try and get a top floor room so at least you don't get the noise through the ceiling!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed here recently for a family get together with my husband & 8yr old son. Booked family room so was annoyed when found no bed for my son. Although the room had tea & coffee making facilities there was only one cup between three. Shower didn't work very well & bath plug hole was blocked so you ended up having to turn shower off to allow water to drain away so bath didn't over flow. Toilet roll holder was broken & the two towels we shared were grey instead of white. The breakfast was nice but hairs in my tea cup was not. The girls that served us breakfast were very pleasant & nothing was too much trouble but they were quite scruffy. The most alarming thing I found was four toasters plugged into an extension lead Sat on a chair, I'm no expert on health & safety but this just looked very unsafe to me. Really not worth the £115 a night we paid.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alton hotels

Alicante, Comunidad Valenciana, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We have stayed at "The Swan Hotel" in Alton many times, and would recommend this Hotel to anyone, Good Clean Rooms ,Excellent Food , and Great Friendly Staff . I had my 70th Birthday Party, and every thing was fantastic ,Well done "The Swan" We will be back in October, see you then.

John & Daphne From Spain

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for you very kind comment's the team looks forward to seeing you in october.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed at the hotel over a weekend and had a very pleasant stay. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable.
I had dinner in the hotel on one of the nights and it was quite busy but saying that service was excellent despite the number of people in the restaurant! Food was delicious and managed to tuck into three courses.
Really pleasant staff and I've already booked my next visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhineyPuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for your kind comments we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Just had a mid week evening meal at The Swan. Advertising outside Golden Years Menu, main meal for £5.29. We asked for a table and were pointed to one that was free, we went and sat down and a young man came and asked what we would like to drink.
There were no menus on the table and after a while we asked another waitress for a menu. She came back with menus and asked if we had ordered drinks. We said yes, she said she would chase them up. The menu did not have the offer on it so when I inquired about the sign outside she said that was only available until 6pm, she said there was something on the sign to say so. We checked the sign on leaving and nowhere did it give the limitations of the offer - extremely misleading!
The food was very nice and we would have liked to have ordered a sweet, however we sat with our dirty plates in front of us for so long we gave up and went to the till to pay. When the waitress asked if everything was ok I said yes but we would have ordered a sweet but had waited too long. There was no apology forthcoming. In this day and age I would have expected some form of apology.
I have eaten here several times before with no problems.
The toilets need a good clean, not what you expect from a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosamond_B33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you very much for you kind comments, we have had a team meeting regarding our offers and the team are now fully aware on when the offers run.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
0.3 mi away
Alton House Hotel
Alton House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Alton
362 reviews
4.6 mi away
Travelodge Alton Four Marks
9.0 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alresford
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
13.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
983 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Three Horseshoes
The Three Horseshoes
#1 of 1 in East Worldham
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel

Property: Swan Hotel
Address: High Street, Alton GU34 1AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Alton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Swan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan Hotel Alton near Farnham and Basingstoke, is located in the Hampshire town of Alton with easy access via the A31 making it an ideal base if visiting Farnham, Aldershot, Winchester, Basingstoke. The Swan Hotel dates back to the 16th century and was a main stage on the old London-Southampton coaching route, and the Swan Hotel has been catering handsomely to passing traffic since the 16th century. Tradition has it that the poet Edmund Spenser, Sir Francis Drake, Queen Elizabeth I and the Earl of Essex all broke their journeys here. Another famous guest was Lord Nelson. Our guests include many people of sense and sensibility - that is to say, devotees of Jane Austen, who make their pilgrimage to her cottage in the Chawton, where Sense and Sensibility and Pride and Prejudice, were both written, during their stay with us. The cottage now is a popular tourist attraction and museum dedicated to Jane's life and work. Today the Swan Hotel is popular with locals and travellers alike and along with the new refurbishment is an excellent base for exploring the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Alton, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing