We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner at The Swan”
Review of Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Alton
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Dinner at The Swan”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We were staying at Alton Fourmarks Travelodge so drove into Alton for food, where there are lots of pubs and restaurants to choose from.
The Swan is a medium sized hotel.
Food is available in the bar or restaurant at the same price, so we choose to be waited on in the restaurant.
We had a great welcome by the barman and a good table in the restaurant. We had, garlic mushrooms for starter followed by Veggie Burger and proper homemade chips for main. Both were excellent, as was the service.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OOK_Librarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    154
    103
    68
    38
See reviews for
74
190
26
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed for two nights. Bedroom and bathroom were clean but found the kitchen extractor outside our window rather annoying, too hot to have the window closed.
The outside sitting area was very dirty, "fag" ends everywhere and tables needed a good clean, not a pleasant place to sit and have your morning coffee.

Room Tip: make sure you don,t have the extractor fan outside your window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Just back from a 4 night stay at the Swan. Rooms clean spacious and comfortable. We were at the back so quiet too. It is an old coaching inn so yes it creaks and groans. It's decorated to suit the character of the building, in fact the entrance was being refreshed while we were there. Good choice at breakfast and dinner.
Public rooms nicely decorated too. Staff were all very friendly and efficient. Would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Great to hear you enjoyed your time with us at The Swan. it would be lovely to see you back if you're ever in the area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pflugerville, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel was a stage stop during Jane Austen's lifetime, located close to the train station, and is within walking distance (couple of miles) to the Jane Austen House at Chawton. My room was over the pub, and therefore a bit noisy from time to time, but the room was no-frills comfortable, the bathroom clean, and all facilities worked! The pretty downstairs restaurant serves delicious meals at reasonable prices. The waitstaff's Lorraine and Maria are lovely ladies to chat with. I was there four nights, wanted to stay longer, and would/will definitely go back again. Cheers and my thanks to everyone at the Swan!

Room Tip: I had a room facing the street...I enjoyed sitting on the window ledge people watching with a good c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheriMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Lovely to hear that you had a really enjoyable stay and we will pass your thoughts on to Marie and Lorraine. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had booked in for 3 nights, but left after one. The room was terrible (toilet didn't flush, musty smells). The shower barely worked, light bulbs were not functional. The hotel is a maze of hallways and stairs. The breakfast was sub-par and the price was way too high for the value received.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTW69OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
We're sorry you did not find your stay enjoyable at the Swan and will look at the areas you mention to see where we can improve things for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alton hotels

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed one night here and enjoyed a very comfortable, well equipped traditional room, very comfy bed with nice linens, free wifi, good toiletries, excellent breakfast buffet and menu choices and free parking. Busy bar but quiet after hours, very helpful staff. Would stay again.

Room Tip: My room was above the bar on a Friday night but it was very quiet after hours. Corridor floors were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thanks Melanie for your kind words regarding your recent stay at the Swan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carshalton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Had three nights at the Swan for a wedding in Winchester and Bonhams Barn. Being the grooms parents we arranged with Michelle for the accommodation and was not disappointed. Michelle met all our requests for all the different rooms for a varied number of nights and was extremely helpful both over the weekend and the months before. We thank her for all her hard work. The rooms were very good, clean and equipped with all that we needed even an iron and ironing board. Breakfast was good but the staff seemed to find it difficult to keep all the supplies topped up but responded with asked. We would recommend the hotel and would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janet l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Great to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us a little while ago. Hopefully we'll see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
0.3 mi away
Alton House Hotel
Alton House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Alton
356 reviews
4.6 mi away
Travelodge Alton Four Marks
9.0 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alresford
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
13.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#6 of 13 in Winchester
979 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Three Horseshoes
The Three Horseshoes
#1 of 1 in East Worldham
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel

Property: Swan Hotel
Address: High Street, Alton GU34 1AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Alton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Swan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan Hotel Alton near Farnham and Basingstoke, is located in the Hampshire town of Alton with easy access via the A31 making it an ideal base if visiting Farnham, Aldershot, Winchester, Basingstoke. The Swan Hotel dates back to the 16th century and was a main stage on the old London-Southampton coaching route, and the Swan Hotel has been catering handsomely to passing traffic since the 16th century. Tradition has it that the poet Edmund Spenser, Sir Francis Drake, Queen Elizabeth I and the Earl of Essex all broke their journeys here. Another famous guest was Lord Nelson. Our guests include many people of sense and sensibility - that is to say, devotees of Jane Austen, who make their pilgrimage to her cottage in the Chawton, where Sense and Sensibility and Pride and Prejudice, were both written, during their stay with us. The cottage now is a popular tourist attraction and museum dedicated to Jane's life and work. Today the Swan Hotel is popular with locals and travellers alike and along with the new refurbishment is an excellent base for exploring the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Alton, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing