We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Upper Neatham Mill Farm Guest House
Ranked #4 of 17 Alton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Glenn, Theresa, James and Grandad made my husband and I feel part of the family on our second double week stay at the farm from Australia in 2 years. Nothing was too much trouble, and in fact in the five weeks we had in England, it was the only place my husband slept well. I couldn't recommend this amazing place more highly enough. I will be placing our booking for our next holiday in 2016, God willing, early to avoid disappointment. As I said, home away from home. Actually even better than home, my husband didn't have to cook breakfast, Glenn does an top cooked breakfast, with stories only he can tell hahaha.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottydrops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

My colleague and I stayed here for two nights while attending a training course in the area. As other reviews have said it is a lovely building in a peaceful location. Glen was really friendly and nothing was too much trouble for him even if his 'shortcut' to the training course was a bit of overgrown. Fantastic breakfast. If I ever happened to be in Alton again I would definitely stay here. Also if you're in the area pop in for a pint in the Eight Bells and ask for Nigel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Killie_Mogwai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

As lovely as this place is from the outside and its surroundings if you end up in a downstairs room you will hear exactly what the upstairs guests are doing !

This creeky floor boards mean whatever happens upstairs the downstairs guests get to know about (at least that is what I experienced)....both days I was woken up with creaky floors,toilet visits (yes you know if its a one or a two let's say)...etc.....

That said surroundings are lovely.....place is lovely and the breakfast was good but being woken early with upstairs movements isn't ideal. This is the only reason I can fault it but due to the importance of a good nights sleep at a B & B then it has to be noted.....due to the nature of the building I doubt they could remedy this which is a shame as it is a lovely place...

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank TotalTech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This lovely guest house is set in a peaceful, rural location and can be found at the end of a lane, with a bridge over a beautiful stream leading up to the entrance.The converted barn that greets you is surrounded by nice gardens with picnic tables and chairs you can use and plenty of parking space.There is an eco-friendly theme running throughout this establishment, which is used to provide the heating and hot water.
Our room no 3, was detached from the other guest rooms, it was very clean and spacious with comfortable beds, plenty of storage space and a well sized, nicely tiled bathroom with a number of bars for anyone who needs help getting in and out of baths etc. Coffee, teabags and milk are provided to enable you to make a hot drink.There is a flat screen freeview tv and a few books (the one about the local villages is very interesting), to entertain you.
Breakfasts are lovely, starting off with fruit juice and cereals, followed by a selection of cooked breakfasts, the sausages are particularly tasty and finishing with toasted home made bread and preserves. The dining room is large and very authentic with its high beamed ceilings and huge carved wooden tables and chairs.
Glen the owner is very friendly and made us feel at home, we enjoyed our chats with him over breakfast. He was happy to advise us of the best places to eat and visit in the local area, even if we did find a few of our own.
A great place to stay; quiet, peaceful and in a beautiful location. We had a lovely time.

Room Tip: Room no 3 is the largest but therefore costs a little bit more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngelaShea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I believe I've stayed in 9 different hotels in and around Farnham, but now I've found this gem I don't have to put up with them any more.

Friendly welcome, huge bed, Freeview TV with all the channels, very clean with everything you need.

Fantastic breakfast which really sets you up for the day.

This is my first choice whenever I'm in the area.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms, but there's not enough of them. Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank FaWoTu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

i honestly could not fault my stay here. The hosts were friendly with lots of tips and advice on where to eat/directions/local info. The setting, by a river, is lovely and the guest house is surrounded by beautiful garden which my host said i was welcome to use as much as i liked. the decor is very tasteful and interesting - especially the breakfast room, which has a window out to the garden and enormous carved wooden tables and chairs. My room was very nice, immaculately clean, decorated in a cheerful yellow with interesting art prints on the walls and a lovely desk/bureau, which was great as i'd come away to do some writing. Breakfasts were great - there was a huge choice and all very tasty and hearty - from healthy fruits and cereals (plus home made apple juice) to kippers, fry ups and even full breakfast vegetarian option. All in all, excellent value and a very, very pleasant atmosphere to enjoy a break in.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The whole experience started on exiting the car, even though I didn't arrive until 10pm the host, Glenn greeted me with a welcoming smile and continued by ensuring that I was not only settled in to my room but gave me a quick tour to make sure that I was familiar with all the facilities.

The room was well appointed and actually felt more like a bedroom at home rather than a hotel room, cosy and warm (it is March after all) with an excellent bed. I was so comfortable I didn't want to get up the next morning.

The breakfast selection was varied and even my off-menu choices were always well prepared. The Upper Neatham Mill prides itself on its Eco/Bio theme and certainly didn't disappoint on the food front - wonderful, he even makes his own fresh home baked bread and jams ! One morning I even had the privilege of eating breakfast whilst watching an Egret fishing in the nearby river, I don't get that at home.

I cannot fault the place, i'm just jealous that I don't live there myself !

Room Tip: Apparently there are only four rooms, I can only imagine that they are all of the same quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alton hotels
1.7 mi away
The Three Horseshoes
The Three Horseshoes
#1 of 1 in East Worldham
139 reviews
1.2 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#1 of 3 in Alton
491 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Hart
White Hart
#1 of 1 in Holybourne
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Alton House Hotel
Alton House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Alton
384 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#6 of 17 in Alton
269 reviews
0.8 mi away
Flossie's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Upper Neatham Mill Farm Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upper Neatham Mill Farm Guest House

Address: Upper Neatham Mill Lane | Holybourne, Alton GU34 4EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Alton
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Alton
Price Range: £63 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Upper Neatham Mill Farm Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Converted 17th-century barn accommodation. Tranquil location on the river Wey in Holybourne, surrounded by 11 acres of private gardens and woodland however only 1 mile north of Alton centre. All rooms en-suite, furnished to exceptional standards having antique furniture, luxury bedding, modern facilities with wireless broadband available. Catering for executive business and tourism with friendly yet professional attention to detail. Walking and cycling friendly. Environmentally friendly with 100% carbon neutral Central heating & Hot water generated from renewable fuels grown on the farm. Spacious free floodlit off road parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Upper Neatham Mill Farm Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Upper Neatham Mill Farm Guest House Alton, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing