We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing tasting menu!”

Restaurant at Esseborne Manor
Ranked #16 of 117 Restaurants in Andover
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$94
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Amazing tasting menu!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Had the opportunity to enjoy Head Chef Dennis Janssen's 7 course tasting menu; it was exquisite! Not only were the flavour combinations perfectly crafted but the presentation of each course was a work of art - lovely!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SILVERTRAVELLERS_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    16
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Lovely afternoon tea in country house setting”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Had afternoon tea here with two friends on a week day so it was pleasantly quiet. Unfortunately the weather meant we had to eat inside but we were given the choice of the bar area, library or lounge and we selected the latter. The lounge was lovely and light with tasteful blue and yellow decor and comfy armchairs and sofas. A vase of flowers was on the central table.

It was no problem that one of us did not drink tea or coffee and she could select a cold drink of her choice. The sandwiches on brown and white bread (cucumber, smoked salmon and cream cheese, ham and a taste of mustard and roast beef) were freshly made. The only criticism was the large amount of butter in the cucumber sandwiches. The scones were warm and delicious and served with jam and clotted cream. The cake selection was made up of carrot cake (extremely moist with a rich topping) ,bakewell slice and a pink macaron. We requested a second pot of tea which swiftly arrived.

We did not feel rushed and sat in the lounge for over two and a half hours enjoying the ambience and the food. Maybe we will try lunch next time!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BerkshireTigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Excellent as usual”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We enjoyed a quiet meal for two, good value, good cooking, interesting menu, excellent presentation. As usual we sat in the bar for pre-dinner drinks but the bar became crowded and noisy with a party of former colleagues from some multinational business having their annual get-together. Without prompting the manager came in, suggested we'd find it quieter to go into the dining room a few minutes early, ushered us into the dining room and gently closed the door to keep the noise out. Typically friendly and thoughtful gesture!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 295horace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medway
Level Contributor
160 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Excellent meals on both occasions”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The booking for the two midweek nights, for dinner, was made during the initial booking for rooms with the hotel and was quick, easy and efficient. If staying over the weekend it is suggest you ensure you book in advance both to ensure you get a table and to ensure that no other event is taking place or occurring on your chosen evening.

The Manor is easy to find, with plenty of parking close to the hotel entrance.

The restaurant is set in a separate room from the bar, but enjoys the same ambiance as the interior and exterior of the Manor. If you get the chance, have a look around at the pictures and artefacts especially the chiming clock in the bar area.

The Staff provided a knowledgeable, friendly and efficient service from beginning to end, however at times they appeared to extremely busy, particularly at the bar. The wine menu was impressive, however I would have liked to have seen some English Wines (especially sparkling) on it.

The food itself, on both nights, was exceptional – we had the ‘new’ tasting menu on the first night and from the normal menu on the second.
The Tasting Menu is one of personal choice and I therefore make no suggestions on what to try – there is, for instance, a vegetarian option available and the staff appeared willing to at least cater for individual tastes for each course. Each course was beautifully presented and of a high standard (compliments to the chef on this)
The Dinner & Bar Menu are interchangeable and offered a choice that had something on it for all of our party over the 3 courses consumed whilst being very good value for money (even if you are not on vouchers). This did take time as one would expect when items are being cooked to order but did not cause any dissension over what was an enjoyable evening all round. Again the presentation and standard could not be faulted.

I have no hesitation in recommending this restaurant to all as it was definitely, all in all, two perfect occasions, in pleasant setting, that was well worth the effort taken.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WWTravellerKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Mother's Day Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Booked early to be sure of a table and we were not disappointed
Lovely meal and setting great place for birthday etc £25 per head

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsandMrPea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant at Esseborne Manor also viewed

Hurstbourne Tarrant, Andover
 
St Mary Bourne, Andover
Andover, Hampshire
 
Andover, Hampshire
 

Been to Restaurant at Esseborne Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing