We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much better than appearances suggest!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tycoon Chinese Restaurant

Tycoon Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 117 Restaurants in Andover
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$43
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We passionately believe in providing friendly service, high quality food, supporting fresh locally produced products, complemented with Chinese cuisine and flavours, and we even stock delicious English wines in our cellars!
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Much better than appearances suggest!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Went here late on an evening. First impressions from the outside are not amazing. It all looks a bit dated and looks like you are walking into someones cottage. However looks can be deceiving - the staff are very friendly and the food is wonderful.
There are other restaurants in the street which may look more swish but this place is an understated gem!
Had a lovely meal from their buffet menu - which included a range of starters to share followed by a choice of soup (crab& sweetcorn or chicken and sweetcorn). This was followed by crispy duck/ or lamb with pancakes. After this we were free to choose from a "main course" menu. It was all very good value and very tasty - would very much recommend and would certainly go back,

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carolinet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    36
    9
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Andover's best quality chinese restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

I first came here some years ago for a lunchtime leaving do for a member of staff and I thought then that this was a quality establishment which I wanted to return to. The opportunity came up last weekend and we had a wonderful family evening for a special occasion.

It is not the cheapest, if that is your need then you can go to the usual 'eat all you can' type restaurants which may offer good value but do not provide the sheer quality of the Tycoon. We ended up having a three course dinner and since we were undecided in our main courses, chose different ones so that we could try some of all. We finished with the sorbet desserts and I chose the real orange which had been emptied and filled with the most sensational orange sorbet.

We visited on a Sunday evening and were surprised to find it almost full which is some indication of its popularity. Service was excellent with the owner always at hand to help.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank binonatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

If you are in or around Andover, this is a lovely place to take the other half or your children, the set meals are worth the money paid, we spent nearly 3hr eating lovely food, the staff are lovely and supply you with everything you need for a top night.
The takeaway is the only one I will use in Andover now, as it knocks socks of the rest,,,

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DMO1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“May not look the best, don't be fooled”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Visited after a recommendation, and I must say well worth it. The place is small, and may not look flash, but they certainly make up for it with the food. You sometimes find all dishes taste the same, but not here, all dishes have flavour, well seasoned & look good too. All food was hot, and service was very good.

Will defiantly eat there again. Thank you

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank julesrann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in Andover”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

This is my favourite Chinese in the area, for take out or eating in the food is always delicious. Cute little building and the staff are always lovely. Would definitely recommend!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Livvyhink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tycoon Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 
Andover, Hampshire
Andover, Hampshire
 

Been to Tycoon Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing