We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent B&B” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Station Inn

Station Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Andover
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Station Inn
Ranked #6 of 22 Andover B&B and Inns
nottingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Decent B&B”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

I stayed in April for business.
Overall I thought this was a good quality B&B. The staff were friendly and helpful, good sized rooms (with a very powerful shower!) and good pub food.
The downside for me was that the room was freezing. It was a cold day and the window had been left open – I was told they “like to keep it fresh but the radiator worked if I needed it”; strange bearing in mind I’d just been told the light sensitive lights in the hallway might take a while to turn on but they were “doing their bit for the environment”! I turned the radiator on when I went to get dinner. The room was still freezing an hour and a half later – it was 10pm by then and I couldn’t be bothered to ask to change rooms. I did notice a very slightly musty smell to the room so maybe it hadn’t been used for a while and the window was open for that. I wouldn’t let this put you off booking though – overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carl-11111__
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zander710, Owner at Station Inn, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
We are very disapointed that this traveller felt there were problems with his room.
On the point of the windows being open on arrival, this is done every day in all rooms to air them and not because of any problems with damp. I have also had the electric heaters in all the rooms and we found that after closing the windows, it took an average of about 20 minutes to warm them up. It is disapointing that we did not have a chance to correct this problem on the day s I am sure we could have. If the traveler returns we will endeavoure to ensure he has a comfortable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    13
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
16
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

This is an excellent hotel to stay in, the rooms are basic but large and very clean, the full english breakfast was of very high quality ingredients and very tasty.

The hotel bar is clean and friendly, they had music on when we were there but it could not be heard in our room.

The hotel has ample easy parking and is close to town.

The staff are efficient and polite.

A very pleasent stay with no problems.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DM2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zander710, Owner at Station Inn, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
We would like to thank this reviewer for being so factual in his review, all reviews, even the not so good one or two, helps us to get it right for our guests.
We have recently been assessed by the English Tourist assessment scheme which entails one of them booking in as a customer, staying over night and eating both Dinner and Breakfast. In the morning they announce themselves at which point we show them round the whole premises to allow them to assess every area of the business.
We are very proud to announce that we have retained our FOUR star **** Coaching Inn status with the Silver Accolade for extra effort and facilities.
We'd like to thank you to all our loyal customers and look forward to seeing you all soon.
Alex, Romana
and all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leatherhead
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

Atmosphere very good, room was clean and spacious. Food was very good indeed. Would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesmodlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

i work away from home during the week, and spent some 3 months living here Monday to Friday. Bedrooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The food really is very good and freshly prepared and cooked, so rare these days to actually be able to get some of your 5 a day without paying through the nose.

The bar staff and regulars are friendly and welcoming - you won't be there long before you strike up a conversation.

I now houseshare during the week, but this place has remained my 'local' away from home.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

Staff where friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. We took the opportunity to eat in the restaurant and the food was nice and reasonably priced. Breakfast was good. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freethy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
132 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

I Booked into The Station Hotel at very short notice. Asked for and were given a twin room for me and my son. Room was well furnished very clean and nice and spacious. Everything required was provided and we had a great nights sleep.
Room rate included breakfast which was very good and served hot and fresh. Parking is available in the adjoining carpark.
The pub downstairs has a great atmosphere as well. This hotel is probably one of the best in Andover town centre and I will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paperboy911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

could do with a chair in the room to sit on to watch TV. being picky could,nt find any marmalade with the breakfast spread But did,nt ask for any. Breakfast was nicely cooked and presented It was a bit noisey with traffic during the night Being in town and on a junction you can,t expect silence

Room Tip: All rooms nicely refurbished and looked comfortabe
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank r55jus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zander710, Owner at Station Inn, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Thank you for the review. As a note, we are in the process of puting comfortable chairs in all the rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Andover
0.2 mi away
The Star & Garter
The Star & Garter
#2 of 8 in Andover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Hart
White Hart
#5 of 8 in Andover
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Andover Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Andover
Quality Hotel Andover
#8 of 8 in Andover
3.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
7.2 mi away
Norton Park - A QHotel
Norton Park - A QHotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Scotney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,018 reviews
6.4 mi away
Esseborne Manor
Esseborne Manor
#1 of 1 in Hurstbourne Tarrant
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Station Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Station Inn

Property: Station Inn
Address: 63 Bridge Street, Andover SP10 1BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Andover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Andover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Station Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This early 19th century Coaching Inn is family run with a welcome friendly atmosphere. Our fully refurbished rooms are all en suite with drinks cooler, LCD tv, tea and coffee making facilities. A large patio and car park is to the rear. We serve excellent freshly cooked bar food with lots to choose from bagels, salads and seafood, and steaks, our station burger is a local favourite too. There is also a private restaurant area available on request (Booked in advance) for parties of 12 or more, ask for details. A large car park is to the rear and we are only 1 minute from the centre of Andover ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Station Inn Andover, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing