We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Read good reviews so we tried it - not good in fact awful!”
Review of Golden Dragon

Golden Dragon
Ranked #48 of 120 Restaurants in Andover
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Read good reviews so we tried it - not good in fact awful!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We read the TA reviews and this place scored 13 of 80 in the area so expectations were high. We wanted to pay the extra for the al la carte menu but the waiter done everything to pursued us to do the eat all you can menu. The food was simply awful - had the re heated microwaved feel. The mixed starter was hard and full of oil. The second course was duck, rock hard in the microwave and full of fat, the pancakes were all stuck together. First main course we ordered after the duck was actually ok -rice and mixed chow main, arrived very quickly. We ordered more food - a lemon chicken, noodles and mixed fried rice. When the waiter took my order I started my stopwatch on my phone to time how long it took - world record of 1min 55 secs and it was discussing! Won't go back ever - do you want reheated slop???!!!??

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iainm281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    19
    8
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly staff”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Visited the Golden Dragon on Saturday night, truthfully because the Buddha was full and we were looking to dine out. Well it was certainly serendipity as it was a great evening and the food was superb. The staff were attentive and friendly but not over bearing. The menu is eat as much as you like and the portions are generous and extra portions arrive promptly. If I had to place any negative it would be the wine was a little expensive at £17 (not horrific I know). I would defiantly recommend the Golden Dragon and will definitely dine here again

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Totally Disappointing”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Went with a friend for a cheap meal, got given the takeaway menu which doesn't say it's a takeaway menu so we were misled by the prices. We ordered four small dishes. They brought us two that we didn't order so they were wasted. After four dishes and one drink each we got charged £32 because apparently we ordered from the A La Carte menu even though we hadn't seen it. The best Chinese is the Jade Cottage. It's no more expensive than the Golden Dragon and the food is so good its worth it and atleast you get given the correct menu!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, Worcs
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good menu, steady service and care & attention to detail”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Four of us visited and had the 'eat as much as you want' set price menu. We started with a selection plate and then moved on to shredded beef and duck, followed by a prawn, pork and chicken dish with noodles, rice and a veg side dish. All of this was very pleasant and delivery of food and ordering was well paced. The food was very tasty and filling throughout, although we found we needed another small main plate to finish off.
Small criticisms were - the starter plate was a bit small - the pancakes had obviously been microwaved (I believe) because they were all stick together - all of the eating bowls were cold - the air con fluctuated between hot and cold - and importantly the waitress didn't know some of the menu, meaning she had to go an ask each time.
The restaurant only had a few table in use and the Manager/Owner supervised each delivery of food which was reassuring.
Sadly with such a menu it pays to be very hungry in order to enjoy the challenge....we weren't, but what we ate was good.
Would we visit again? Definitely!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marigold2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Pretty good”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Our first visit to the Golden Dragon for take away, as our usual (Tycoon) is closed for kitchen renovation. The food was generally very good but we found the chicken in cashew nuts a bit bland and tasteless. The chicken satay was also very oily but did taste good. The rest (prawn crackers, half crispy duck, crispy chilli beef & rice) was all good.

We will go back to Tycoon when it re-opens but it is good to know there is a decent back up across the road!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GT3clubsport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Golden Dragon also viewed

 
Andover, Hampshire
 

Been to Golden Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing