We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairly priced village pub.”
Review of The Cricketers Inn

The Cricketers Inn
Ranked #28 of 117 Restaurants in Andover
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$29
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A local family run village pub, serving fresh home cooked food from locally sourced ingredients. Under new management and currently not serving food Sunday evenings and Mondays
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fairly priced village pub.”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We have eaten here on a number of recent occasions and found the pub to be a good family run business, fairly priced food and a good selection of beers. I've never had to wait for food, there has also been numerous staff working and never been ill following a meal! Reading all the comments on here I'm never to sure what people expect from a village pub, it's not an over priced 'gastro pub'. Starters from under a fiver and mains less than a tenner! if you want 'posh nosh' find a restaurant and pay 50 quid a head. I think the pub has new owners, we will be going back to the Cricketers and we wish them all the luck with their new venture.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidADS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    27
    5
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Rough...”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

If you want to eat off food and to spend the next day feeling ill, The Cricketers is the place for you.
I heard all the hype and thought it was a nice spot to take my girlfriend to but highly regret it.
The beef was obviously a few days old, rubbery and dry. The mash had a sharp tang to it, clearly the dairy in it had turned. The chilli beef burger looked like it had been boiled, the tomato of it was mushy, the was saturated by the tomato , seemed recently defrosted and was cold. The Salmon fishcake was nice but left my girlfriend feeling ill the next day.
The only saving grace was the organic iced cream, but you can hardly go wrong with iced cream.
Genuinely feel we would have been better off at the Macdonalds drive through... and I hate Macdonalds.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eddy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful people, wonderful Pub and wonderful food!!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Considering the very new management we found our trip to be nothing but perfect. Great beer, great food and a fantastic personable service. We can't wait to return and was very surprised to read the comment below! I wish the new owners all the very best in there new adventure and we will return very soon :o)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emallen30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alderneypuffin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Slow service”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

i believe that the Cricketers Inn is under new management. This, at least, was the reason given for the abysmally slow service at lunch time when I visited. Yes, there was a surge of customers. Yes, there were few staff in evidence, but really. An hour and a half to be served a tepid plate of rice and ratatouille! They could have grown the tomatoes in that time. We were variously told they had lost the order, run out of gas and that they were new to the business. Whatever the cause, I would suggest motoring on to a pub with experiences staff, plenty of gas and better customer service. The beer was excellent. The food passable. The service the worst I have had in many years. Polite, but slooooooow.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Staff & Amazing Food !!”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Went to the Cricketers Inn for Dinner and was met by amazingly friendly staff and a wonderful meal to match, locals are friendly and the atmosphere was infectious would defiantly recommend to try and you will certainly have my repeat business, Great Smoky shelter and lovely garden cant wait until the better weather stays and we can enjoy a drink in the garden, family coming soon so will book up for a good time :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cricketers Inn also viewed

Andover, Hampshire
St Mary Bourne, Andover
 
Barton Stacey, Hampshire
 
Hurstbourne Tarrant, Andover
Barton Stacey, Hampshire
 

Been to The Cricketers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing