We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Midweek Carvery Lunch”
Review of The Star & Garter

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Star & Garter
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Andover
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Midweek Carvery Lunch”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

My father suggested treating my mother & I to a Carvery lunch today. We had been debating going there for a family meal for sometime now & thought this would be a good time to give it a try. I'm very sorry to say that we were very disappointed. Although the colleagues were very pleasant & helpful & the atmosphere was good the food how ever was on the whole a big letdown. The meat was very good, tender & tasty the potatoes, boiled & roast, were practically uneatable, they were hard & cold. The vegetables, although properly cooked, were cold the same with the Yorkshire pudding. It was very quiet in the restaurant & not many people were eating the Carvery & it seemed as though it had been sat there for sometime so maybe that was the problem.
I did feel sorry for my Father as he wanted to treat us to lunch & ending up apologising to us!
Think we will need to re-think our family meal.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, Owner at The Star & Garter, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for your feed back. I am not quite sure what happened that day. the Potatoes and Vegetables are freshly prepared and cooked every day and we have had lots of great comments. I am sorry on this occasion it was not as good as it should have been. If you would like to ring me , I will be happy to give you a complimentary lunch for you and your family.Kind regards

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    78
    22
    14
    8
See reviews for
41
69
15
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

First 2 visits were excellent, great food, good service, no problems. Adam the bar manager was very helpful when organising my birthday dinner. Excellent service, had my whole table decorated for me.

Then I went for a friends birthday. We got there at 7.30, our drinks orders werent taken until just after 8 (so we missed half price cocktails). Service was slow at the end of the night when we the staff and female supervisor were cleaning up. We had to ask for the bill. When it arrived, we had to ask them to come over and take money. We waited and waited for our change (around £9-10) it didnt arrive. I stood up to see the supervisor who had taken our money was cleaning the carvery. I asked her for our change so we cuold sort it (one member of our party was owed £4 of that so we wanted to make sure she got her change) the lady shook her head and went over to the till to get our change out. She presumed it was a tip so just didnt give it back. Was not impressed with this.

We went again last week, there were 5 of us on a reserved table. Again, we arrived at 7 and service was slow so we missed half price cocktails again. My friend asked what the curry of the day was and she was told Chicken balti. It arrives, we look and there is not one piece of chicken in it. So my friend took it back, the lady came back and was told that they had run out of chicken so it was vegetable balti now. (nothing was mentioned when brought out)
She asked for a new dinner as she didnt want veg balti and asked for a burger with cheese instead. It came out as the rest of us were finishing our dinners to have burned chips and hardly any cheese in the burger.
When it came to pudding, i had the fruit crumble and there was NO ctumble on it at all. just fruit. I waited for a member of staff to ask how it was so i could get it changed and no one came. I wasnt even asked why I didnt eat it when it was cleared from my table.

a second very dissapointing dinner. Hopefully this gets better as it has very good potential.

Cocktails are excellent and the bar staff are very good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We were a party of 7 who had a recent Sat/Sun overnight stay in your hotel to meet up with some other friends who live in Andover for a mini army reunion. We all found the hotel to be excellent and ideal for our purpose, we couldn't fault the rooms, the food was lovely also the service, everyone was so helpful. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay so much so that we will be provisionally booking to return in 2015. Thanks for adding to the success of our reunion.

Room Tip: Car park is not obvious it is at the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Having used this hotel several times before prior to it's refurbishments and new management when it was the Danebury, I have to say we were delighted at this new incarnation! When we parked our car, the new entrance was bright and airy with a very professional feel to it. We were greeted by a lovely lady who efficiently booked us in and showed us to our room at the back of the hotel. She was very careful to warn my husband of the very tiny door to the room! The room itself was great, not the biggest ever, but finished to a high standard, bright and very clean. The bed was comfy, the decor pleasant and the shower hot and powerful!

We ate breakfast here in the Sunday morning, and whilst there was a bit of a delay while they restocked the hot buffet with fresh food, it was well worth the wait! Hot, freshly cooked and high quality ingredients meant we thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff were attentive and helpful and the atmosphere very relaxing. Having stayed in a luxury hotel in Cornwall a few weeks prior to this stay, and being utterly disappointed with the service we received there, The Star and Garter has really driven home the standards we should expect from every place we stay.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone, and will definitely use it again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel do not get any noise form the high street at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

The Star and Garter is a very neat and friendly establishment in a great location central to all that is Andover..The Star and Garter has recently been renovated with the slight hint of fresh paint lingering in the back ground..I found the room and ensuite we stayed in to be basic but very comfortable and excellent value for money..The bar and dining facilities are of a very high standard..

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Guv69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Not one to normally leave reviews but I've got to say, the food and customer service here is pretty damn good!
Greeted very professionally by reception on arrival, offered to carry my bags!
I wasn't sure about eating in the restaurant as the menu looked quite bland, however I opted for ham egg and chips. It was lovely!! Probably the best ham I've eaten, thick slices and lots of it!
The waiter noticed that I had a cough so even offered to get me some water!
The rooms are lovely, modern and clean. My room is large and over looking the high street.
I would come here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed on a Saturday night for 1 night only (we have stayed here before). It was a refurbished room very nice and clean. We had a room at the front of the Hotel (we were advised it might get noisy at pub closing times) but we had no noise. The room was very warm though (even when we turned the radiator down).
Receptionist was very good to us on arrival at 8.55 p.m. and was willing to ask the restaurant to stay open for us to eat (we declined her kind offer) also said that we could get a take away and she would provide cutlery from the restaurant if we wanted to eat in our room with some friends we were waiting for.

Room Tip: We stayed at the front of the Hotel - Good was people watching in the street below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ash099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Andover
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Andover Hotel
0.1 mi away
White Hart
White Hart
#6 of 8 in Andover
3.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Andover
Quality Hotel Andover
#8 of 8 in Andover
3.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Esseborne Manor
Esseborne Manor
#1 of 1 in Hurstbourne Tarrant
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
7.0 mi away
Norton Park - A QHotel
Norton Park - A QHotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Scotney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,073 reviews
12.3 mi away
Oakley Hall Hotel
Oakley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Star & Garter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star & Garter

Property: The Star & Garter
Address: 2 High Street, Andover SP10 1NX, England (Formerly Danebury Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Andover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Andover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Star & Garter 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Star and Garter Hotel is in the very centre of Andover overlooking the market square. This historic Hotel built in 1770 has been completely refurbished. All rooms with en suite bath and power shower , all bedrooms have flat screen television with freeview and free wifi. We have a bar which is open from 5.30 pm serving a variety of snack meals. Our popular breakfast is served 7 mornings a week. There is ample free parking. To find our car park use the post code for the rear of the hotel which is SP10 1PB. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your The Star & Garter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danebury Hotel Andover
The Star & Garter Andover, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing