We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable room - Excellent Value for money”
Review of The Star & Garter

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Star & Garter
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Andover
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I just wanted somewhere cheap to stay in the middle of Andover. We weren't going to eat in the hotel so really needed somewhere to lay my head. The reviews indicated an excellent hotel and I have to concur. Friendly staff on reception, clean, comfortable rooms and a good breakfast.

My only gripe was that the door to my room was a '17th Century Doorway' that only a dwarf could get through. At 6' 5", I thought someone was winding me up, but it was purely the luck of the draw.

I would still stay here again if I need to stay in Andover.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

I have been here twice now to stay in the accommodation. The accommodation itself is great but the food is not of a good standard and after trying several meals -I found them very dry and sometimes inedible.

The best member of staff I found is the person who works on reception. She seems to always be there and is very polite and helpful.

Most of the staff just spend time talking to each other rather than focusing on the customers - which is a let down.

My room was situated near the courtyard but the problem with this is especially on a Friday night people are usually smoking and drinking and talking loudly near the reception entrance - so I found this a problem.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trees43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

What wonderful staff ~ nothing was too much bother, always a smile and genuine customer service, approachable, professional & open to conversation. The facilities were fantastic, everywhere clean and crisp and fresh, very inviting and relaxing. The food was great too ~ I highly recommend adding breakfast to your stay and the menu was tempting and impressively priced. Looking for an excuse to book again! I'd recommend it to anyone as it made my weekend away perfect.

Room Tip: Stable rooms are easily accessible for disabled or elderly persons, or those who have a lot of lugga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MWillman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Have been wanting to pop into the new 'Star & Garter' to see how it's been transformed, and a catch up with friends gave us the opportunity. Walked in to find two large groups in resturant and bar well used, so nice atmosphere. Joined friends in restaurant, and although only four of us who had elected to sit away from the main crowd ( no offence, they were just having fun and we decided we could converse away from the crowd), we were constantly looked after and not forgotten. Three out of four had starters and three out of four had carvery main course, with one of us going for main course chicken. There is a trend restarting for ' fresh carvery's' .......must be a business nightmare, because how can you do fresh with drop in customers at low cost? However, to their credit, the Star & Garter managed it.
In short, if I want a town meal with good wine selection/ beer and food, I would be more than happy to keep going to ' the Star & Garter' .... If you want Michelin, you will have to go elsewhere and pay the price.... :) oh and just to say again, didn't pick up on names, but staff lovely, attentive, friendly and unobtrusive... Thank you

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I've been staying for the last few weeks for work the rooms are the best in the area and I've stayed at all the other hotels . Friendly and efficient staff very good shower . The breakfast is very good and the restaurant is great value for money and the carvery is great value at £5:99 . It is not fine dinning but well cooked food in a nice atmosphere

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sgv8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Loved this hotel. Used it as a stopover on a visit to the Cotswolds. The room was lovely, the staff were great and our carvery meal in the evening was excellent.We would recommend this to anyone and everyone for a stay and we will definately be back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 303Pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Restaurant has no atmosphere, bright lights hard chairs and horrible paper menus! We waiter 45 mins for our starters, when we asked where they were we were told they had forgotten to put our our order in! When they did eventually turn up they were nice. By the time we got to our carvery main course at 9:15 there was only turkey left, no cauliflower cheese, no peas and hardly any roast potatoes. We were told that the carvery finished at 9pm! My other half had a burger which he said wasn't very nice and he has been up all night throwing up! To be fair when we asked for the bill there was no charge for the food. Such a shame as they spent so much on the refurb how did they get the restaurant so wrong.

Stayed: March 2014
2  Thank Hagndaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Andover
0.6 mi away
Best Western Andover Hotel
0.1 mi away
White Hart
White Hart
#6 of 8 in Andover
205 reviews
6.3 mi away
Esseborne Manor
Esseborne Manor
#1 of 1 in Hurstbourne Tarrant
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Barton Stacey
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Andover hotel
11.8 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Star & Garter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star & Garter

Address: 2 High Street, Andover SP10 1NX, England (Formerly Danebury Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Andover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Andover
Price Range: £35 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Star & Garter 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Star and Garter Hotel is in the very centre of Andover overlooking the market square. This historic Hotel built in 1770 has been completely refurbished. All rooms with en suite bath and power shower , all bedrooms have flat screen television with freeview and free wifi. We have a bar which is open from 5.30 pm serving a variety of snack meals. Our popular breakfast is served 7 mornings a week. There is ample free parking. To find our car park use the post code for the rear of the hotel which is SP10 1PB. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Star & Garter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danebury Hotel Andover
The Star & Garter Andover, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing