We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely 50th meal”
Review of The Star & Garter

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Star & Garter
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Andover
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I booked a surprise meal for 20 to celebrate my husband's 50th birthday on Sunday evening ... I supplied all the napkins balloons table decorations and champagne and they set it all up for us and it looked really lovely .. They were very accommodating and nothing was too much trouble .. Most of us had carvery which was very nice and plentiful and the main menu meals went down very well .. The only downside was I pre-warned them on the Saturday of the main menu and starter choices .. However when we sat down on the Sunday, we were informed that the pie both veggie and main were not available and hadn't been for a week ... However the substitute veggie meal was very quickly served and the rest of the evening went very well ... After we had eaten the staff lit the candles in the courtyard area and we all sat put in the fresh air which was a lovely end to the evening ... I would certainly visit them again .. A far cry from the Danebury that it used to be ... Thank you for making Steve's evening so special.

Room Tip: Didn't use the bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqui H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on a business trip and I was pleasantly surprised. Food and drink was great, staff were friendly and rooms were nice, clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay here again if visiting Andover.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Carly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Our coach stopped here on 24 July for a pre-arranged lunch on our way to Highclere Castle. The food was excellent. Chef had cooked the quiches and puddings only that morning. The staff were friendly and helpful. It proved to be the perfect stop-over - absolutely ideal for parties large or small. And there was parking for the coach too! Many thanks to Mark, chef and the team

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExtonBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed for one night for a family party in town. The location was good as it was within walking distance of the venue. Finding the car park was a bit tricky due to the hotel front is in a mainly pedestrian only area. However there were a few hotel signs to guide us to the free car park.

There is a nice beer garden/sitting area to the rear from the car park. The reception staff were welcoming and we were actually shown to our room, quite a rare occurrence these days. Our room was upstairs at the side of the hotel so only looked out across the bricked alley. The hotel has recently been decorated throughout and it looks lovely. Our room was clean, the bed comfortable and had a decent shower. However, the walking space round the bottom of the bed was rather narrow.

It was good to have hot drinks available in the room plus an apple each and bottled water. Iron and ironing board too. The room was very hot and unfortunately being an old building the windows only opened an inch. Reception said they had run out of electric fans which was a shame.

Andover has most of the usual shops and supermarkets plus a cinema. It even has 2 Wimpy burger restaurants. Nice that a lot of the main town centre is traffic free. The Saturday market had excellent fruit and veggies for sale. We had a pleasant walk by the small lakes and river.

We would consider staying at The Star and Garter again when we are next in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Diane-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Been here on two occasions now once for coffee and once for some night time drinks. Went early morning was greeted with a very miserable looking woman when asking her where we go for coffee she was very rude and put very bluntly over there. Which in are case we did not know where over there was. If that is your front of house and guests are being greeted by this I would think twice. We were served quick are coffee as no one was in the hotel again they are fed up of place now and the way they are treated. So we thought we would give it another go. Come through reception again no one there. Which was a better thing then seeing the miserable woman I suppose. Went into bar the lady (if that us what you would call it) was more interested in the blokes at the bar then serving anyonelse. We waited a good ten minutes before she even came over to us. She wasn't very polite and when we wanted ales they had none. So what bar has no ales? Has rude people working in it yep that's the star and garter. I will not be going back and that is because of the service and the fact they have no ales. Will not be recommending to anyone.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Our first visit but it will not be our last. The rooms were excellent, spacious, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was superb, plenty of choice and we were welcome to eat as much as we wanted. Friendly and helpful Receptionists gave us information about the town and surrounding area. A great weekend and we could not have wished for a better place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Reaneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Third visit service still terrible food anything other than carvery pretty poor. Had chicken wings as starter that came out dripping with oil and stank.

If you like cold and poor service this is the place to visit.

Can't get a drink when your eating if you ask for a drinks menu they don't have one so you ask the waitress (who makes it very clear that she is in fact doing you a favour by talking to you) can she tell me what drinks they have response is a firm NO. So to avoid any further complications ask for a pint of soda and lime only to be given a small glass.

At the moment we have been sat here waiting for the waitress anyone of them to ask if we would care for desert it's been close to 30 minutes and all eye contact has been avoided.

What a horrible place.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Iqbal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, Owner at The Star & Garter, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

I am sorry that our service on that day was not up to our usual standards , you can see from the other reviews that this is not something which normally occurs. Without wanting to make excuses we had two staff members ring in sick and as always happens we were much busier than we anticipated on that day ! I wish you had said something on the day and I could have put this right immediately. We are a family business which like to exceed our guest expectations , perhaps you would like to ring me and I will try and make amends. Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Andover
0.6 mi away
Best Western Andover Hotel
0.1 mi away
White Hart
White Hart
#6 of 8 in Andover
209 reviews
6.3 mi away
Esseborne Manor
Esseborne Manor
#1 of 1 in Hurstbourne Tarrant
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Barton Stacey
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Andover hotel
7 mi away
Norton Park - A QHotel
Norton Park - A QHotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Scotney
2,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Star & Garter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star & Garter

Address: 2 High Street, Andover SP10 1NX, England (Formerly Danebury Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Andover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Andover
Price Range: £39 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Star & Garter 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Star and Garter Hotel is in the very centre of Andover overlooking the market square. This historic Hotel built in 1770 has been completely refurbished. All rooms with en suite bath and power shower , all bedrooms have flat screen television with freeview and free wifi. We have a bar which is open from 5.30 pm serving a variety of snack meals. Our popular breakfast is served 7 mornings a week. There is ample free parking. To find our car park use the post code for the rear of the hotel which is SP10 1PB. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Star & Garter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danebury Hotel Andover
The Star & Garter Andover, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing