We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CARVERY”
Review of The Star & Garter

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Star & Garter
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Andover
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“CARVERY”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Have used this Hotel on numerous occasions and the food and service has always been excellent and the standards have not dropped, which is good news as they have not been opened for very long.
The only down side was that some times the Beef has been a little chewy and the Chef when he served the food spilt some on the side and picked it up by his hands and I complained and he put gloves on and apologised.

Room Tip: Look at the room before you accept it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolme S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, Owner at The Star & Garter, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Valued customer,

I would like to thank you for taking time to provide us with feedback , we take comfort from the complimentary reviews and letters we receive from satisfied customers., I do appreciate your recognition of the efforts from our lovely team and look forward to seeing you again in the very near future
Kind regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    81
    22
    14
    8
See reviews for
43
73
15
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Great location in the centre of town, good parking, pleasant bar, a nice room, friendly staff and good value for money. I would have give this an excellent except for the fact that they had forgotten to change our bedding before we arrived. To be fair it was sorted out immediately, and we were offered some free drinks for the inconvenience, so on balance it was a good stay and I would book this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlUK2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, Owner at The Star & Garter, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
valued customer

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at our hotel. we do strive to ensure we have perfection every time , we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Andover

regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This old coaching inn has recently been taken over by City Hotels and they have clearly spent money on refurbishing and redecoration. My room (208) faced on to the side alley so was quiet, but the window could only be opened about 6 inches so was fairly hot. A pigeon had got in before I arrived and messed the table, but they cleaned it quickly. Another person said a pigeon had been in their room and they had to change rooms as the linen was soiled.
Lovely powerful shower in the good sized bathroom. The bedroom was ok size wise, but narrow so getting round one side of the bed was tight. The sockets on one side of the bed didnt work.
The reception staff were friendly and very helpful, they let me put my bike in a storage room and were very happy to come and unlock / lock up for me whenever I asked.
The dining room staff were also friendly and helpful, but this is were I have downgraded from average to poor as the service was so slow in the restaurant it was ridiculous. There were sufficient staff, and not that many diners but meals took forever to arrive - especially considering many people were ordering off the carvery which was a buffet, so not many meals to actually cook. Also, there was one vegetarian starter and main option, both mushroom based. On the second night I asked if there was something else as I didnt fancy the same meal twice in succession. They offered me the carvery without the meat. Slightly unimaginative. I asked if they could do a omelette for me, which they did do. By the time I got to the veg on the carvery, it was getting a bit dried out. Suggest eating there as soon as it opens! However, the meals were very good value - £5.99 for the carvery.

Room Tip: Rooms on the high street were reported to be noisy at pub closing time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gumcestrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, Owner at The Star & Garter, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Valued guest

Thank you for your feedback we have taken your comments on board and have passed on to the relevant departments,
we look forward to seeing again in the near future

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I stayed here for a number of nights on business recently. The hotel is very pleasant, is in a good location in the centre of Andover with free parking and is very good value with very friendly staff. The only thing I didn't enjoy was the food. Breakfast is well stocked but badly let down by the hot buffet. Evening dinner was also very poor so spent my other evenings eating at restaurants in Andover. The Star and Garter is a good base for working in Andover.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

As a hotel, I can hardly fault the Star & Garter. Right in the middle of Andover, it would be great for a getaway night out...or in our case, a base for a night before a family do nearby the next day.

The receptionist was welcoming, helpful and always keen to help, great service. Our room hadn't been cleaned when we arrived, but it wasn't the end of the world as it just gave us an excuse for a G&T in the bar while we waited...and the cleaner herself was SO apologetic! While I obviously can't speak for all of the rooms, our double (#101) was HUGE...more upmarket hotels would easily classify it as a junior suite, and I've seen 1 bed flats in London that are substantially smaller! Yes the decor and furniture is a little old fashioned, perhaps surprising given the place was only refurbished last December, but for only £65 a night I'm not complaining and it's certainly great value for money. Here's a tip...get yourself a room overlooking the courtyard to avoid street noise, rooms on the other side overlook Andover high street and what seemed to be a really busy bar.

Unfortunately the downside to the Star &Garter is the standard of the food. Breakfast was fine, and pretty well priced at £7.50 for an all-you-can-eat continental/ hot buffet inclusive of tea/ coffee/ juices. Let's face facts though, it's not hard to cook a breakfast. The evening meals were the issue...overcooked chicken, lukewarm fries, flavourless over-battered whitebait that had clearly been frozen...the list goes on. Even the desserts were a let down and were clearly straight from a box from 3663 or whichever supplier they use. Generally a complete lack of effort on the food front, such a pity considering the hotel was good otherwise. The restaurant service wasn't up to the standards elsewhere in hotel either...our waitress clearly couldn't be bothered to be there leading to us having to chase up ordered items on a few occasions/ eventually giving up.

Overall, stay here just eat elsewhere...happy to give a 4 rating, but it'd only be a 2 if this was a restaurant alone.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Have stayed on business as the Danebury and since refurb, no comparison, rooms clean, well appointed. I personally did not have any noise issues but havent stayed on the front. It was very hot though but then again it was very hot outside.
Nice friendly staff, excellent breakfast, didnt eat dinner there as it is well situated to walk into town.
Small point they have a poor and small choice of whisky.

Room Tip: ask for the room with the small door!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryTapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester
Level Contributor
141 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

I visited for the first time since it re-opened with a friend for breakfast. I was impressed. Friendly staff who got our drinks quickly, good choice of cereals, fruit and cooked.
It's all buffet service but I was pleased to see decent quality sausages and bacon, all nicely cooked.
There is some good competition in Andover for a cooked breakfast and I think the Star & Garter has pitched it about right. All you can eat for £7.50 including coffee is good value.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Clothcreature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Andover
0.1 mi away
White Hart
White Hart
#7 of 8 in Andover
178 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Andover Hotel
6.3 mi away
Esseborne Manor
Esseborne Manor
#1 of 1 in Hurstbourne Tarrant
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Barton Stacey
7.0 mi away
Norton Park - A QHotel
Norton Park - A QHotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Scotney
2,102 reviews
12.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Star & Garter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star & Garter

Property: The Star & Garter
Address: 2 High Street, Andover SP10 1NX, England (Formerly Danebury Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Andover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Andover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Star & Garter 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Star and Garter Hotel is in the very centre of Andover overlooking the market square. This historic Hotel built in 1770 has been completely refurbished. All rooms with en suite bath and power shower , all bedrooms have flat screen television with freeview and free wifi. We have a bar which is open from 5.30 pm serving a variety of snack meals. Our popular breakfast is served 7 mornings a week. There is ample free parking. To find our car park use the post code for the rear of the hotel which is SP10 1PB. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your The Star & Garter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danebury Hotel Andover
The Star & Garter Andover, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing