We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dogmersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We visited yesterday for a special family celebration and had afternoon tea. The actual cup of tea was dreadful and we asked for stronger tea and we were told that this is how they always served the tea. It was laughable as the tea looked like 'dishwasher'. The sandwiches were the best part though rather tasteless. The scones were very average and the final cakes were very disappointing. We will not be returning. It is a shame as we had all looked forward to the event and it was a special and costly treat.

Room Tip: We didn't stay the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank london-mum197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSHH, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Whilst your 'Afternoon Tea' experience failed to live up to your expectations, i'm pleased that we have been given the opportunity to correct this and that my Director of Food & Beverage has been able to discuss your visit directly with you and your father.
I do hope that your faith in the hotel has been restored.
With best wishes this festive season,
Charlie Parker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

904 - 910 of 1,467 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

We only spent one night at Hampshire and while it was a nice stay I think one night was enough.

It's quite simply in the middle of nowhere which is wonderful for a bit but then what.....

I will say that I spend almost the majority of my time in the country so the escape factor wasn't much of a factor for me.

As a hotel they do a nice job. Service is perfect for the environment, not in your face but comfortable and there for anything you may need.

Room, we were in a corner room in the original building as opposed to the newly built wings, was very nice but nothing that absolutely wowed me.

Spa was nice...

Grounds are nice...

Suppose if you stay for a while you go skeet shooting, horseback riding and such.

They do a great job. We had a great time for our short stay.

Not sure how I would feel if I booked for more than a few days...

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bmordski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Spent one night last weekend at The Four Seasons with a girl fiend for a much needed break. The right mix of relaxed elegance.
Started with a lovely walk through the grounds and along the Basingstoke Canal. Returned to the hotel for a lovely lunch in relaxed Cafe Sante. We then spent an afternoon in the Spa with a lovely hot stone massage & facial. The spa facilities were excellent, the only complaint being that we were driven out of the relaxation area by what appeared to be a rather lively group of girls that we assumed were on a hen weekend. We then went into the outside hot tub which was just a little too cold to be comfortable.
We were without our respective children for this break. It is a very child friendly hotel but it seems to balance those with and without well, only warning to those without, pick your moments to go in the pool carefully.
I will come back, probably with the family next time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jody A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Beautiful country location and drive up to the hotel. Meticulously maintained inside and out. As expected for a four seasons hotel, the rooms are luxurious and comfortable. I didn't have time to try the spa but it looked very inviting! mine was a business trip but I am sure it will be popular for weddings.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

From the moment you arrive you are made to feel welcome by the extremely friendly and accommodating staff. We stayed for our wedding anniversary and the staff could not do enough to accommodate us from an upgrade to a cake a card in our room. The food is excellent as is the spa. The hotel caters well for kids so we will be back with kids!! A big thank you to Charlie Parker the manager who was a delight and extremely helpful. All in all a faultless hotel. HIGHLY recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdlp7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I recently booked an evening here for seven people with bed and breakfast and dinner.
The experience was first class from the reception at the front door to the superb rooms and the excellent Seasons restaurant.

The staff were polite, helpful and professional, the rooms large and beautifully furnished with large marble bathrooms. There is a very nice swimming pool and spa with some "grown-ups" only periods for those who don't want to have the kids around.

The high spot was definitely the restaurant where the French executive chef, Cyril, excels himself. Friday night was fish night and several of us had the smoked salmon for a starter.
I had heard that Cyril smokes his own salmon so thought I would try it.
It arrived at the table under a glass dome filled with smoke which filled the nostrils when the dome was removed. It was a treat and I have not seen it served that way ever before.
The rest of the meal was delightful too.
The prices of the food items were reasonable enough although the wines were quite pricey.(but very good) You need to allow around £100 per head for a three course bash with wine flowing freely.
This is a perfect place for a long weekend in the country.
The hotel will organise various activities for you if you want such as clay pigeon shooting, horse riding and golf.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Divers0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Came here just for drinks and dinner and it was fabulous! great service, wonderful food and a fabulous drinks selection. We loved the cocktails!

Will be treated ourselves to a night here soon hopefully. We will definitely be back to use the bar though :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dogmersfield
4.4 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
1,533 reviews
23.8 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,156 reviews
13.2 mi away
Oakley Hall Hotel
Oakley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakley
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Aviator
Aviator
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
2,106 reviews
22.9 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,953 reviews
15.8 mi away
Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England

Address: Dogmersfield Park Chalky Lane | Dogmersfield Park, Dogmersfield RG27 8TD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Dogmersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dogmersfield
Price Range: £277 - £675 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England 5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amid 500 acres of Hampshire parkland, yet only 1 hour from London, Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire is the perfect English-country escape. Centred on a historic Georgian Manor house, rooms feature English-style interiors with spacious, en-suite marble bathrooms. Guests can enjoy an array of country pursuits including horse-riding and clay-pigeon shooting, and outdoor activities such as tennis and cycling. The luxury Spa, situated in the renovated stable block, features a conservatory-style infinity pool and outdoor vitality pool, and a tree-top challenge, the Highwire Adventure. Our brand new restaurant and bar, Wild Carrot is now open and sees Executive Chef Dirk Gieselmann joining forces in the open kitchen with Restaurant Chef Adam Falgrin to create a menu championing the best of locally and regionally sourced seasonal produce. The Bar at Wild Carrot features an exceptional list of classic cocktails and artisanal concoctions inspired by the intriguing history of the local area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England
Four Seasons Hampshire England
Four Seasons Hook
Hook Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing