We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most enjoyable half term break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dogmersfield
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable half term break”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights during half term with our 2 children. The hotel was very busy as expected for this time but still the service was as good as you would expect from a Four Seasons hotel: attentive and personal. All the staff from restaurant to spa to room service to reception were very friendly. Our kids loved the swimming pool, seeing horses, walking around in the beautiful countryside and the on site falconry experience was very special. The details like the treasure chest with toys, steps up to the reception desk and the hotel dog Oliver appearing on the kids' menu and mugs made all the difference for them. My husband and I both enjoyed the spa very much. I had a massage which was not cheap but you do get what you pay for. The food was good as well. Overall very happy and would definitely go back again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank siujo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    917
    234
    73
    40
    22
See reviews for
428
438
27
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I came to the four seasons hotel for a spa day with some friends and it was the best Spa experience i have ever had. They have every thing you need and more the treatment was lovely and very relaxing they have a large steam room and and nice size sauna they also have a lovely relaxation room i have been to a few places that dont have this! They always had plenty of clean towels that are always topped up. As for the staff they where fantastic nothing was to much trouble the food was first class too if you want to relax this is the place to go it was brilliant for start to finish i will defiantly be coming back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSHH, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Guest,
What a glowing review! I'm so pleased that you clearly loved your Spa Day and described it as the 'best Spa experience you have ever had'. We certainly look forward to your next visit.
Best wishes,
Charlie Parker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Just returned from a weekend break with our two sons after a stressful few months.Location was near younger son's university so thought it would be nice to surprise him and whisk him away with the rest of the family to unwind in some nearby luxury. Accommodation was very nice and similar to what we have experienced at other Four Seasons hotels in our extensive travels.However, the service and food was erratic in quality and the main disappointment of our stay.

Friday dinner was in the bistro but the waiter did not show us the Friday fish menu,which had lobster and oysters etc and only the standard menu, while other diners were shown both.We only realised this when the people at the next table had their starters and mains.Upon questioning the waiter, we were told that we would have been shown this menu if we had requested it...

Breakfast staff were excellent despite the rush the next morning.Housekeeping removed the bathroom waste bin and drinking glasses and did not replenish the bottled water in our room for some reason.

Saturday dinner at the steak house was mostly of burnt offerings of a chicken breast which was dry and tough and a piece of well-done fillet steak which looked and tasted like a lump of charcoal.Given the hotel's reputation, we expected professionally prepared,edible food.The buffet-style starters and desserts were displayed at the entrance of the steak house,which was very much like a corridor, and the food as a result looked dry and unappetising.The interior was fine but we felt the buffet items should have been laid out within the main restaurant area.

We had Sunday breakfast in our room.This was very nice and promptly served.

The lack of complimentary in-room Wi-fi and morning newspapers somewhat cheapened the experience and should be part of the room charge.This is is a convenience I would expect at a five -star hotel catering for busy and important people seeking a comfortable place to relax but still keep in touch with important matters.

The spa was not as luxurious as we would have expected but the cafe was very nice and the food and service there was very good.The access to the outdoor jaccuzzi was difficult to negotiate and the standing water jets were much too strong.The layout of the tiled seating in the jaccuzzi was difficult to see and there were sharp edges which were obscured by the bubbles.This resulted in some cuts our feet and legs.The access to the main pool was by steps at only one end, away from the main seating areas.Ladders at the other end are needed as there are very narrow borders at the sides of the pool to walk along and it can get quite slippery.Saw a couple of children slip and fall because of this during our half-hour there.

A second,adults only pool, linked with the spa treatment areas is probably required so that there is more space for kids to enjoy the main pool and also a place for a quiet swim throughout the day for frazzled adults.

The hotel has a nice ambiance overall but we felt these issues let it down in terms of its five-star status.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSHH, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Guest,
I appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us here in Hampshire however I'm understandably saddened to read that there were elements that disappointed you.
Whilst I'm pleased to update you that we have now introduced complimentary wi-fi within our guest bedrooms I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in person. Please feel free to contact me either on direct dial 01252 853 002 or via charlie.parker@fourseasons.com.
With regards,
Charlie Parker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

It was our wedding... We could have chosen anywhere on the planet and how delighted are we to have been recommended to, and chosen the Four Seasons Hampshire. A life affirming experience with exquisite attention to detail, fantastic value way way beyond expectations and all created by staff and managements dedication to ensuring everything imaginable to assure ours and our guests total joy was sorted. Examples: The banqueting manager Lisa role played the brides entrance with them both wiggling and dancing through the rehearsal. The hotel gifted a roomstay to the florists wife and son so his dad didn't miss his sons birthday due to the wedding date clashing and him putting in an all-nighter to build up and breakdown the banqueting rooms. An unidentified member of staff picked up on a throwaway comment from the priest that the wedding coincided with his 50th anniversary of Ordination, and organised within minutes a monogrammed celebratory platter arriving at his table as if it were my forethought. Incredibly thoughtful and kind. Our guests were treated like royalty and everyone left feeling special, and now disciples of Four Seasons. Rooms were upgraded just for the sake of niceness, The library bar staff specially made mulled cider for all guests after the shoot laid on by the hotel. (I'm now an expert ofcourse!). A friend went for a walk to the lake and they kept a car at hand to run out and collect him just in case the weather closed in before he got back. Santos who manages the Spa cafe hand painted a picture of us on a gift card, just to tell us how touched he was to see us so happy. The General Manager heard we were off to the Four Seasons Langkawi on honeymoon and sent ahead so we where welcomed personally by GM Alastair, upgraded and treated like family from the get-go there too. I cannot praise the staff and management enough, its people that make all the difference between a good hotel and a life affirming experience. Thank you FS Hants, we could have gone anywhere in the world, and I have married a travel agent who has been pretty much everywhere in the world, and there is nowhere else we would rather have been married.

Room Tip: The Royal Suite is perfect for a bride and all the girls to convene for hair and make up for the mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geronimojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Four Seasons hotels are one of my favorite hotels to stay in when I travel for business or on holidays. I was very surprised that this was a Four Seasons hotel but somehow they've made it all work. The hotel itself is beautiful, an old converted country manor, sitting on beautiful country grounds. The interior layout is a bit of a maze and you will get lost often until you can figure it all out. The restaurant and bar areas are very nice, and service is quite good. Staff are what really make the difference during a hotel stay, and all of the staff were very good. The rooms are typical Four Seasons, and are instantly familiar when you first enter your room. The rooms are a good size, very clean, and all appointed, again typical Four Seasons. This hotel is located about an hour southwest of London and there isn't a whole much to do there. Overall, if you have a reason to be in this part of the UK, this is a very nice hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Traveler_011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSHH, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Clearly you are a strong supporter of the Four Seasons brand and I'm pleased to read that our Hampshire property did not disappoint. Typically our Hotels are in either city locations or beach resorts so our countryside setting is certainly more unique.
With best wishes,
Charlie Parker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrsharris6
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Decided as a half term treat for us we'd find a luxury child friendly hotel. Can across this hotel after a google search and after researching we decided that the hotel could offer us the mini break we were looking for. We weren't disappointed! We arrived earlier than expected and despite spending some time at the playground we were still fortunate enough to be able to check in a couple of hours earlier. We were walked to our room and was delighted by the size and the small touches they had left on the room for our daughter - her name in sponge letters in the bathroom with a duck, a plate with a eatable bee and her name written in chocolate together with a child size dressing gown and slippers - she was delighted and spent most of the time in her lounging gear. The pool was great and despite the hotel being fully booked didn't seem busy. We ate at 5.30 pm in The Bistro and they totally catered for children with their own buffet which kept her occupied whilst we enjoyed a lovely main and dessert. The hotel grounds are lovely and Oliver the resident Labrador was friendly if not a little lazy. We couldn't take him for a walk as he has a bad shoulder and in additions slight behavioural issues whereby he has been know to run off. We had breakfast delivered to our room which was delicious and as we had asked within 3 minutes of our chosen time. Check out was smooth with no problems. Considering the research we had done we did expect to find areas that didn't live up to the anticipation but quite the contrary - lived up to expectations and then some. Can't wait to go back - just need to save up a little before we do!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank mrsharris6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSHH, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel. I'm pleased that your Half Term visit was indeed 'Top Notch' and that we met your expectations in all areas. Perhaps we might tempt you back for a stay over Easter when we have more family activities planned?
With best wishes,
Charlie Parker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed here as a couple on Valentines day and from the moment we arrived the Four Seasons magic kicked in with our bags and car being whisked away. Immediately we knew we would have an incredible stay.

We ate in their Steak House restaurant which I believe they only put on during busy periods. Having eaten in Seasons previously we actually preferred the Steak House and thought it represented fantastic value for money with a diverse buffet of starts and our steaks were cooked perfectly (having them blue we often have to send them back for being over done at other restaurants). I was slightly concerned before booking as it's held within a banqueting suite, but the setting was absolutely perfect and I can't wait to return.

The cocktails in the bar were extremely well made and the Italian bar tender really new his stuff. He invented a special Earl Grey Martini which I highly recommend.

We stayed in a Heritage room which didn't disappoint and had the quality throughout that you expect from a Four Seasons.

Breakfast was very good with everything being locally sourced. Superb selection of six different types of sausages and bacon which were extremely tasty and well cooked. There were a few "hiccups" throughout breakfast with regard to our service but this was noted by the restaurant manager who approached us on our way out to apologize. He also called me later that day and left me a very nice voice mail and made a kind gesture because of our experience.

It's this level of professionalism, service and passion to go the extra mile that keeps us coming back to the Four Seasons. It really is impressive.

The only area which could be improved is the Spa which by Four Season standards does disappoint. The reception room, gym, relaxation rooms etc are all of a high FS standard but for me the pool area / steam room etc isn't quite there and has more of a 4 star "leisure complex" feel than a 5 star FS Spa hotel.

We were sad to leave, can't wait to return and already have our next trip booked to the Four Seasons in the Maldives!

Room Tip: Having stayed in both a Mews and a Heritage (three levels above) apart from the much nicer view from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TWGARDNER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dogmersfield
4.4 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
1,284 reviews
6.3 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
1,849 reviews
10.6 mi away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,049 reviews
15.8 mi away
Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection
13.2 mi away
Oakley Hall Hotel
Oakley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakley
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England
Address: Dogmersfield Park Chalky Lane | Chalky Lane, Dogmersfield RG27 8TD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Dogmersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dogmersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England 5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amid 500 acres of Hampshire parkland, yet only 1 hour from central London, Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire is the perfect English-country escape. Centred on a historic Georgian Manor house, rooms feature English-style interiors with spacious, en-suite marble bathrooms. Guests can enjoy an array of country pursuits including horse-riding and clay-pigeon shooting, and outdoor activities such as tennis and cycling. The luxury Spa, situated in the renovated stable block, features a conservatory-style infinity pool and outdoor vitality pool, and a tree-top challenge, the Highwire Adventure, is situated in the estate's woodland. Seasons restaurant offers traditional British classics with a modern twist, made with the finest locally sourced produce. Adjacent to the restaurant, Bar 1086 serves a range of seasonal cocktails and Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire's own craft ale, the '1086'. Guests can also delight in Afternoon Tea in the Library, overlooking the rolling Hampshire Hills. Pets welcome. From 17th October to 2nd December 2016, Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire will be undertaking an enhancement programme of the ground floor facilities of its Manor House. During this period, arrival at the Hotel will via The Club & Spa at Four Seasons and provisions are in place to guarantee a seamless check-in experience. Afternoon Tea will during this time be served in Seasons. The Hotel Team is committed to minimising disruption to guests throughout the duration of the enhancements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England
Four Seasons Hampshire England
Four Seasons Hook
Hook Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing