We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sunday buffet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dogmersfield
Certificate of Excellence
winchester
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great Sunday buffet”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We have been here several times for the Sunday buffet and it has always been exceptional. The service is highly polished and the choice of food, mostly locally sourced is fantastic. The dining room is perhaps more modern than you might expect from the old manor house look of the hotel but it is light and airy and works for me. This continues to be one of my families favourites.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnofwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSHH, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest,
It is wonderful to read that our infamous Farmers' Market Lunch has become a firm family favourite. You should also try our FiSH Friday concept - with fresh seafood and a live musician every Friday evening. The perfect start to a weekend!
With best wishes,
Charlie Parker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    938
    236
    75
    40
    24
See reviews for
436
445
29
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

As always, any excuse to stay here, my wife and I decided we'd stay the night before flying off to Hong Kong, as well as hosting my wife's 40th Birthday Party. The Four Seasons in Hampshire has to be one of our favourite hotels in the UK, and rightly so, it has a fantastic location, superb food, great grounds, immense Spa and all round brilliant staff.

As part of my wife's 40th Birthday celebrations I wanted to surprise her with a trip to The Fat Duck, I personally tried a number of times to get a reservation, but with no joy. I thought I would put the concierge to the test and see if they could get us in. The didn't promise anything, but a week before we were due to go to the Four Seasons I get a phone call from The Fat Duck (see my separate review of The Fat Duck) saying they've got a table for us. Absolutely superb, thank you very much Four Seasons Hampshire.

As is the norm, we were given a very warm welcome, the roaring log fire was a pleasant sight given the cold and miserable weather, and the pumpkin displays for Halloween were very elaborate and festive. We were escorted to our room which was on the ground floor, these rooms are very convenient for access to the Spa and restaurants, but can be a little noisier than most with the foot traffic to the Spa, but on our stay we didn't have a problem with this.

We had lunch in Seasons, the food in the hotel is always top notch, when the moved to the Library watching the rain pelt against the windows and letting our lunch subside. My wife and I decided to enjoy some time in the Spa. The Spa is a lovely place to be, no matter the weather, however, the outside Jacuzzi is absolutely wonderful, especially in adverse weather conditions, the warm water keeps you toasty, and being in the open air really is invigorating.

Throughout my communications with the events staff at the Four Seasons they couldn't be any more helpful, offering us their Salon Privé for my wife's 40th Birthday celebrations, and a myriad of decoration choices and cakes. Upon arrival everything looked lovely for the festivities, and of course the Farmer's Market lunch is impressive to say the least, everyone had a great time and the food was simply stunning.

Another fantastic stay at this hotel, I thoroughly recommend it, a real country gem!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSHH, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire as the location for such an important celebration. Special thanks have been extended to our Events Team for the care and attention they showed with regard to the arrangements and to the Concierge team for their part in arranging your offsite dinner.
I trust you will find another 'excuse' to visit us again soon!
With best wishes,
Charlie Parker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This is the first review I write on The Four Seasons Hotel thats "average". And having booked several holidays out of the UK-also at The Four Seasons Hotels this year,- I hope this will be the only "average" one.
My husband and I love the Four Seasons Hotels and usually stay at it whenever we travel. As we live in London we often use the one on Park Lane, which is amazing. We were hoping that The Four Seasons Hampshire would be the perfect weekend get away place for our family and had therefore booked two nights during the weekend.
Overall, The Four Seasons Hampshire was disappointing and did not live up to the usual Four Seasons standard, where things/service are consistent and spot on.
As this was just a weekend get away we booked a standard room for the rate of 385 pounds (incl breakfast). Our room was big but with one small window; that only opened about 10 cm. The view was not what you would expect- overlooking a small courtyard and a container with rubbish.
Our lunch on arrival day was less then average- I had a Cesar salad with prawns which was soaked in dressing. The children's buffet was acceptable. The food from room service was average.
The best part about our short stay was a mexican children's party with entertainment. Our son loved it and it was a great arrangement for kids.
We were planning to go bike riding, however after 45 min waiting for the bikes being prepared, we gave up as the bikes had no air in the tires and no one knew how to pump it.
Worst of all was the smell in our room. It started in the morning-the day after arrival. It smelled like a pub,- or more like french fries. We thought that it might have been because the window had been a little open, but as we closed it and switched on the air con the smell got worse over hours and we literally couldn't stand being in our room. We went to speak to reception "who were very sorry but couldn't do anything at the moment", but lucky the reception manager overheard the conversation and said he would look into it. After our complains he was kind enough to offer us the next night for free but as our hope for this place to be a future weekend get away was gone; we decided to go back to London.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSHH, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Whilst I know that your disappointment was discussed with our team during your visit, should you wish to speak with me in person at anytime, please feel free to contact me personally on 01252 853 002 or via charlie.parker@fourseasons.com
I do sincerely hope that your love of the Four Seasons brand has not diminished as a result of your time with us.
With regards,
Charlie Parker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chandlers ford
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

A really nice hotel, where I think you want to stay if you are going to take full advantage of the hotel facilities (its expensive and no point paying so much if you're going to be in London sight seeing till late).

Lots of nice touches (of course, you are paying for it !) - eg in the gym, a fridge with a selection of cold drinks, and some dried fruit also. Nice gym with a range of modern equipment, well stocked changing rooms and a nice,heated infinity swim pool.

Bedrooms are plush with l" Occitane Provence toiletries ! I was on the second floor and looked out over the pond and fields. What a lovely location.

Friendly and helpful staff. They have their own labrador which seems to enjoy napping in the hotel lobby.

Nice decor- old English prints on the wall.

Had lunch and dinner here, and the food (serving a large number during a business conference) was really good considering they were making for so many guests.

Now I was not paying, so difficult to judge value for money- it is definitely top end, and you are going to pay for that.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tourista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

This is a strange beast.

Though the core of this resort is a beautifully restored country mansion the overall offering feels schizophrenic.

You'll be greeted by impeccably attired staff and admire the truly wonderful grounds. Then if you have made the choice of a heritage room be escorted to a superb period room will all the amenities you'd expect.

On that tone let's continue with the positives. The service is utterly superb: everywhere. Oh and the dining, well faultless. The menu is a little unchallenging but the food quality and cooking beyond criticism but that is where the superlatives fade.

The restaurant/bistro/ bar areas feel like they have been transplanted from an incredibly dull upscale business hotel - so bland are they. If it wasn't for the view you couldn't tell you where in a country house at all which well... Rather defeats the idea of a country retreat let alone one at these prices!

These criticisms could also be levelled at the new wings of the hotel and the spa which are rather unsympathetic to the heritage.

So all in all a curious mix. A period hotel that doesn't make the most of its heritage. A hotel in the countryside that makes you feel as though you're in the city.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Squaremeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSHH, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest,
I appreciate you taking the time to write a very frank review and glad that you particularly highlight our service as 'sublime'. Service is at the very core of our brand. We are very proud of our Hotel's heritage and it seems a great shame that this didn't shine through. Our Spa is a pictureque 18th century stable block that still retains many of it's original features including the clocktower, beams and inner cobbled courtyard.
I do hope that the service levels, spacious bedrooms and quality of dining will be enough to encourage you back.
With best wishes,
Charlie Parker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This hotel is lovely, a real English hotel surrounded with Hampshire country side - its beautiful. The rooms were nice, not sure reflected the cost of overnight accommodation of £325, but nice and large with nice big bathroom. The evening meal was first class, we were quite a large party, but the service in the restaurant and more importantly the food was absolutely exceptional and full compliments to the chief and staff serving in restaurant. The only disappointment we had with this hotel, was that as a an event, it is hard to budget for, as they have hidden costs which they add on at the end after the event, or claim they forgot to mention when quoting and ensure you pay at a later date, this unfortunately would mean we would not be able to arrange future events here, due to budget requirements and have added this as part of my review and lowered by a star, as would not want this to happen to a couple planning a wedding here, as could be upsetting on such a special occasion. I am sure you would be able to manage this better when booking if aware of this, but we have not experienced this before with hotels in the UK when booking for events and business meetings whcih we do on a montly basis.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RioUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSHH, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire has always appealed to both the leisure and corporate market. I'm naturally disappointed to read that whilst you describe the service and food as 'exceptional' you felt let down by additional costs that had not been budgeted for. Our Sales Team aim to be as transparent as possible with regard to pricing right from the onset of an enquiry. Given that you enjoyed your visit it would be such a shame if you felt unable to repeat the experience due to budget. I would encourage you to contact our Senior Director of Sales, Vicki Richards, who would personally oversee any future corporate enquiries. She can be reached on direct line 0207 319 5352 or via Vicki.Richards@fourseasons.com.
With regards,
Charlie Parker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We have visited Four Seasons Hampshire many times over the years and continue to go back for special occasions as it improves every time we stay.

Everything about this hotel is first class, you cannot fault the stunning grounds, luxurious bedrooms, restaurant and Spa. Even more impressive though has to be the outstanding service from every single member of their team.

The hotel is a fantastic getaway for couples wanting a luxury escape but equally if you are staying with young children then prepare to be impressed!

It's the small touches that make all the difference and this hotel has them perfected.

Cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5star-sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSHH, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest,
It is so satisfying to welcome back so many loyal guests and even more so to read that each stay only improves! The very foundations of Four Seasons are built on 'attention to detail' and our service, so thank you for highlighting these areas in your kind review.
We appreciate your ongoing support,
Warmest wishes,
Charlie Parker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dogmersfield
4.4 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
1,302 reviews
10.6 mi away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
6.3 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
1,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection
23.9 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,057 reviews
13.2 mi away
Oakley Hall Hotel
Oakley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakley
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England
Address: Chalky Lane | Dogmersfield Park, Dogmersfield RG27 8TD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Dogmersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dogmersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England 5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amid 500 acres of Hampshire parkland, yet only 1 hour from central London, Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire is the perfect English-country escape. Centred on a historic Georgian Manor house, rooms feature English-style interiors with spacious, en-suite marble bathrooms. Guests can enjoy an array of country pursuits including horse-riding and clay-pigeon shooting, and outdoor activities such as tennis and cycling. The luxury Spa, situated in the renovated stable block, features a conservatory-style infinity pool and outdoor vitality pool, and a tree-top challenge, the Highwire Adventure, is situated in the estate's woodland. Seasons restaurant offers traditional British classics with a modern twist, made with the finest locally sourced produce. Adjacent to the restaurant, Bar 1086 serves a range of seasonal cocktails and Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire's own craft ale, the '1086'. Guests can also delight in Afternoon Tea in the Library, overlooking the rolling Hampshire Hills. Pets welcome. From 17th October to 2nd December 2016, Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire will be undertaking an enhancement programme of the ground floor facilities of its Manor House. During this period, arrival at the Hotel will via The Club & Spa at Four Seasons and provisions are in place to guarantee a seamless check-in experience. Afternoon Tea will during this time be served in Seasons. The Hotel Team is committed to minimising disruption to guests throughout the duration of the enhancements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England
Four Seasons Hampshire England
Four Seasons Hook
Hook Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing