We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Farmer's Market Sunday Lunch - Out of this world every time!”

The Bistro at Four Seasons Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Farmer's Market Sunday Lunch - Out of this world every time!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Since first discovering the little publicised 'Farmers Market Sunday Lunch' at Four Seasons Hampshire- back in September last year, we have booked a table every month without fail, spent Christmas there, re-booked already for this year and have introduced many family and friends to the hotel as quite simply, it's faultless every time we visit.

For the discerning foodies out there, a visit is a must - an enormous array of fresh, locally sourced produce offers something to delight the fussiest of taste buds. Starters include mozzarella and tomato salad, home-style potato salad, coleslaw, tiger prawns and smoked salmon, ham hock terrine...the list goes on and on. Save room for the main event however, as you'll be faced with the difficult decision of which meat to choose - rib of beef, carved gammon, pork with cracking, leg of lamb, succulent chicken or even my personal favourite, slow cooked lamb in Harissa with a generous side of dauphinois potatoes and red current jelly! If roasts are not your thing, you'll find specials like steak pie, fish pie, even pasta bakes.

What is a Sunday brunch without a stomach busting dessert...or three? Probably best to skip breakfast that morning as you'll never forgive yourself for missing out on the largest desert table you're likely to ever see! Macaroons, Eton mess, tarts, chocolate pots, creme brûlée, traditional hot favourites like sticky toffee puds and apple crumble. If that's not enough, children can enjoy their own selection of savoury dishes and a crepe and sweetie station! Best to leave an hour or so before the car journey home!

If you fancy a pre-dinner drink, or even an extended afternoon at the bar next door, you must sample the cocktail menu. As well as the usual classics, you'll find some signature Hampshire cocktails created by bar manager Manish. Recently added to the list are 100% organic, locally sourced cocktails, inspired by the building, it's surrounds and it's heritage. Be sure to try a 'Henry's Potion' with crushed Ice, fresh raspberries, vodka and a sprig of rosemary - divine!

So, for a family lunch that just feels very special, or an occasion that deserves a little luxury, without the stuffiness of many high end restaurants, you won't be let down when you choose to spend Sunday lunch at Four Seasons Hampshire.

Counting down the days until our next gastronomical adventure!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeandclaireabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    21
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A culinary delight”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The Four Seasons at Dogmersfield is rather out in the country in sprawling grounds, and obviously a retreat for the wealthy. It is a beautiful building and oozes quality. Great staff everywhere, and superb flowers in the sumptuous public areas and hallways. We went this time for our anniversary celebration (a special occasion), and were as delighted as ever with the food and service. We both had rack of Turbot as a main and it was just fabulous, and served with the perfect balance of subtle and unusual vegetables with a wonderful sauce. As ever the staff are so pleasant and attentive, and really know and understand what the chef has on offer. This is an expensive place and has never disappointed. Our only slight let down is that the decoration in the restaurant lacks any character and that the dress code is over casual. Its worth asking for a table by one of the windows.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dcberry2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“PRICEY BAR FOOD…”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I have visited the Four Seasons several times for lunch and have to admit that I'm not entirely sure what the difference is between the bistro and diner at The Four Seasons. We seemed to start in one and then moved to the other due to cold weather, however, apart from a more formal table setting the menu was exactly the same? Perhaps there is another restaurant at the hotel?

I am on a fairly strict health regime now, haven't always been, and really found that I struggled to find something to eat on the limited menu. Pizza and burger have always been on it, also a ploughman's, which doesn't seem to ever change!?

I opted for a Caesar salad (dressing heavy I know…), which came with slightly undercooked chicken and more lettuce than it is ever possible for one person to eat. This as a meal always confuses me as it is very basic and yet loaded in calories. I then bizarrely opted for the ploughman's as seriously I was struggling to know what else to have… the menu is really limited.

On a previous visit I asked the staff to ask the Chef if he would make me a simple chicken salad. i wanted a mixed salad with tomatoes, cucumber etc… I described it as mixed. I got lots of lettuce and chicken and nothing else and it cost about £15 for the luxury.

So please please, more salads… more light and healthy meal options would be good.

Anyway, back to this lunch…. we ordered two glasses of champagne and were charged a ridiculous £20 per glass! Our lunch bill came to £110, which we don't mind paying when the food is good and imaginative… but this was a salad and a ploughman's for two; hence, you pay for expensive pub food.

The hotel is beautiful and the staff highly efficient, friendly and helpful.

We visit a lot of hotels and restaurants… and what this place lacks is the mature gardens. So when you do dine outside the landscape is flat. There are beautiful areas of course… planted areas outside the glass walkways, distant woodland etc… but the driveway and seating area looks over flat grassland. Hence, it lacks the beauty of say some of the older hotels such as Tynley, which lacks the modern grandeur of the Four Seasons but boasts wonderful gardens.

I guess you can't have everything.

The spa at the Four Seasons is top end London prices. About £200 to balance your chakras; as a person who studies esoteric subjects, this is something the individual should do for themselves. And no amount of money bring balance… it takes a lot of personal development. So money for old rope really in terms of some of the treatments.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxed Lunch with friends”
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

We arrived early but that was not a problem and we were offered a choice of tables. None of us had a starter but after our friends' recommendation three of us had the fish and chips: I had the Parma ham and mozzarella pizza and the base was lovely thin and crispy. Lots of rocket which is fine if like me you love rocket! Then pudd.I had the Hampshire selection which had four components with only one slightly disappointing one, the trifle..my companions had the apple and walnut crumble and one had a selection of ice creams and sorbet which was very accommodating of them as it is not on the menu. Excellent service.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hilary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“start of our stay”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

very large starters and very yummy ! worth the money and the Pinot Gris from Alsace is amazing ! Great service from ALL staff !!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kand T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bistro at Four Seasons Hotel also viewed

Crookham Village, Fleet
Dogmersfield, Hampshire
 

Been to The Bistro at Four Seasons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing