We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dog and Crook

Dog and Crook
Ranked #3 of 118 Restaurants in Eastleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$18
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Old English pub serving good quality home cooked food. Friendly waitress service. Dogs welcome. Family friendly.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Been here a couple of times now, the first by chance. Definitely somewhere to take friends for a spot of lunch. Nice atmosphere, genuinely friendly staff who talk to you not at you. Sadly as I was driving I didn't get to sample the bar. I had liver and bacon an all time favourite with me. Thoroughly enjoyed it. Menu is quite varied and reasonably priced.

I will visit again

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank grumpywrinkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    98
    29
    16
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great value roast!!”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This is very much our local pub and does a roast early evening on week days except Fridays. There was only one choice of roast but what we had was great value at £4.99 each and very tasty. The gammon was beautifully cooked, off a joint and not the "plastic" round stuff! We also had roast spuds, parsnips, proper carrots, cabbage, Yorkshire pud. all covered in plenty of lump free, tasty gravy. Our drinks were served to the table and extra sauces offered-the horseradish certainly carried a kick-. The only slight criticism would be that our drinks actually cost more than the meal although my white wine was delicious so I forgive them.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank poppy_ma2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Off the cuff lunch”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Went walking with friends at the Stoke Woods, from Fair Oak and ended (as you do) at the pub.
We decided to have a light lunch at the Dog & Crook and were delighted with the service, atmosphere and the meal! We had not been there for 2 years, since we had the most disappointing meal and bad service, but it is now on our favourite list again (new management)!
The meals, (ham & eggs, hunter's chicken) were really tasty and the service was friendly by young friendly staff, who appeared to be trained well.
A lovely surprise to see the pub back on its feet!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 11Annik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mother's Day”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

This is the second time we have visited. The food is proper home cooked grub- really tasty.

The staff are really friendly and make you feel very welcome.

Very group friendly. Good menu and good roasts!

Helpful?
1 Thank EJBadders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow, Just Wow”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Would highly recommend this restaurant. Was part of a group of 16 as the weekend and they coped 100% better then any leading chain restaurant I have been too.
perfect food, Lovely host and lovely venue.

A must visit

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bucketandspade1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dog and Crook also viewed

 
Twyford, Winchester
Eastleigh, Hampshire
 

Been to Dog and Crook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing