We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Child friendly hotel - would definately recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Southampton - Eastleigh M3,jct13
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Eastleigh
Birmingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Child friendly hotel - would definately recommend”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We booked this hotel as part of the Peppa Pig World short break deal. I chose this particular hotel due to the facilities and child friendly reviews and I was not disappointed.
On arrival a pirate gift bag was given to our 2 year old, this was the usual cheap party bag fillers - colouring book, crayons and cardboard jigsaw, it kept our little one entertained, so cannot complain!

I loved the fact that children were allowed in the pool, the pool was a good size, this was a busy week August bank holiday week and parking was available. We didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel as we were out all day, although we did use the pool and spa after a busy day out at peppa pig world.

Our room was nice and clean and air conditioning was welcomed!

The only negative point was when we checked in we were asked if we wanted to book a table in the restaurant as it was fully booked, so we needed to let them know soon (so, I thought, how can we book if it's 'fully booked'!!) we decided not to book as we were unsure what our plans were. Later in the evening about 6.50pm we decided we would try to see if there was availability to eat in the restaurant after all, I asked if there was a table free, I could only see 2 tables occupied at the time and I was told we couldn't be seated as they were fully booked, however there would be a table in 15 minutes, or we could order from the restaurant menu at the bar and get served straight away. We could order from the bar menu or restaurant menu wherever we decided to order, but a 15 minute wait to sit at a table in the restaurant.... well, I was confused by the lack logic there!!! But we decided to wait 15 minutes!!! the restaurant was not at all busy.

There was a good choice on the menu, however, would like a selection of cooked veg on the kids menu. The food was really nice, well presented and good value for money. expected high prices and small portions, but this was not the case. We then booked for our 2nd night stay, in case they were fully booked again!!!! ha ha, I wonder if the staff were embarrassed telling us that they were busy, when it appeared they were not, I am sure the same chefs cook for bar and restaurant?? One bonus was that our child ate free!

Paid £262 for 2 nights with breakfast for 2 adults and 1 child - bank holiday week. I did look at bed & breakfast with separate peppa pig world, but for £25 more we got the pool and spa, so value for money was not bad.

Would stay here again as a base to go out and about.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meesh75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton - Eastleigh M3,jct13, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Meesh75,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your stay at the Holiday Inn Southampton-Eastleigh. I was very pleased to read that you found the hotel conveniently located for Peppa Pig World and that you enjoyed the use of the Spirit Health Club facilities.

I am sorry for any confusion regarding the restaurant. A tour group was booked to eat in the restaurant and I can only think that the tables were reserved for their arrival later in the evening. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused to you.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed all the other aspects of your stay and hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Alastair Lawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    264
    135
    32
    18
See reviews for
256
153
26
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel as a base for Peppa Pig World and is very easy to find from the park when using satnav. The hotel's interior is sleek and stylish and check in was quick and efficient.
Our room was very spacious with more than enough room for our daughter's travel cot and still space to spare.
We dined in the hotel's restaurant where our daughter was given crayons and her own large photocopied version of the menu, complete with Peppa pictures on the back. The hotel had also provided a clean booster seat for her.
The waiting on staff were incredibly efficient yet still friendly and when taking our order asked if we would like our toddler's meal as soon as it was ready, or with our own meals. A special mention for Ben who looked after us incredibly well - thank you! The food was excellent, steak cooked perfectly as ordered and the child's meal would have suitably fed an adult! Even more impressive was that the child 's meal was free! Milk and cookies before bed was also a brilliant touch!
The room's air-con was a very welcome facility due to the good weather.
Breakfast was busy but we were seated within minutes and served tea and coffee promptly. There was an extensive range of hot and cold options and the cooked breakfast was cooked well.
We would definitely recommend this hotel- thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KER18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton - Eastleigh M3,jct13, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Ker18,

Thank you very much for your excellent review following your stay at the Holiday Inn Southampton-Eastleigh.

I am delighted that you found the staff friendly and efficient and that your daughter enjoyed her milk and cookies and the play pack!

Thank you for recommending us and I hope you will stay with us again should be visiting the area again.

Yours sincerely,


Alastair Lawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

I thought this place was ok, I didn't spend much time in there to be honest and they even made me some food that wasn't on the 24 hour menu at 11.30 at night!! That was much appreciated as I'd missed my tea. There was a gym although didnt get to use it, room was pretty standard for holiday inn. Prices were usual mortgage prices. Luckily I don't pay for it! Free car park and special thanks to the night porters/guy that served me at that time.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank StaffordHelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton - Eastleigh M3,jct13, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review following your stay at the Holiday Inn Southampton-Eastleigh.

I was pleased to read that the night porter was able to make some food for you following your late arrival at the hotel.

I do hope that you will stay with us again and will have the opportunity to use the gym and swimming pool.

Kind regards,

Yours sincerely,



Alastair Lawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
286 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed for one night as part of a cruise and stay package. The check in was good, room[executive] fine. The hotel was easy walk into town. Unfortunately the dining room was being refurbished and breakfast was served in a conference room, it was rather chaotic although the pancake maker was good.
The taxi service to and from the port was efficient, but on our return our car had been damaged scratched by another driver who had not owned up.
The hotel staff were most apologetic but where we were parked [opposite reception] was not covered by CCTV. So please if you are leaving your car check the best position to leave it so it will be covered by CCTV as you do park at your own risk.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grotbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton - Eastleigh M3,jct13, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear grotbags,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns.

We are saddened to hear your troubles during your stay with us. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you had in our breakfast area and for the issues you had in the parking area. It is our fullest intention to provide the best experience, as such, we are constantly looking into areas of improvements in the best of our efforts assuring you of our best attention and service at all times.

Your feedback is indeed of utmost importance to us and rest assured that actions will be taken to ensure our guests continue to enjoy superlative levels of service, comfort & security that they expect when staying at our hotel. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This Hotel has special offers for families and children eat free during July and August. We checked in there for a Saturday evening function and the reception and bar area was teeming with noisy children, let loose to play while parents had a rest. Good luck to them. Sunday mornng breakfast was crowded and noisy, no tables cleared, queue to get cooked food etc. The hotel was good clean and the rooms comfortable, tea and coffee in the room was a godsend else it was go go the bar. Just stay clear of July and August if youlike it quieter.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bogarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton - Eastleigh M3,jct13, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Southampton-Eastleigh.

I am very sorry that the hotel was noisier than you had anticipated and that you were not able to have the relaxing stay that you had hoped for. We are very popular with families as we are ideally situated to a local theme park and therefore tend to be busy during the holiday periods.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again should you be returning to the area on some future occasion.

Yours sincerely,



Alastair Lawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Super room and excellent options for breakfast. Restaurant being refurbished but conference rooms in use instead adequate. Corporate feel. Staff not as friendly and accommodating as could be. Biggest disappointment was the cookies and milk offer for the kids. It sounds like a great idea but when the staff make it sound like you are causing them bother by requesting it you feel very put out. This is especially so when given broken fruit and lemon biscuits - what do they think appeals to the taste buds of 4 year olds? Other than that a really great hotel for an overnight stop. Hotel booked in conjunction with visit to Peppa Pig World and ideally located less than 15 minutes away. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Family rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sighmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton - Eastleigh M3,jct13, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Sighmon,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Southampton-Eastleigh.

I am very sorry that the staff were not as friendly and helpful as they should have been and that the free cookies were so disappointing. We pride ourselves on the friendliness of our staff and I am really sorry that we let you down on this occasion.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed all the other aspects of your stay and in particular the excellent options at breakfast.

I hope we will be able to welcome you back should you be staying in this area again.

Kind regards,


Alastair Lawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2013

As far as my 5 year old is concerned, this hotel is heaven on earth ( he hasn't been to any others mind you...) We booked as part of a package with tickets to Paultons Park/Peppa Pig World, so the price was pretty reasonable. He loved the swimming pool and certainly made the most of the breakfast buffet, particularly the pancake machine. We have stayed here before on a similar package and had dinner in the restaurant one evening, but we didn't think the food was that great and it was fairly expensive for what it was, even with the 'kids eat free' deal, so this time we just went to the co-op around the corner and had a lovely picnic in our room! The staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. Great stuff!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hellocleaveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton - Eastleigh M3,jct13, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Guest,

I was delighted to read that your 5 year old was so pleased with his first experience of staying in a hotel and that he particularly enjoyed the swimming pool and the buffet breakfast with pancake machine!

I hope that if you are visiting this area in the future that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,


Alastair Lawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastleigh
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Southampton Eastleigh
2.3 mi away
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
1,121 reviews
4.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Southampton - Eastleigh M3,jct13? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Southampton - Eastleigh M3,jct13

Property: Holiday Inn Southampton - Eastleigh M3,jct13
Address: Leigh Road, Eastleigh SO50 9PG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Eastleigh
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Eastleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Southampton - Eastleigh M3,jct13 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Southampton-Eastleigh is located between Southampton and Winchester in the heart of Hampshire, with easy access to the M3 and M27 and ample complimentary car parking. The hotel is conveniently located in close proximity to Southampton International Airport and Cruise Terminals. If you would like to take the family on day trips to the New Forest, Beaulieu Motor Museum, Marwell Zoo and Paulton's Park, then this Eastleigh hotel is the ideal location for you. This hotel features 129 fully air-conditioned bedrooms, including disabled access rooms and family rooms. Enjoy the contemporary cuisine in the Junction Restaurant or dine in your room with our 24 hour Room Service. Best of all, Kids Stay & Eat Free. Spend time working out and relaxing in the Spirit Health Club with the fully equipped gym, indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and beauty treatment facilities. The Holiday Inn Southampton-Eastleigh offers both Airport and Cruise Park, Stay & Go packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, IHG, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Southampton - Eastleigh M3,jct13 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Southampton-Eastleigh Hotel Eastleigh
Holiday Inn Eastleigh
Southampton Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Southampton - Eastleigh M3,Jct13 Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing