We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely little railway - great for kids”

Eastleigh Lakeside Railway
Ranked #3 of 18 things to do in Eastleigh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This dual gauge miniature railway takes visitors on a 20 minute round trip ride between Eastleigh Parkway and Monks Brook Halt, providing an opportunity to visit the lakes, children's playground and picnic areas adjacent to the Halt.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Lovely little railway - great for kids”
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

This small size railway is great for kids and is ok value for money if you buy Standard rather than first class tickets, the difference being that you have open rather than covered coaches. Money can be saved by getting a single and walking to the far stop and getting the little train back. There is a pretty good play park at the stop and the route includes a tunnel. We had my son's birthday party in the party room here and it worked well.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judithedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    56
    15
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Very Friendly Group”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Despite the rain we had a reaaly good time visiting this miniature railway. They had an extra steam loco in service, were preparing for a tea party and still had time to show us round the engine shed. Very friendly staff and thoroughly enjoyable visit. They also do driver training courses and hold gala events throughout the year

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Afternoon Out”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Visited here a few months back when it was the Thomas Day. The lakes are very nice to walk around with nice trails and wildlife. The easier way to get around is the trains. These are a joy to ride on and are relaxing too

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitchell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level Contributor
244 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great fun and peaceful for a city area”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Lovely steam trains that the family can enjoy riding on. Beautifully maintained and focussing mainly on Thomas the Tank Engine. A lovely rail route around the lake but with the advantage of getting off halfway to either picnic, visit the children's playground or walk around the lakes. You can then board a later train to take you back to the station. They run every 15/20 minutes. Simple cafe at the station serving basic food but tasty and very good value. A little shop sells souvenirs. Ticket prices vary but for two adults and a 2 year old it was £8.00
Lots of grandparents enjoying the steam trains!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank shamwari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun morning out.”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

In or around Southampton area? Weekend and sun shining? Family trip required? You could do so much worse than to take a visit to Lakeside park and railway in Eastleigh, Hants. Authentic miniature steam engines, genuine, interested staff, its child and wallet friendly nature, make this a great option for young families.
Treat yourself to a First Class return and savour the atmosphere (and aroma) of coal fired travel. The kids will be genuinely intrigued. Take a walk around the fishing lakes and try out the playground (this in itself is nothing special but something to aim at for a few minutes). Take a picnic and have a spot of lunch before climbing aboard for the return leg and through the tunnel (longer than you think). Don't forget an ice cream when you get back either. My kids went for the flake.
4 returns £13. Good value. Ice creams £1.90. (comeon - you get a flake!) I did get a polite smile from the lady serving.
Ok its not a pulsating, 100 mile an hour, adrenalin pumping festival of Rock and Roll, but there is a time and place for everything. And If I sound a bit like a 50's scout master I make no apology. If its veritable family oriented fun you want then as I say, you will have pleasant time.
It's exactly the kind of place a pubescent teenager with their family would loathe. My kids (7 and 3) loved it. I did too. Must be getting old..........

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eastleigh Lakeside Railway also viewed

 

Been to Eastleigh Lakeside Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing