We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome pub”

Brigadier Gerard Public House
Ranked #47 of 119 Restaurants in Eastleigh
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Eastleigh
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome pub”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Food is amazing and the landlady is always helpful and friendly, even the old boy in the mobility scooter is always on hand provide help. Its always busy which speaks volumes as the masses can't be wrong!

Helpful?
3 Thank Topboy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    42
    27
    26
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Do not go here!!! RUDE RUDE RUDE!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Where to start! What a truly awful experience we had when wanting a nice meal out with friends on Friday night.
The rudest landlady I have ever had the misfortune to meet! Like many other reviewers we thought the place looked nice from the outside, the gardens were busy and menu looked ok if a little pricey.
However we did not even stay to have the drinks due to the appalling attitude of the landlady , We were made to feel like a huge inconvenience and after pointing out an infestation of flying ants by our table we were told "they are just ants" . Astounded by this response we were then told to "move then". So we did right out the door!
The rudest person I have ever met!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank helenp713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
2 reviews
“Horrendous service from the landlady!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

A group of us wanted to eat here last night but didn't even drink our drinks before leaving. We were sat on a table by the window where we noticed a swarm of flying ants on the window sill. When we pointed this out to the land lady she simple said "move then" and proceeded to tell us "it's only ants". We found this extremely rude and not very habitable, she didn't seem bothered that there was a mass of ants very near to where we were due to eat food. Will not be visiting this pub again! Disgraceful!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JessicaB1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Infestation!!!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

A group of us wanted somewhere different to go for a bite to eat and we had never eaten in this pub before so thought we would give it a go as the pub garden looked busy and it looked like a popular choice....after walking into the pub and greeted by the unhelpful hoist asking if we had made a reservation then after we said we hadn't just left us to wonder and find our own table in the far corner next to the window...we then ordered drinks and food taken by (I believe) the land lady for one of us to notice an infestation of ants and flying ants on the window seal!! behind the radiator it was compleatly covered in ants and white eggs that where/had hatched!! IT WAS VILE but maybe not as vile as the response we got from the waitress!! As she brought our drinks over we mentioned there was an infestation of ants and flying ant to be told 'oh there only ants they won't hurt you' I'm sorry but that's not quite the response we was looking for we said we didn't really want to be sat around flying ants while trying to eat our meals and where then told 'well move then!' There was no politeness or niceness in her response at all! Her attitude was disgusting to us as paying guests.... So we felt we had no other option but to leave so we did and if there happy for there to be and investation like that on show to there paying customers and it not bother them in the slightest who knows what's in the kitchen!!! Safe to say we had a lucky escape and I'm glad they didn't get a penny of our money we will make sure that our friends and family will know better than to go in there!!!!! Vile vile vile!!!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jkyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Excellent meal, staff were even able to make me a fishermans pie without cheese ( due to an allergy), there was plenty of fish and it tasted excellent. Side selection of vegetables was ideal,
everyone around us also commented on the excellent food.
Well worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brigadier Gerard Public House also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
 
Eastleigh, Hampshire
Eastleigh, Hampshire
 

Been to Brigadier Gerard Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing