We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Sunday Lunch.”
Review of Coal Exchange

Coal Exchange
Ranked #8 of 36 Restaurants in Emsworth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
gosport,hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful Sunday Lunch.”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

In Emsworth, people are spoilt for choice for public houses, being several in the village and nearby.
Myself and friends decided to try the Coal Exchange after looking at recent reviews on Trip Advisor, and I have to say,all the reviews are spot on. Although the eating area is a little cramped due to the size of the pub, the meal was absolutely superb, plenty of good quality meat, and lots of well cooked vegetables, served piping hot on warm plates,by fantastic staff.
I would whole heartedly recommend the Coal Exchange, I'm sure you will enjoy the experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pompeyboy1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    56
    14
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Pub, Staff & Food...”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I have been lots of times just for drinks and several times for food ..But only eaten on a Tuesday (curry night) or on a Thursday (International night) really great value, 'eat all you like type hot/cold buffet' including plenty of fresh fruit for pud!- a great variety, great value and really very tasty (on either night) grab a plate from behind the bar, fill it from a lovely a choice of food, sit back and enjoy the buzz of a very atmospheric pub with really friendly staff. Would definitely recommend although suggest booking in advance as it does get very busy.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Was our first visit here, went with family in total there was seven of us, good food and beer, (lol) First impression was Wow! Just the sort of pub and eatery we like and to top it all two roaring log fires. We were seated within five mins and got our meals by the time the menfolk had gotten the drinks. Lovely food really enjoyed our night there. All agreed a good night out and good food and drinks, value for money.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dragonwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great traditional pub with lovely garden”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This is a very long established pub which has a history stretching back generations. It is refreshingly un-modernised and fortunately the owners haven't gone down the wine-bar-shabby-chic-leather-armchair look just yet, that every other boozer seems to have opted for. Service is great, staff friendly and chatty, they put roasties on the bar every so often, and in the summer the garden is sunny - they often host BBQs and beer festivals and the like. All very good and a regular watering hole when I am in the area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JumpinJackFlash60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food - make sure you are hungry!”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Took a friend here for lunch on 13th Jan who had not eaten here before. Was impressed by speedy, friendly service and huge plates of good food! I have been here for the curry and international nights before and the food has always been very good and good value for money. Will definitely be returning.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JulieH798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coal Exchange also viewed

Emsworth, Hampshire
Emsworth, Hampshire
 
Emsworth, Hampshire
 
Emsworth, Hampshire
Emsworth, Hampshire
 

Been to Coal Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing