We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, lovely staff, excellent food.”
Review of The Lord Raglan

The Lord Raglan
Ranked #14 of 36 Restaurants in Emsworth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$19
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Lord Raglan is an 18th Century traditional pub, backing on to the Slipper Mill Pond and the River Ems. This lively pub is well known locally for its friendly atmosphere, great food and top notch real ale. There is an exciting selection of dishes to enjoy from bar snacks to three course meals - the sizzles and steak and mushroom pie are a must, very tasty. Weekends are very busy so it is well worth booking a table if you wish to eat. Sunday evening is live music night which is hugely popular and has a regular following and draws a friendly mixed crowd.
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, lovely staff, excellent food.”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Sally and her staff at the Lord Raglan have been consistently superb. Always a friendly welcome and a cheery farewell. The atmosphere in the pub is charming and traditional and attracts a wide range of ages. The garden is neat, pretty and perfectly positioned by the waterside. The bar food is good quality and value and the restaurant food is excellent. They have a traditional and modern menu that changes all the time - a sign of good ingredients, innovation and respect of the seasons. They welcome well behaved dogs on leads. They'll put the telly on if you want and have live music most weekends. We have visited several times over the last four months and never had a bad experience. We moved to Emsworth a few months ago and have tried all the local pubs - this is by far the best in town!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeckyandIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salraglan24, Owner at The Lord Raglan, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you so much for your review, and your custom. I have shown it to members of staff and they are all very grateful for the praise you have given them. Look forward to seeing you all soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    42
    16
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milborne Port, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A really pleasant surprise!!”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stumbled across this pub purely by accident as we passed through Emsworth looking for a place to have a quick lunch and we are so pleased we did.

The pub has a really nice beer garden outside overlooking the estuary so is a great place for a lunch on a sunny afternoon. The staff were really friendly even though they were completely overwhelmed from the looks of things (Hantsman99's comment is a bit harsh but it did have a rather chaotic feel to the place!!)

The lack of vegetarian dishes on the specials board would be my only criticism so we ended up ordering hake and chips which, as it turned out, was probably some of the best fish I have ever eaten. The chips were hot and delicious and the beer batter on the fish was light and crisp with a great flavour; the fish was cooked to perfection. It is worth saying that there is a light menu with sandwiches and jacket potatoes, etc, so for the really strict vegetarian, there are options.

If you get the chance, do try this place. We would definitely go back again if yesterday was anything to go by.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salraglan24, Owner at The Lord Raglan, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for your review. I remember you actually! And I also remember you waiting patiently for a drink a couple of times as we were quite busy. So, thank you for that.
We are currently changing our menu hence there was a bigger specials board than usual. That is also one of the reasons we had the notice about vegetarian options being available from the bar, as the menu would have been twice as long! Our old menu, however, had a section with a choice of vegetarian options and we aim to do so with the new one. As you may have noticed, the pub is going through a small refurbishment, with a lot of exterior work to tidy up the building in general, so we decided to change our menu in order to tie in with the new fresh look!
I am pleased you enjoyed your only option on the board.... Once again, thank you for your kind words and hopefully see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An enjoyable return after several months away”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Took advantage of the rare sunshine last Tusday and had lunch with friends in the Raglan's garden on the waterfront for the first time in several months. Simple, reasonably priced and throroughly enjoyable fare washed down with pints of London Pride. The locally sourced sausages are wonderful. Sally and her staff were their usual charming and accommodating selves. Thank you.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salraglan24, Owner at The Lord Raglan, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you so much for that positive feedback! Much appreciated. Summer BBQs starting soon so keep an eye on our Facebook page for details.
See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Give a wide berth”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Bad atmosphere in here with an altercation between customers and poorly run and not dealt with properly by bar staff or licensee.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Hantsman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salraglan24, Owner at The Lord Raglan, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
I am perplexed by this review. As you do not give dates, times etc it is difficult to respond to you. However, I will, as I think it's unfair to give a negative review and not be specific so we can respond. I am the licensee and I have not witnessed an altercation in this pub for a very long time. You mention a licensee not handling the situation... Well, I certainly haven't encountered an 'altercation'. Having spoken to my bar staff, they are as shocked as I am by your allegations. You are more than welcome to email me on info@lordraglanemsworth.co.uk
so I can have some more information on this. It is always interesting how negative reviews tend to not give specific details of said events.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“very nice place to eat”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

went to the lord raglan Saturday night 2nd,never booked but was made very welcome great food and value for money there were four of us and not one complaint well done lord raglan.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank artist017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lord Raglan also viewed

 
Emsworth, Hampshire
Emsworth, Hampshire
 

Been to The Lord Raglan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing