We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing breakfast”
Review of Driftwood Cafe

Driftwood Cafe
Ranked #4 of 36 Restaurants in Emsworth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Relaxing breakfast”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a late breakfast which was really scrummy! Muffin with avocado purée, poached egg and bacon. Absolutely delicious and a bit different.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dolly186406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    83
    25
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,308 reviews
575 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 435 helpful votes
“Pricey but good”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Nice cosy cafe in Emsworth. Good range of lunchtime offerings with an interesting and varied menu. Worth the extra pennies for the good quality and presentation. If you want cream teas then the advice is to book for an afternoon setting.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tezpil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Buggies”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I had a good experience when visiting this cafe with my daughter and granddaughter. Lovely cream tea and we were able to sit outside. A month later my daughter took her sister and her baby to the cafe to repeat the enjoyable experience. The weather was wet and all four were soaking and in need of a warm drink. Sadly the staff were unwelcoming to the buggies blocking cafe pathways and made no attempt to accommodate this little party who felt they had to leave the cafe and go back into the rain. I thought all public places had to be accessible - sadly this does not seem to be the case .

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chriss G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pricey but excellent quality”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My family and I have eaten there a few times around breakfast time. The food is always well cooked with high quality ingredients, it competes with the a few other places in Emsworth, namely Heidis, Greenhouse cafe and possibly Flintstones, all of whom provide a premium product (compared to supermarket cafes.) This is no greasy spoon...

There is a menu on their website www.driftwood-cafe.co.uk

Service is a little patchy at times depending on how busy they are but on the whole I am satisfied.

The decor is light and airy, my only concern is it could get a bit humid on rainy days, I have a thing about misted up windows...

Parking nearby is ok on the street but limited. There is a carpark in Emsworth 2 minutes walk away.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DarrenJacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,344 reviews
502 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 576 helpful votes
“An Excellent Cafe”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This is an excellent cafe with varied comfortable seating and friendly and helpful staff. An extensive breakfast menu that operates until 1.00pm and a quality afternoon menu. Many of the offerings are locally sourced and prepared daily. We were impressed that the daily special choice was published on the website. We called in on the afternoon of St George's Day, a busy day, but the staff were coping well. Very good crumpets and proper Flat White coffee to savour. Will certainly call again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank bsandrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Driftwood Cafe also viewed

Emsworth, Hampshire
Emsworth, Hampshire
 
Emsworth, Hampshire
 

Been to Driftwood Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing