We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Art on a Plate!”
Review of 36 On the Quay

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Emsworth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
36 On the Quay
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Emsworth
Certificate of Excellence
Havant, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Art on a Plate!”
Reviewed 21 September 2012

I have never tasted food quite like it! The Lemon Sorbet is so light it resembles eating "Lemon Flavoured Air! The beef melted in my mouth just like a sorbet. Each visit tantalises my tastebuds and keeps me yearning for more.....

The service is professional & discreet. The atmosphere ambient & serene. The location is picture perfect.

Christmas Lunch for 14 already booked.

Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank s44amx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    26
    15
    12
    5
See reviews for
11
105
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Lovely stay, fantastic food. Great attention to detail. Cheerfully and efficiently coped with a dietary problem. Highly recommended for a bit of pampering.

Room Tip: We enjoyed a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

This is such a wonderful restaurant , intimate, friendless is one of their brands , every dish is immaculate, complex and wonderful. You leave this place smiling , every time !

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Acea50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antibes, France
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I must've been to stay and eat at 36 on the Quay a good ten times over the last ten years and it really is one of the loveliest restuarants with rooms.
Great service (albeit not always over-friendly), clean rooms, fantastic degustation and wines, a light and airy dining room - the place feels like an oasis of a weekend retreat - especially in the setting of Emsworth, a foodie fishing village with plenty of great places to lunch and fresh sea-air walks to aid the digestion.
And after your massive evening meal you only have to waddle a few yards up the stairs to crash into bed!
Of course, it's not a cheap place, but then, if you're doing things properly, it shouldn't be!

In the good old days my favourite room to stay in was Vanilla when the Emsworth Food Festival was on, when I could sit in the bay window seat and foodie-watch with a glass of champers.
Sadly they don't run the food festival anymore but I still recommend Vanilla as the best room, with a perfect view over the fishing bay and plenty of light.

Great place for a couple of nights stay, especially if you appreciate being looked after and eating lots of rather nice nosh. Good for celeb-spotting too!

Room Tip: Vanilla is the largest and has the best view over the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrightonBecki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

As a 3 year anniversary treat I decided to book a relaxing night away with some high quality food, and 36 On The Quay seemed to be the perfect choice.

After a little bit of retail therapy in Portsmouth's Gunwharf Quays, we arrived at around 16.30 and were immediately struck by the beauty of the little town of Emsworth. Everything seemed very relaxed and quaint, with 36 On The Quay fitting in perfectly with the surrounding sea-front houses. The Quay itself had a walkway that went out across the water, which was lovely on Sunday morning with the sun out.

We checked in and were immediately impressed. We stayed in the 'Clove' room which was one of the cheapest offerings, but it was absolutely perfect. The room was immaculate and clean, and despite being relatively small felt cosy rather than cramped. The bathroom is always the key test of cleanliness, and it was spotless. There was not a shower in this bathroom, but it was so clean that having a relaxing bath was even more appealing anyway.

We had dinner in the restaurant at 8.15, and the food was truly brilliant. They have a Michelin star for good reason, and the price of £57 each for a 3 course meal is actually great value. We both had different starters and mains, which were perfectly cooked and beautifully flavoured. And for desert the 'Iced Peanut Parfait' was fanstatic, sweet enough to satisy my sweet tooth, but not heavy or sickly.

Dinner itself was not a quick process, with my final coffee being consumed just after 11, but this was for me was the perfect speed. It gave time between courses to appreciate the food and flavour, and start craving the next course.

The clientele of the restuarant was much certainly older than us (25 and 24) but we did not feel out of place, and those who we did speak too were friendly and shared the common interest of great food!

The next morning we had a continental breakfast delivered to the room, and this was the icing on the cake for us. Not only was everything very tasty, but it was very relaxing to be able to eat at our own pace in the privacy of our room.

Finally the staff were also all fantastic. Everyone we spoke to were very friendly and helpful, and made our stay even more relaxing.

I would throughly recommend anyone to try 36 On The Quay if they can as it really does live up to its billing.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JIngo4646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreham by Sea
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

My wife arranged this short break as a surprise for my 70th birthday and she couldn't have chosen better. We had the suite overlooking the harbour - lovely and interesting views from the window seat - and our welcome was very friendly and informative. As we only stayed one night we chose the a la carte menu and it is clear why the restaurant has had its Michelin star for 11 years. Absolutely outstanding!
The suite was extremely comfortable and amusingly quirky ( it's an old building). We chose to have breakfast in our room and this again was perfect.
We both feel this break was excellent, but were a little disappointed to discover on checking out that there is a two-night offer including both the a la carte and the tasting menus for little more than we paid for our one night. Had we known earlier we would have certainly done this.

Room Tip: The suite overlooking the harbour is excellent and they also have a small self-catering cottage just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rabbit00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012 via mobile

I eat at 36 once or twice a year and have been doing so for five or six years.

There are two options, a fixed menu at about £25 and an al la carte which costs significantly more. Two of us had a £60 bottle of wine, starter, main, sweet and coffee and it came to £180.00. Quite expensive.

On the other hand, I will pay for good food and that is what you get here at 36.

We always eat at lunch time. The atmosphere at 36 is what I would describe as formal, well off and well dressed patrons. It's not stuffy though and the staff are all friendly and helpful.

Chef always does a first class job. I have never been let down. On our last visit we both had quail and it was outstanding. Both of us had duck with figs as a main, it was also good, not quite up to the starter but still lovely. He also does a different duch main with honey etc, which is great too. For pudding I had a deconstructed apple tart, lovely and my wife had chocolate stuff, which she also liked a lot.

Having eaten at The Jetty, The Pig, The Black Rat and The Chesil Rectory amongst others recently. This was the best food we have had for some time. Not the best atmosphere, I'd give that to The Pig, best location to The Jetty and a tie for average food at The Black Rat and The Chesil Rectory.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank HuwJxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emsworth
0.8 mi away
Brookfield Hotel
Brookfield Hotel
#1 of 4 in Emsworth
497 reviews
1.7 mi away
Langstone Hotel
Langstone Hotel
#3 of 4 in Hayling Island
1,652 reviews
3.6 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#4 of 4 in Emsworth
154 reviews
6.3 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
828 reviews
4.1 mi away
Newtown House Hotel
Newtown House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hayling Island
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 36 On the Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 36 On the Quay

Property: 36 On the Quay
Address: 47 South Street, Emsworth PO10 7EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Emsworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Emsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — 36 On the Quay 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
36 On The Quay Hotel Emsworth
36 On The Quay Emsworth, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing