We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing little place to stay”
Review of 36 On the Quay

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Emsworth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
36 On the Quay
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Emsworth
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Amazing little place to stay”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stayed in the Cardamom Cottage. Lovely little fisherman's cottage (watch out for the low door frames!) right by the water and incredibly close to the restaurant across the road (reviewed separately). Definitely a great option for either an overnight on the south coast or even a longer base...

Amazing breakfast in the room, too!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanMcN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    27
    15
    12
    5
See reviews for
11
104
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London GB
Level Contributor
140 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here. I was in a tiny room but it was very comfortable. I had a wonderful sleep. The bathroom was small too, but worked perfectly well. The hotel is right on the harbour in Emsworth, and is mostly convenient for having dinner at the excellent restaurant, then simply stepping upstairs for the night. But it's also next door to the local boat club, and a very short stroll to Emsworth centre. Simple but delicious continental breakfast served in a separate room above the restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gaffeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed here for one night in December. Check in was perfectly fine, girl was very pleasant and helpful. We stayed in the vanilla room which was very nice with great views. Not ideal if you are tall though as very low beam across the centre of the room. We paid £200 for the room which we thought was very overpriced.
We ate in the restaurant expecting it to be busy the week before Christmas but there were only 7 people including ourselves. So quiet that we had to whisper and it lacked any atmosphere.
The food itself I'm sorry but we just didn't enjoy our meal. We have eaten in good restaurants all over the world and this was not one of our memorable ones.
Overall we paid a lot of money for this one night and came away feeling we didn't get value for money.
Would we return, no.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank RoseReading_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Our anniversary dinner at 36 was a brilliant balance of great (exceptional) food and relaxed service. Best meal we've had in a long time and whilst pricey it's actually great value. Highly recommended? Oh and get Ken from ryanjamescars to take you if you want brilliant service there too!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Stayed here in November had a wonderful time food and service were great the only complaint must be the foreign waitress, she was very inept, her manner was awful and personal hygiene questionable the smell of the food was over powered by her lack of deodorant. I do wonder how the management have stayed loyal to her after making this our third visit. Please only one thing needs to change and it's going to improve your restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Localtoemsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aldershot
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

A fantastic place accommodation was lovely there is not one thing I could fault about it. We stayed in the cottage opposite frome the restaurant and it was absolutely delightful and well worth the money. We ate at the restaurant and the food was the best i think we hAve ever had, service impeccable the staff friendly, I can honestly not say a bad thing about this place. It is well worth the visit.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank landrhants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking,UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

A last minute night away was superb. Staff very friendly, room superb, food even better but what happened to the apple souffle served a couple of years ago. My wife rates it as the best pudding on the planet!!

Room Tip: "Vanilla" is worth the extra although there is a bath and not a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamuelsGrandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emsworth
0.8 mi away
Brookfield Hotel
Brookfield Hotel
#1 of 4 in Emsworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#4 of 4 in Emsworth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
3.6 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Langstone Hotel
Langstone Hotel
#3 of 4 in Hayling Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth Havant South (Langstone/A27)
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Havant) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 36 On the Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 36 On the Quay

Property: 36 On the Quay
Address: 47 South Street, Emsworth PO10 7EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Emsworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Emsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — 36 On the Quay 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
36 On The Quay Hotel Emsworth
36 On The Quay Emsworth, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing