We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good honest hotel and excellent value”
Review of Brookfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Brookfield Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Emsworth
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A good honest hotel and excellent value”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

A good honest little hotel with some yesteryear charm and standards. The bar, restaurant and gardens are very pleasant and the food excellent.
Unfortunately, due to that large yellow thing appearing in the sky and making things very hot - most unusual in this country - the room (room 9) was far too hot for a comfortable night. Some of the décor is a little tired and could be easily rectified.
This was a one night business stop and would have been more than adequate other than for the heat.
However, none of this would put me off and I would not hesitate in booking it again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sxfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie J, Front Office Manager at Brookfield Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear Sxfox,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for your kind words.

I am pleased to hear you were lucky to have the weather during your stay but unfortunately this did make it very warm within the Hotel as there was very little air.

With reference to your comment on the decor we are currently in a refurbishment program so hopefully if you return on business you will see our progress.

Kind regards
Julie Jehu
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    154
    42
    13
    5
See reviews for
85
205
16
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worthing
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

This is a really good hotel, had one night stay with breakfast and dinner all excellent quality. The staff were very friendly and eager to help out when required. Room was very warm, but reasonably quiet, the A27 is only a few hundred metres from the rear of the hotel. Would really recommend a stay and a meal at this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cognac100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie J, Front Office Manager at Brookfield Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip advisor.

It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay and dining experience at the Hotel.

Hopefully if you are travelling in the area again we will see you back at The Brookfield Hotel.

Kind regards
Julie Jehu
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

What a terrific little hotel. I'd highly recommend staying here if you are traveling to Emsworth, The service is uniformly friendly. Individuals working throughout the property went out of their way to make me feel "at home" (even when, at 5am, I snuck downstairs looking for an early morning snack). The rooms get a little bit warm (I see that a previous visitor made the same comment) and one day might benefit from a more coherent decorating scheme. The simple breakfast is satisfying (fruit salad, toast, jams, coffee...). There is complimentary wifi access. I will certainly return to the Brookfield Hotel in the future and will recommend that friends and family stay here too.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 849Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie J, Front Office Manager at Brookfield Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip advisor.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves on our staff but it is nice to hear that do they do help guests with the little things that matter and always provide the service we expect.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Brookfield Hotel in the future.

Kind regards
Julie Jehu
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for one night; from my initial booking everything was excellent. We stayed in Room 6, which had the most wonderful pencil bed, it was very comfortable, spacious, clean and beautifully presented. I will say it could be noisy for some as it is at the front of the hotel, and the traffic noise could be disturbing, but didn't worry us. The public areas are very bright, modern and well decorated. Breakfast is served in the Hermitage Restaurant, and this is a lovely room with views of the garden. The staff are all extremely helpful, friendly and professional. When we first arrived, my husband was hungry from our drive and we had tea and sandwiches in the lounge area - he wants me to specifically mention the cheese and pickle sandwich he had as he said they were the best he has ever had! He keeps talking about them even now haha. We had dinner here too, again a lovely meal with local produce.

Unfortunately we were staying at the hotel due to sad circumstances, a friends funeral. The 'wake' was held at the Brookfield and the service received was 5 star. Wonderful food and plenty off it.

If in the area again we would have no hesitation in staying here.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie J, Front Office Manager at Brookfield Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay despite the circumstances that brought you to stay with us.

Your comments have been passed onto all of the staff especially the chefs regarding our cheese and pickle sandwiches.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to The Brookfield in the future even if its for a sandwich in the garden.

Kind regards
Julie Jehu
Reception manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Came down to Emsworth for a family wedding nearby & stayed at the Brookfield. It was lovely, great room, nice bathroom. Only thing was the room was rather hot (Room 1) and the downy was fit for the Arctic! Also, the service at breakfast on the first morning (Saturday) was rather slow, but the food delicious once it came. However, they had hot plates off breakfast out on the Sunday morning - good planning, as they knew there were a lot of wedding guest staying! Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherinemrutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie J, Front Office Manager at Brookfield Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear Catherinemrutter,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and the wedding.
We appreciate your comments and I can assure you these will be addressed.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Brookfield Hotel in the future.

Kind regards
Julie Jehu
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

A spotlessly clean hotel with excellent friendly staff, ample parking, good food, should be 3 star plus.
Although no lift the hotel has ground floor rooms which would be useful for the physically impaired and also has invalid wc facilities on the ground floor.

Room Tip: Due to the hotel's popularity suggest you book in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie J, Front Office Manager at Brookfield Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear Hird1,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for your kind words. Thank you for your comment regarding ground floor rooms, The bedrooms are located across two floors and we will allocate a room based on a persons request.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Julie Jehu
Reception manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
127 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

My family and I visited Emsworth and stayed at the Brookfield. Its had the right mix of old world charm and modern amenities. The staff was extremely helpful in accommodating our needs. The Brookfield was within walking distance of the historical down town area of Emsworth which hosts a wide array of shops, restaurants, and pubs.

Cheers.

Room Tip: I would choose a room overlooking the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NEARBOLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie J, Front Office Manager at Brookfield Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Nearbolt,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review . We appreciate your kind and positive words, these are always relayed back to the staff.

I am pleased to hear you visited Emsworth town as a lot of people miss visiting this lovely town.

We hope to welcome you back to The Brookfield Hotel in the future.

Kind regards
Julie Jehu
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emsworth
1.4 mi away
Langstone Hotel
Langstone Hotel
#3 of 4 in Hayling Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,627 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#4 of 4 in Emsworth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
4.4 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth Havant South (Langstone/A27)
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Havant) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookfield Hotel

Property: Brookfield Hotel
Address: 93 Havant Road, Emsworth PO10 7LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Emsworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Emsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brookfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brookfield Hotel, Emsworth is ideally situated - right on the boundary between West Sussex and South Hampshire. Portsmouth and Chichester are both within 10 miles of the hotel and the No 700 bus-stop is right outside; so no need to get caught in the traffic. The small market town of Emsworth, between the maritime heritage of Portsmouth and the English cathedral city of Chichester, is a quite and attractive, yet vibrant and dynamic community, where the residents would not live anywhere else, and visitors are sure of a friendly welcome. The Brookfield Hotel has 39 bedrooms, all fully en suite with comfortable beds and all amenities. The Hermitage Restaurant is available for breakfast, lunch and dinner, with morning coffee and afternoon tea in between. Whether you are a hotel resident or not, you will always be welcome. Conferences, weddings, christenings, funeral teas and all family or business occasions can be arranged by the professional team at The Brookfield Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brookfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookfield Hotel Emsworth, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing