We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed this time”
Review of The Jingles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Jingles
Ranked #2 of 5 Emsworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This was our third visit to Jingles and this time we were in The Lodge, a completely separate house and I have to say we were not impressed. I didn't realise there even was a separate building but it is next door but one to the main house and by comparison look very ordinary. When you enter through the front door it smelt musty and has a grubby looking carpet up the stairs. Our room was small and cannot be described as 4star. We had tea & coffee but one of the cups was dirty - had we been in the main building I would have taken it down to Reception but couldn't be bothered to walk down the street! There was dust along the skirting boards so the cleaner is obviously not very thorough.

The bathroom was very cramped though shower worked fine. The breakfast is good, cooked to order and staff pleasant. It is in good posiiton for Emsworth and can thoroughly recommend Niccolinos to eat, fabulous Italian Restaurant but you need to book as very popular.

If we do go back, I will book by phone and request to be in main building, it needs some attention to detail to maintain a 4 star standard.

Room Tip: Avoid the Lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidayqueen3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2013

Tried this having read reviews on here. Fabulous little B&B- my single room was huge with a double and a single. Spotless en-suite, with brilliant shower. Little touches in room like chocolates for the coffee, and complimentary water. Couldn't fault the breakfast -local produce. Will return

Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stayed at Jingles on a week-end away with friends. It is a very pleasant and comfortable b and b. Our room which situated at the back of the property was well equipped and had a very nice view out over the garden and open countryside. Breakfast in the light and airy dining room was very good with an excellent choice of hot and cold dishes. We were able to use the lovely lounge to sit and have a drink before going out for our evening meal. Jingles is situated about a mile from the centre of Emsworth a really pretty little town on the edge of the amazing Chichester harbour. We walked into town on 3 occasions including for our evening meals and the meals at the Blue Bell Inn and Nicolino's were excellent. The longish walk to and from town was the only downside.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

The hotel was very clean with all the basics. Although our room looked out onto side fence the owners had dressed it with flower baskets which was a nice touch. We were asked to pay up front which is not a problem just a little odd as the first thing before welcome. Noise from room next door was a bit annoying. Otherwise was a good clean hotel with decent breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlemandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed for one night at the Jingles and would stay again. The price is very reasonable at £79 and the room clean and tidy.

The wifi was good as was the tele picture.

The best was the breakfast, although grilled tomato, the cooked breakfast was lovely with as much toast as you wanted! Despite the amount of people staying service was fast and efficient. Well done!!


Two small gripes: no fresh milk (although we didn't ask if they had any) and the walls seem to be a little thin as we could hear the gentleman next door on the phone.

On balance well worth the money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed here for a weekend break as a family and it was very good. The rooms were clean and both en-suite ( a double & single booked as a family room ).

Yes we paid an arrival the lady was very polite and firm about that - clearly it's their policy, no problems.

The rooms were both clean, comfortable and well equipped. Breakfast was very good both the full English and the smoked salmon on muffins with scrabbled eggs.

A very pleasant place to stay and we will definitely return if in the area again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank landroverman0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed here 4/5 years ago and had a very poor stay. Only booked it this time as its a 5 min walk to the party we were going to and it was only one night.

What a difference - nice room - choc on the coffee cups, bottles of water, free wifi and a fab breakfast (gorgeous local sausage and bacon), so for 79 quid for the both of us, pretty good value

Only minor thing was the TV signal was weak (so BBC was out).

Be happy to stay there again

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faradaywarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emsworth
0.8 mi away
Brookfield Hotel
Brookfield Hotel
#1 of 4 in Emsworth
552 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#4 of 4 in Emsworth
160 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Emsworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
1.6 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#4 of 4 in Havant
643 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Old Dairy Farm Luxury B&B and Yurts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jingles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jingles

Address: 73 77 Horndean Road, Emsworth PO10 7PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Emsworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Emsworth
Price Range: £66 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jingles 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA 4 Star Bed and Breakfast Guest Accommodation with 30 en-suite bedrooms. Free Wi-Fi available. Non-smoking throughout. Ample residents parking. Excellent Full English Breakfast. Set in one acre, adjacent to open farmland. 20 Pubs/restaurants located within one mile. All rooms have Sharp 26" LCD Freeview TVs, tea/coffee making, ironing facilities and radio/alarm clocks.Please note Jingles is a Bed and Breakfast and not a full Hotel. It is rated 4 star B&B Guest Accommodation which is different from a full hotel classification. Please call if you require clarification ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Jingles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jingles Hotel Emsworth
The Jingles Emsworth, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing