We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Im not sure....”
Review of The Jingles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Jingles
Ranked #2 of 5 Emsworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Just back from a two night stay at Jingles. This is a large B & B house and the reception area, dining room and the room we stayed in were very clean. The bathroom was lovely bright and modern and the shower worked well with plenty of hot water. Could of done with some larger towels really .. or maybe I need to lose some weight lol
Our room was quite old fashioned and dismal in its decoration. We had a room at the front which let in very little natural light. We also had some noise in the evening from the road outside which is quite busy and we heard the cars arriving and leaving as the car parking area was gravel.

Breakfast was served in a pleasant dining area and the staff were very efficient. There was plenty of different choices but the room did get a bit busy at times with staff coming and going and people queuing for the toaster. Maybe two sittings would be better or getting guests to say which time they would like breakfast as there are 30 rooms and this seems a popular place to stay.

Jingles is about a mile outside the town of Emsworth but the walk down is along a busy road. Parking in Emsworth can be a problem as there is just one car park. There is a nice pub called the Kings Arms just before you get to town. I love Emsworth as there are plenty of nice coastal walks and theres a nice fresh smell about the place. It is convenient for Chichester and Portsmouth as both are just a short and easy drive away.

All in all I would say Jingles lacks the friendliness of a smaller B & B yet all staff were very helpful when needed. I would stay again but would ask for a room at the back next time.

Room Tip: Front of the house rooms can be a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marysunshine156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2013

We had a great room overlooking farmland at the rear of the property. Good size bedroom, spotless en-suite. Bottles of water as well as tea and coffee provided. Bed very very comfortable.
Breakfast was really good. All kinds of cereals, plenty of toast and then a full Enlgish!
Set us up for the rest of the day.

Hotel in a good position for the A27. Brighton to the East and Portsmouth to the West.

Room Tip: Hotel split into two properties. We were in the main house with a room at the back which was very ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This hotel is right on the edge of Emsworth so is easy to find and looks out over fields to the side. We had a room at the back so it was very quiet. The welcome was fine and we knew we had to pay on arrival which was not a problem (this is getting more common now). The baskets and tubs are very attractive at the front and sides of the building and it's easy to see how they have attracted awards for their displays. Our room looked out over the back patio which we felt needed a tidy up to bring it into line with the front. You are given a local map with recommended restaurants marked which we thought was a really good idea. Parking is the best we have ever seen in a small hotel. You only see staff at check-in and breakfast but you can ring the bell on reception if you need anything.

The black-out curtains were welcome but one pair needed to be refitted and looked untidy. Also some wallpaper was coming away from the wall - only small things but if you are AA 4 star and you want to stay that way these should be attended to. The entrance hall smelled strongly of what was being cooked for dinner both nights we came back in around dinner time.

Some would say the rooms look a bit old-fashioned with their dark wood furniture and patterned carpet and they do but the bathroom is modern with a good shower. Wi-Fi is free (wish that was everywhere) and the bottled water was welcome. There is only one chair in the room but the Jingles does have a guest lounge.

The breakfast room is bright and attractive, staff were friendly and swift taking orders. The fruit is tinned but you can help yourself to a selection of unpeeled fresh fruit which is good. We really liked having a choice of cooked food at breakfast - wish more hotels offered something other than the full cooked breakfast.

All in all we felt this place was worth the money and would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flowerlady64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This was our third visit to Jingles and this time we were in The Lodge, a completely separate house and I have to say we were not impressed. I didn't realise there even was a separate building but it is next door but one to the main house and by comparison look very ordinary. When you enter through the front door it smelt musty and has a grubby looking carpet up the stairs. Our room was small and cannot be described as 4star. We had tea & coffee but one of the cups was dirty - had we been in the main building I would have taken it down to Reception but couldn't be bothered to walk down the street! There was dust along the skirting boards so the cleaner is obviously not very thorough.

The bathroom was very cramped though shower worked fine. The breakfast is good, cooked to order and staff pleasant. It is in good posiiton for Emsworth and can thoroughly recommend Niccolinos to eat, fabulous Italian Restaurant but you need to book as very popular.

If we do go back, I will book by phone and request to be in main building, it needs some attention to detail to maintain a 4 star standard.

Room Tip: Avoid the Lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidayqueen3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Tried this having read reviews on here. Fabulous little B&B- my single room was huge with a double and a single. Spotless en-suite, with brilliant shower. Little touches in room like chocolates for the coffee, and complimentary water. Couldn't fault the breakfast -local produce. Will return

Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stayed at Jingles on a week-end away with friends. It is a very pleasant and comfortable b and b. Our room which situated at the back of the property was well equipped and had a very nice view out over the garden and open countryside. Breakfast in the light and airy dining room was very good with an excellent choice of hot and cold dishes. We were able to use the lovely lounge to sit and have a drink before going out for our evening meal. Jingles is situated about a mile from the centre of Emsworth a really pretty little town on the edge of the amazing Chichester harbour. We walked into town on 3 occasions including for our evening meals and the meals at the Blue Bell Inn and Nicolino's were excellent. The longish walk to and from town was the only downside.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

The hotel was very clean with all the basics. Although our room looked out onto side fence the owners had dressed it with flower baskets which was a nice touch. We were asked to pay up front which is not a problem just a little odd as the first thing before welcome. Noise from room next door was a bit annoying. Otherwise was a good clean hotel with decent breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlemandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Emsworth hotels
0.8 mi away
Brookfield Hotel
Brookfield Hotel
#1 of 4 in Emsworth
557 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Emsworth
0.9 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#4 of 4 in Emsworth
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Old Dairy Farm Luxury B&B and Yurts
0.6 mi away
Hollybank House
Hollybank House
#3 of 5 in Emsworth
68 reviews
0.7 mi away
B&B Millers House
B&B Millers House
#4 of 5 in Emsworth
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jingles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jingles

Address: 73 77 Horndean Road, Emsworth PO10 7PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Emsworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Emsworth
Price Range: £64 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jingles 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA 4 Star Bed and Breakfast Guest Accommodation with 30 en-suite bedrooms. Free Wi-Fi available. Non-smoking throughout. Ample residents parking. Excellent Full English Breakfast. Set in one acre, adjacent to open farmland. 20 Pubs/restaurants located within one mile. All rooms have Sharp 26" LCD Freeview TVs, tea/coffee making, ironing facilities and radio/alarm clocks.Please note Jingles is a Bed and Breakfast and not a full Hotel. It is rated 4 star B&B Guest Accommodation which is different from a full hotel classification. Please call if you require clarification ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Jingles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jingles Hotel Emsworth
The Jingles Emsworth, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing