We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“RUBBISH” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Emsworth
Ammanford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“RUBBISH”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

The hotel carpets smelt dank and dirty, the room was tired and dirty, the windows were filthy, the bathroom was no better with a toilet seat that slid sideways when sat on, the electric towel rail had bare wires hangfing out of it, there was mould growing in the corners. We payed £60 bleving this included breakfast and then were charged almoast £16 for two breakfasts that were worth no more than £2.50 each. We have traveled the world and rate this hotel as one of the worst value for money we have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    42
    23
    23
    27
See reviews for
35
61
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Stayed here quite a few times. Nicely located at the centre of the town, this little cozy old-fashioned place is very pleasant. The rooms, though small, were cozy and warm. The food was excellent and the breakfast was fresh and hot. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The manager, Paddy, is entertaining and goes out of his way to help you. Meet quite a few regulars at the pub here who made me feel at home, chatted up and exchanged stories about India, from where I belong. Free WiFi to top up the experience.

Room Tip: Some upper floor rooms have a low ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Faridur C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

Stayed in this hotel with 7 other Family members. We were celebrating my husbands 60th birthday. We had spent the day at the "Goodwood Festival of Speed". I booked it last October nothing else left everywere booked solid over this weekend. As previous reviews state the hotel is in need of a comlpete refurb, None of us could get a decent shower, no water pressure. Carpets and curtains in urgent need of replacment. A fresh coat of paint was needed.However the beds were very clean and comfortable, the food was very good. We had a evening meal and breakfast no complaints. The pub itself was also verypleasant with a nice atmosphere. Would I stay again...Yes. Reason the main things food and beds were very good.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J1J2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

The outside of the building is very encouraging. Hotel check in was closed so had to go to the bar where we waited until the could load up a laptop and then try and print a registration form. They then insisted that the amount we had to pay was £75 as we required breakfast despite my having confirmation that the rate including breakfast was £60. We initially booked a table for dinner but while having a pre-dinner drink saw the chef go to the shop twice for thinks he didn't have, also there was a limited menu, cancelled table and went down to the harbour. Room was terrible, carpet was very very dirty, didn't look as though it had been dusted for months and there was thick black mould in the bathrom. The noise was extreme, I had expected noise up until closing time but this went on until 2:00am. Breakfast was an interesting experience, first in the restaurant, 45 minutes later asked if someone could take our order, eventually gave up as we had waited 1hr 30mins and still no food. Menu states unlimited tea and coffee, well we were only offered one cup of tea and that was in a cracked cup.

Room Tip: There is not a best option for this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKItraveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Emsworth hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

On entering the village, it has lovely surroundings. The hotel looks nice from the outside, but when you park up in the car par and enter the paved garden area, its littered with fag ends and the flowers are end.
In the hotel, the decor's ok in the bar, but could do with some improvement. The service is good in the bar, although you will get dirty drink glasses.
Be aware of leaving your car in the car park, it may get vandalised, mine did.
Overall, won't be going there again......

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flutey69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

Having arrived at this hotel, the outside looks ok. The surrounding area in Emswoth quite plesant. The actual grounds of the hotel is quite unkept, fag ends everywhere. You get dirty glasses at the bar. The decor not too bad, but the rooms are clean enough but could be warmer.
Food not too bad. If you dont want your car vandalised, dont park it in the car park. My car damaged!!!! To top it all, I wont be going there again. Most disappointed in the management and service.

Room Tip: Shop around!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fluffy051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2011

Has not been upgraded for a number of years and at best is showing tiredness, lack of investment, care.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allin225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emsworth
0.8 mi away
Brookfield Hotel
Brookfield Hotel
#1 of 3 in Emsworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
1.8 mi away
Langstone Hotel
Langstone Hotel
#3 of 4 in Hayling Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Havant) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#4 of 4 in Havant
3.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth Havant South (Langstone/A27)
3.6 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown

Property: The Crown
Address: 8 High Street, Emsworth PO10 7AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Emsworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Emsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Emsworth
The Crown Emsworth, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing