We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of The Crown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Crown
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Emsworth
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We were greeted by lovely staff, a warm fire, great food with big portions and a lovely, clean environment. Food was with us quickly and attentively. Hosts were exceptional. Knocks spots off the other pubs we tried in the town. Well done!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank bmthguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2013

The hotel has such a good position in a pretty town but it's charmless, run-down and dirty. There were signs apologising for the flood damage to the walls and ceilings but our room had black mould all over the place - maybe some of the rooms should not have been in use - health hazard! No breakfast as the kitchen was closed due to lack of staff or Christmas or some other excuse - maybe the ceiling had fallen in!? No reduction in price. The owner has a beautiful dog that he exercises in the car park and although we saw him collect some of the dog poo he didn't always notice it and we had to avoid stepping in a pile next to our car - we did report it to him as we didn't want him to think our dog was responsible. The whole place needs a huge facelift!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeborahB708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

The Crown was exactly what I expected it to be. When I went looking for lodgings in Alton, I didn't want flimsy Ikea furniture and a sterile environment. If we'd been looking for that, we would have stayed in some posh, $200-a-night hotel in London. I wanted something with history and character that, most importantly, fit our budget. The Crown was a delightful bed and breakfast, in an old, old building. (We're Americans. The building was older than our country, and that was part of the draw.) The pub downstairs was cozy and full of characters. The staff was helpful and friendly. The room was the right size for us and our luggage, the bathroom was clean, and the bed was comfortable. We stayed for two nights and slept off our jet lag from a ten hour flight. We explored Alton and watched some British television while drinking tea and coffee. In the evenings, we went downstairs for a pint. The breakfast in the mornings was plentiful and delicious. There was a bit of noise from the street, but as it was a Saturday night, and we stayed right in the middle of the main road, above a pub, it was to be expected. We knew what we were getting into. Overall, we very much enjoyed our stay at the Crown, and if we are ever in Hampshire again, we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaLaLasswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

From the moment we checked in the staff could not be more friendly. We had a large double room with en-suite. The bed had crisp white linen and was very comfortable. Would stay again if needed Hotel in Alton.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night - perfect location in the centre of Alton with car parking, service was superb, rooms clean, and the breakfast was fantastic. Would definitely stay here again. The hotel has an interesting history too, especially for any ghost hunters!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MidlandsWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The beds were fine and rooms are average, but I would avoid staying here if you don't like cold bathrooms. The breakfast however is very good and location is great- right on the high street. It felt more like a B&B than a hotel. If you're looking for simple accommodation and conveniently located, then the Crown hotel is fine. If you're looking for luxury, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for one with good heating!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waypengchok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

After visiting several loca pubs, for an evening meal, we decided on the The Crown. The restaurant is small and cosy with a limited choice of food but what was delivered was very good. The meat meals are presented on wooden platters not plates. You can't beat a plate to stop the food falling on to the table. A good choice of beers and nice to have it served as beer and not as an ice cold lager. Did not stay in the hotel

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank old_romantics_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emsworth
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Emsworth
0.8 mi away
Brookfield Hotel
Brookfield Hotel
#1 of 4 in Emsworth
564 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#4 of 4 in Havant
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Langstone Hotel
Langstone Hotel
#3 of 4 in Hayling Island
1,842 reviews
6.7 mi away
Premier Inn Chichester Hotel
6.9 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown

Address: 8 High Street, Emsworth PO10 7AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Emsworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Emsworth
Price Range: £44 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Emsworth
The Crown Emsworth, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing