We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner at The Crown”
Review of The Crown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Crown
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Emsworth
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We were staying at the Emsworth Travelodge and were recommended to go to Emsworth for food, after checking menus decided on the Crown which proved to be a great choice. We had Deep fried Brie to start and a lovely home-made Tagliatelli with Mediterranean vegetable sauce for main. The welcome was great and the service was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank OOK_Librarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Needed a place as cheap as possible to stay as I was house-hunting in Portsmouth over two days. The room was perfectly adequate for a night, and didn't mind having to share the bathroom. I found it clean and comfortable. As other reviewers have said it was quite hot, however a fan was provided which helped. The staff here were very courteous and really went out of their way to inform us - very impressive.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank indeanna_jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed at the crown for two nights and will never be going back! I would not stay here again if it was free. The place is dirty and the room looked like it last saw a Hoover 10 years ago. The prices charged are as if this is some kind of decent establishment which this place definately is not.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Chelsea Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We were visiting Emsworth and called into The Crown for a drink, decided to wait for food menu to recommence...best decision ever!!
Food amazing well worth waiting for, hospitality impressive, try it out for yourselves.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Betsyvw2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel out of desperation, wish I'd read all the reviews fully to know what I was letting myself in for. Our room was just a room, not facilities at all, we had to share a bathroom which is only apparent if you compare the other rooms, the room itself was cramped and the linen was stained and the general cleanliness was appalling. The room was located above the beer garden which when you've had a busy day and need rest, and really dislike the smell of stale alcohol and tobacco smoke then definitely do not stay here. The pub atmosphere is fine if you don't appreciate clean air and like a stuffy (non-airconditioned) room with no insulation from exterior noises. For £79 for one night this place is an uber rip off, definitely taught a lesson to read other reviews first! Couldn't wait to leave and seriously considered sleeping in the car instead!

Room Tip: Read all the descriptions!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jcdcla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Stayed in Emsworth for a weekend in early May and chose this pub for no other reason than it was central. How glad we were too! The welcome was very warm and friendly from every single member of staff we met on the two evenings we spent there, and especially from the owners Paul & Veronica and the manager. Our dog was welcomed and treated like a customer and we were left in no doubt that this is the place to relax and enjoy really good pub food in a family atmosphere. The weather was cool so we couldn't enjoy the outdoor sheltered seating area behind the rear room where we sat, but imagine it would be a great place in warm weather. We would make a point of returning when in the area again, it is such a comfort to find an excellent place when staying in a B & B. The Crown also does B&B which could be worth a try as I think the breakfasts would be very good. VERY WELL DONE ALL OF YOU !!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Just been to the hotel for my daughter's birthday lunch which included a speciality burger .. Yummyt! From the very extensive menu .. Cajun chicken is delicious And seems to be a favourite of the staff.
Great food great service and friendly atmosphere as per usual. .
Try the bombardier.

Will return soon!!!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank davidtg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emsworth
0.8 mi away
Brookfield Hotel
Brookfield Hotel
#1 of 4 in Emsworth
549 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Emsworth
1.9 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#4 of 4 in Havant
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Langstone Hotel
Langstone Hotel
#3 of 4 in Hayling Island
1,786 reviews
3.6 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
5.3 mi away
Farmhouse & Innlodge
Farmhouse & Innlodge
#31 of 39 in Portsmouth
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown

Address: 8 High Street, Emsworth PO10 7AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Emsworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Emsworth
Price Range: £49 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Emsworth
The Crown Emsworth, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing