We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveller rating
41
43
27
29
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
43
27
29
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews open mic night saturday lunchtime christmas day would stay again stayed here for two nights paul
Filter
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 177 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2009

We stayed here because we needed somewhere to stay the night in Emsworth and booked it with very modest expectations. Nicely decorated, spacious room in the centre of town. I'm not sure it's somewhere that I'd go specially to stay at, but if you need somewhere to stay, then it's a good bet and I'd stay there again. They could do with a sign at the reception to tell you to go and find a member of staff at the bar though!

Date of stay: June 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jvvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

I would like to thank everyone at the Crown Hotel for our recent stay.
Although old, the Hotel has recently been renovated to a good standard.
Our room offered all the facilties you would expect from a fair but reasonably priced hotel. The manager & staff were excellent & made our week-end a pleasurable experiance. Once again many thanks for your excellent hospitality.

Regards Stuart Bond

Date of stay: March 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuart_bond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2009

We have stayed at the hotel in the past and it was excellent. This time, it has become grubby and the carpets need a good clean. The electric shower did not work properly, producing hots
water for seconds before reverting to a freezing shower. The alternative bathroom (on the other side of the hotel) had no water whatsoever coming out of the taps and the shower wouldn't work at all. After a busy day out we didn't expect to not be able to have a shower. The rate of £60 is too high for this level of service. When we complained, the manger took no interest whatsoever with our problem, didn't even apologise. At breakfast you have ask for everything - no menus, orange juice only produced if asked for.

Date of stay: January 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhybadshowersinUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2008

All the staff were so friendly, the food was brilliant (had a evening meal - with good choice and great quality) also breakfast was fresh , waitress very accomadating.
The room was very clean , no faults there. very reasnable prices too.
will definately stay again. cant say enough nice things!.
The landlord is a bit of a charecter(little irish fella) but very entertaining!.
Was made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much effort.

Date of stay: October 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ultimatecritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2008

We stayed one night for our anniversary. I could forgive the uneven floor and low roof in our room due to the age of the building but not the general grubiness of the hotel. The carpet throughout the hotel needs a good clean. Our window was jammed with a piece of cardboard and the bathroom was not 100% clean. There was no soap/shower gel for the bath/shower and when I mentioned this in the morning I was told "Oh we don't have any" - well get out and buy some!

The furniture in the bar area was terrible - chairs split open and the stuffing hanging out - we didn't linger there long.

However the hotel is in a good location for all restaurants and not far from the lovely walk around the quay. Full English breakfast was good and served by very attentive waitresses.

Date of stay: October 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pender1gast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews