We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic room lacking warmth. Dirty carpets throughout. Clean bedding and good breakfast, but overall, go elsewhere.”
Review of The Crown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Crown
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Emsworth
Cosham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very basic room lacking warmth. Dirty carpets throughout. Clean bedding and good breakfast, but overall, go elsewhere.”
Reviewed 19 October 2010

Stayed here in October 2010 and was allocated a room with an en-suite bathroom. The hotel is old and whilst that could be an asset, it needs renovated as it is rundown and grubby. The carpets throughout were stained and dirty and needed a good clean or, better still, replaced. My bedroom was basic, clean but lacked any decor to make it warm and inviting. It genuinely felt like a prison cell. The bedding was clean but only comprised a summer duvet and a 1970s velvet sheet which didn't look very clean. I wasn't happy with security as the windows were old and there was a fire exit set of steps all the from the rear of the hotel up to my bedroom on the second floor. Bathroom was large but basic and I had to have a bath because the shower was poor. Breakfast was very good. Overall, ok for a single guy if it was half the price but definitely not worth the £60 I paid. Go elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCMScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    42
    24
    25
    28
See reviews for
36
63
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
matlock
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

This hotel is in a lovely little town and with a bit more care and money spent on it would be a wow, but at the moment that is just not happening.

We stayed here two nights and during that time the toilet broke twice and the shower head would not stay up on the wall. We did not complain because there was no one around to complain to - we finished up mending the toilet ourselves.

The cups were washed up but the saucers were left with yesterday`s tea on them and so was the tray.

Breakfast both days was unbelievable. The first day we waited and waited for someone to come and serve us and when she arrived the waitress looked as if she had just got out of a sleeping bag and wore half length baggy pocketed trousers which did not give an impression that she was full of zip. And so it was that she found our order for juice amazing and had to fetch some from the hotel bar. On top of all that the toast was served after we ordered our hot breakfast, so that "we would have something to eat" while we waited. We left the toast to get cold because we did not want to eat our marmalade before the bacon and then the coffee arrived and it was dreadful.

All of it was such a disappointment because the hotel could be charming and is in a wonderful position in a lovely town. We would say to the owner try a little harder and think about directing your staff a bit more then it might be possible to visit again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank truth2tell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Emsworth hotels

UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2009

We stayed here because we needed somewhere to stay the night in Emsworth and booked it with very modest expectations. Nicely decorated, spacious room in the centre of town. I'm not sure it's somewhere that I'd go specially to stay at, but if you need somewhere to stay, then it's a good bet and I'd stay there again. They could do with a sign at the reception to tell you to go and find a member of staff at the bar though!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jvvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2009

I would like to thank everyone at the Crown Hotel for our recent stay.
Although old, the Hotel has recently been renovated to a good standard.
Our room offered all the facilties you would expect from a fair but reasonably priced hotel. The manager & staff were excellent & made our week-end a pleasurable experiance. Once again many thanks for your excellent hospitality.

Regards Stuart Bond

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuart_bond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2009

We have stayed at the hotel in the past and it was excellent. This time, it has become grubby and the carpets need a good clean. The electric shower did not work properly, producing hots
water for seconds before reverting to a freezing shower. The alternative bathroom (on the other side of the hotel) had no water whatsoever coming out of the taps and the shower wouldn't work at all. After a busy day out we didn't expect to not be able to have a shower. The rate of £60 is too high for this level of service. When we complained, the manger took no interest whatsoever with our problem, didn't even apologise. At breakfast you have ask for everything - no menus, orange juice only produced if asked for.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — Bathrooms
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhybadshowersinUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ultimatecritic
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2008

All the staff were so friendly, the food was brilliant (had a evening meal - with good choice and great quality) also breakfast was fresh , waitress very accomadating.
The room was very clean , no faults there. very reasnable prices too.
will definately stay again. cant say enough nice things!.
The landlord is a bit of a charecter(little irish fella) but very entertaining!.
Was made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much effort.

  • Liked — cosiness.
  • Disliked — going home!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ultimatecritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2008

We stayed one night for our anniversary. I could forgive the uneven floor and low roof in our room due to the age of the building but not the general grubiness of the hotel. The carpet throughout the hotel needs a good clean. Our window was jammed with a piece of cardboard and the bathroom was not 100% clean. There was no soap/shower gel for the bath/shower and when I mentioned this in the morning I was told "Oh we don't have any" - well get out and buy some!

The furniture in the bar area was terrible - chairs split open and the stuffing hanging out - we didn't linger there long.

However the hotel is in a good location for all restaurants and not far from the lovely walk around the quay. Full English breakfast was good and served by very attentive waitresses.

  • Liked — good location
  • Disliked — shabby
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pender1gast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emsworth
0.8 mi away
Brookfield Hotel
Brookfield Hotel
#1 of 4 in Emsworth
509 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Emsworth
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Havant Rowlands Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Langstone Hotel
Langstone Hotel
#3 of 4 in Hayling Island
1,681 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#4 of 4 in Havant
601 reviews
3.6 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown

Property: The Crown
Address: 8 High Street, Emsworth PO10 7AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Emsworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Emsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Emsworth
The Crown Emsworth, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing