We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely, cheerfully furnished cottage - in a...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bay Tree Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Emsworth, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
ILKG
Delta, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely, cheerfully furnished cottage - in a lovely village”
Reviewed 29 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We (3 adults) stayed at Bay Tree Cottage for 2 nights in August while attending a nearby family reunion. We could not have picked a better place to stay. The cottage is beautifully decorated in bright and cheerful colours. It is spotlessly clean and well maintained. The kitchen is well equipped and we really appreciated Avril's "welcome package" that has been mentioned in previous reviews! From the cozy living room to the comfortable beds and spacious bathroom...we couldn't have asked for more. We appreciated the convenience of the free parking space (very close to the cottage) for our rental car. Avril was a perfect host - friendly, courteous, efficient and welcoming. We plan to return soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2016
Thank you! We really enjoyed your visit. Best wishes, Avril
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Aug 2016
Thank you. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your visit- and had fabulous weather!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Deborah M
1 review
“A home from home (without the mess ;o) )”
Reviewed 12 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Bay Tree Cottage was fabulous and just as you would imagine from the pictures, The local town of Westbourne is lovely too. Avril was a great host, her directions were easy-to-follow, and she provided a very welcome welcome back of bread, butter, jam, etc. Everything you needed was there. Bay Tree Cottage was our base for Paulton's Park but there are so many places to visit nearby that you could have a variety of holiday types.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was on hand
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2016
Thank you Deborah. It was a delight having you and your delightful family to stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison J
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely little weekend getaway”
Reviewed 21 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Lovely little cottage in the village of Westbourne, near Emsworth. Owner had provided milk, bread, wine, cake, butter and jam. Cottage was extremely clean and tastefully decorated. The village has everything you need and is really charming. There is a nice walk down to Emsworth Marina, another charming town. All in all, lovely for a short break away from London.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2016
We're so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and thanks for you comments. Avril
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WandaSlac...
Exeter, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful little cottage”
Reviewed 19 June 2016 for a stay in January 2016

This cottage is comfortable and has everything you could possibly need. We used it whilst visiting my elderly patents. My mother in hospital. It proved to be the most perfect place for us.a wonderful find. The owner was extremely helpful and kind. If needed and available I would definitely stay here again. A nice little village too with a co-op and local pubs and services. All very convenient

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Attractive, clean and comfortable
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2016
Thank you. We enjoyed having you to stay: perfect guests!
Avril
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karina034
Portsmouth
1 review
“perfect stay, clean, great facilities and location”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed 2 nights at the Cottage with my partner and 2 kids, Avril was very welcoming, easy and responsive to communicate with. The cottage was well equipped, clean and very comfortable. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again. Over and above being a great cottage, Avril was happy for us to check in earlier than the stated check-in time and Avril very thoughtfully provided cake, bread, milk, butter and toilet roll, cloths, washing up liquid and more. This is such a great idea as arriving to an empty cottage and needing to do a shop for the basics is a drag. Thank you Avril for a wonderful stay.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2016
Dear Karen,
We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Our object is to provide for our guests what we would wish for if we were guests!
We would welcome you again.
Best wishes
Avril
.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knnextra
1 review
“Open fire, idyllic village, ideal getaway!”
Reviewed 26 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Perfect little cottage! Amazing place to retreat for a quiet weekend away. We were warmly welcomed by Avril late Friday night with a much appreciated 'welcome pack'! We then proceeded to spend the weekend in front of the fire, with a glass of red and a good few books!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing