We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the worst”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Lysses House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lysses House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Fareham
Hampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not the worst”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012 via mobile

Hotel ok walls are paper thin as mention before so you can everything going on around, there was a wedding that day so no food in house, listed as 3 stars and probably just about keeps them needs an update.
Staff are excellent and service very good drinks prices are good and you do not feel ripped off.
All round £92.50 for a night seemed steep
Not bad but along way away from the best.

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    82
    52
    6
    7
See reviews for
50
45
7
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

Had no problem finding the hotel and the carpark situated behind

Check in was quick and easy, with very friendly staff

Stayed at hotel for one night in a double, room was quite large, combined with a surprisingly large bathroom. There is a bit of an 'art' to the door locks and unlike most hotels they are not self locking when closed. Room was neatly decorated, but possibly reaching its renovation date and bed was comfortable.

Meal in the restaurant was good, and was able to order while seated in the bar and called to table when food was nearly ready.

Breakfast was good quality and satisfying

Check out was as painless as arriving

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012 via mobile

We expected Basil Fawlty to appear at any moment. They appear to have some Eco thing going on, which on first impressions amounts to Eco lightbulbs and hanging on to their furniture fixtures and fittings as long as possible! Walls are paper thin making it noisy. Overall staff were friendly but minimally helpful. Nice garden. Building is lovely but wasted as hotel resembles a care home.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrandMrsHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

Despite using our GPS the hotel was hard to find, I agree with another reviewer that a street number should be added to the address and a larger sign that faced both directions would also be a great idea. Once found it proved to be in a good location for the town centre, restaurants and shops.

Despite opening windows and using the fan the room was still hot and stuffy. The pillows had seen better days and we had to put a blanket under them to give enough support. While the food was OK at breakfast the coffee was weak and cold and the staff far from attentive. The pub across the road was great though.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maude2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London England
Level Contributor
143 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

I stayed here on Friday 29th June after a day a the Goodwood Festival of Speed. Good location, firendly receptionist however I found the room small (single room top floor) to other singe rooms I have stayed in. The docro was modern but to me (my personal taste) did not go along with the architecture of the building.

Breakfast was good but rather on the slow side, a party of 5 and we did not get served at the same time.

The hotel is clean and if in the area I would stay again however I would want a double for the price of a single.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Worxelminxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

I have used this hotel on a regular basis for the last 3 years. The rooms are adequate but rather small, functional is a word that springs to mind. They are however, spotless. The ensuite is small and the showers are a bit of a let-down. The floor boards are very creaky so you can hear people above, below and in the corridor moving around. This does make for a rather disturbed sleep. The breakfasts are very good with a good variety of local food and eggs from their own chickens.
The local area offers an excellent range of Le to mid priced restaurants and pubs. The Golden Lion is just over the road and serves good good. I particulary recommend the crab cakes and the cauliflower cheese dishes.
Overall, a great location with an adequate hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RShobrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

We had a wonderful three night stay here, after a horrific experience at a nearby hotel for one night, so I deeply appreciated being able to book here last minute! We had a lovely and spacious double room (#2) overlooking the gorgeous garden area. Comfortable, clean and quiet. Exceptionally large bathroom.

The restaurant was superb! Excellent food, wine and service.
I had the opportunity of having a nice conversation with the owner, learned some history on the building and also that they'll be refurbishing the reception and lobby area in the near future.
The garden was gorgeous and a quiet, comfortable place for morning coffee, afternoon wine or visiting with family for lunch. Highly recommend Lysses House and we will return next year!

Room Tip: We liked Room #2, spacious, comfortable and overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fareham hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fareham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
3.7 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
1.1 mi away
TravelRest Solent Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Fareham Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Roundabout Hotel
The Roundabout Hotel
#7 of 7 in Fareham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lysses House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lysses House Hotel

Property: Lysses House Hotel
Address: 51 High Street, Fareham PO16 7BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Fareham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Fareham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lysses House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lysses House, once a family residence built at the height of the Georgian era, is now a small independent hotel situated in the quiet and peaceful surroundings of the old High Street in Fareham. It is easily accessible from the M27, junction 11. We have 21 ensuite bedrooms all with comfy duvets, flat screen televisions, tea and coffee making facilities and free wifi. Our lounge and bar area is the perfect place to relax with friends or colleagues. Light snacks, refreshing drinks or tea and coffee are available. When the weather is warm you can also enjoy the tranquil surroundings of our garden terrace. Our Richmond Restaurant is open for breakfast daily, lunch (Sunday to Friday) and dinner (Monday to Saturday. We grow our own herbs and use fresh produce from as many local suppliers as possible. Although we do not have leisure facilties on site, all our hotel residents can visit the local LA Fitness centre, just 5 minutes walk from the hotel. We offer high standards, fine food and excellent facilities, but most of all, friendly personal service delivered by a team of great people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Lysses House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lysses House Hotel Fareham, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing